« AnteriorContinuar »
105 NEW CHURCHES.No. XXIX. crowned with the entablature and St. Peter's Church, HAMMERSMITH. blocking course as before. The archi. Architect, Lapidge.
trave and frieze are brick; the mould.
ings and cornice only being of stone, IN continuation of our series of Each flank has five semicircular arched views of the new Churches in the me- windows enclosed in architraves of tropolis and its vicinity, we this month stone. The east end is plain, the face lay before our readers as the first sub- of the wall relieved with breaks ; it ject in the accompanying engraving has a segment arched window in the (see Plate I.) a north-west view of centre, and also two doors, used as this building. It will be seen that subordinate entrances to the Church. the architect has adopted the Grecian The elevation is finished with the style in his design. The plan is a pa- continued entablature, and above the rallelogram, with a tower and lobbies centre is an attic flanked with trusses, at the western end. The superstruc- corresponding with the principal front, ture is built of Suffolk_brick, with The roof is slated. Bath stone dressings. The tower is
THE INTERIOR entirely of stone.
is approached by three lobbies in the The west front consists of a tetra- portico; the central is the basement style portico of the Grecian Ionic order, story of the tower, and forms a porch surmounted with a pediment, the co- to the principal entrance ; the others lumns being fluted. The interco. contain stairs to the galleries. The lumniations are solid, the central being body of the Church is not divided into wider than the lateral ones, and con- nave and ailes, but presents an untaining the principal entrance, which broken area; it has consequently no is surmounted by a pediment resting striking architectural features. The on trusses, over which is a sunk walls are finished with an architrave; panel. In each of the flanks is a and the ceiling, which is horizontal, is lintelled doorway, with a circular win- panelled by flying cornices into comdow over it. Above the portico the partments, in four ranges longitudielevation is carried on, in an attic, nally, and three in breadth. Each of supported at the flanks with trusses, the central compartments are subdi. and relieved by a break in the centre, vided into a large square and two nar. and pilasters at the ends; above the row oblong panels, the first contain. centre of the attic rises the tower, ing expanded flowers. A gallery oc. which commences with an octagonal cupies the west end and the two sides pedestal, having unequal faces; in the of the Church ; it is sustained on Doric four larger ones, which correspond columns unfluted; the front is com. with the different fronts of the main posed of an entablature and attic. erection, are circular apertures for The altar-screen, situated against the dials. The succeeding portion of the eastern wall, is painted in imitation design is cylindrical, being broken at of veined marble. It has a large panel equal intervals by four antæ, which in the centre, inscribed with the decarise from above the smaller faces of logue ; and in side panels are the creed the octagon basement, between which and paternoster. The whole is sur. are arched windows; the whole is mounted by an entablature, the frieze erowned with an entablature and block- charged with flowers, and an attic, the ing course, the latter broken by cir- several mouldings being continued cular headed blocks placed over the from the galleries : over the side antæ. The finish of the structure is a divisions are pediments with acrograduated cupola, consisting of three teria. The pulpit and reading-desk, steps, the highest sustaining a gilt în obedience to the Commissioners'di. cross. The portico being of less width rections, but in direct opposition to than the body of the Church, the wes- authority and propriety, are alike; tern wall forms a small wing at each they are varnished in imitation of oak, side, to which the entablature and octagonal in plan, and sustained on blocking-course, continued from the pillars of the same form. The organ portico, constitute a crowning member, is placed in the centre of the western
The flanks are uniform. The face portion of the gallery. The case is of the wall is made by breaks into a oak, and ornamented with two Ionic central and lateral division, and is columns and two antæ, crowned with Gent. Mag. February, 1831.
[Feb. an entablature, with a pediment and our leading architects, that an atter acroteria over the centre. The font, dearth of talent and genius alone dissituated beneath the west gallery, is a tinguished the professors of this branch shallow vase of a circular form, de- of the fine arts. In the course of our signed from the antique, and sustained criticisms on the new Churches, we on a cylindrical pedestal.
have not hesitated to point out this Taken as a whole, this Church pre- glaringly tasteless practice; and our sents a very fair specimen of modern plates show that the charge is not Grecian architecture. The tower has unfounded; but from Mr. Soane we considerable merit. The design is novel augured better things, and therefore it and pleasing, and the proportions are is with regret that we are compelled harmonious. The interior is however to record our disappointment. chaste and formal, displaying even a The west front differs from Wal. presbyterian nakedness, the dullness of worth in the absence of the portico, which is increased by the purple fur- the place of which is supplied by four niture of the altar. The best Church unsightly antæ, placed at unequal diswhich may be designed in this style, tances. In the central interval, which only proves the difficulty of appro- is the widest, is a door covered with a priating Grecian architecture to such pediment, resting on consoles ; and in buildings ; its coldness may suit the the smaller intervals are subordinate heartless school of the philosopher, entrances. Each of the wings or labut it chills the fervour of the devo. teral subdivisions of the front, has a tion of the Christian.
large arched window, divided into two This Church will accommodate 1001 heights, the lower being inclosed in a persons in pews, and 690 in free seats, stone panel. The elevation is finished making a total of 1691. The amount by a cornice, over which is a blocking of the contract was 12,2231. 88. 4d. course, and above the centre an attic, The site was given by George Scott, the cornice of which, as well as the Esq. The first stone was laid on the main building, is ornamented at the 16th May, 1827, and the Church was angles, or rather defaced, by those nonconsecrated on the 15th of October, descript blocks of stone, with handles, 1829. The Bishop of London preached which are to be found in all the works on the occasion.
of this architect. Above the attic rises
the tower, and how shall we describe St.John's CHAPEL, BETHNAL Green. appropriately this monstrous excresArchitect, Soane.
cence? It assimilates with no Church The second subject in the same en- tower we have ever seen, and more regraving is a view of this Chapel, sembles the castles which figure on taken from the south-west.
the backs of elephants in public-house The plan is divided into nave and signs. This tower is in two stories ; the ailes, with vestries at the east end, first is square in plan, and has in each and a tower and lobbies at the oppo- face an arched window, with a circular site extremity. The spaciousness of aperture, surrounded with a wreath the building is its most distinguishing over it to contain a dial. At each feature; there is little to admire either of the angles are two heavy insulated in its architecture or decorations, and square antæ, one placed behind the it is moreover nearly a copy of the other, the front ones appearing a conWalworth Church, built by the same tinuation of those attached to the architect (described in vol. xcvi. pt. ii. main structure. These appendages p. 201). It is lamentable to see a are capped with the architect's faman of acknowledged talent and genius, vourite blocks, and appear to be deeminent in his profession, and distin- signed to give an useless and inade. guished by his admiration of the fine quate breadth to the side view of the arts, building church after church tower, and are peculiarly unsightly in from one and the same design, as if this point of view, from whence our he were unable to produce the least view is taken. The finish to this ponvariety. It is true that the works of derous basement is so diminutive, in Mr. Soane are not the only ones to comparison with the substructure, and which this remark applies, but the fre- so devoid of elevation, as to form a quency of the defect is no palliation of "most lame and impotent conclusion" it. It might be fairly inferred, from to the dwarfish structure. This porthe monotony so striking in the works of tion consists of a small circular plinth,
107 ornamented with horizontal lines, or transverse direction. The arches are French rustics, crowned with a cor- formed of a segment of a circle, and the nice, and surmounted by a bald conical spandrils are pierced with circles, having cupola, much resembling a bee-hive, beaded edges. The side aisles are coand terminated, as usual in Mr.Soane’s vered by circular arches; the division designs, with a huge weathercock in. towards the west is appropriated to stead of a cross. The wall of the galleries, and that at the east to a circular plinth is pierced with four chancel ; the remaining divisions are arched windows, and the cupola with made by colonnades of unfluted Doric four others.
columns of the Greek variety, ranging The flanks are divided by antæ into longitudinally, and making a nave and eight compartments, each containing side ailes; they are surmounted by an windows assimilating with those in architrave and cornice, on which is an the lateral divisions of the west front. arcade of semicircular arches, equal in All the antæ, except those nearest to number to the intercolumniations beeach extremity, are brick; the others low. The piers are slender and octanare stone, and are terminated by the gular; the arches spring immediately blocks. The east end is in three por- from them, without imposts. The ceil. tions; the centre contains three arched ing is horizontal, and the nave is somewindows, and is surmounted by an what higher than the other parts, and attic, over the centre of which is an is made by reeds into square panels. acroterium, crowned with a pediment The chancel and ailes have sunken and acroteria ; below the windows are panels equal to their respective breadths. stairs descending to the catacombs. The A gallery at the west end contains the side divisions have attached vestries organ in a mahogany case. The front projecting from the main building; the of the gallery is panelled, and ornaelevation of which is finished with a mented with consoles. In one of the pediment and acroteria.
panels is inscribed “ This Chapel was THE INTERIOR
consecrated by the Lord Bishop of is still more nearly a copy of Wal. London, on the 16th October, 1828.” worth, and is in a better taste than the Another records the erection of the outside, in consequence of the or- organ in 1829. In addition to this thodox arrangement of nave and ailes gallery there are others in the side having been adhered to.
ailes. It may be described as divided in The altar screen is composed of three length into eight divisions; the first divisions, a centre and projecting wings. is occupied by a vestibule extending The latter are covered with pediments, along the whole of the west front, to which cherubs are applied by way and which is subdivided into three of acroteria. The central division is porches, communicating laterally with also covered with a pediment, which each other, and to the body of the embraces the other two; in the tymChapel, by an equal number of en- panum of the latter a dove. The altar trances. Over the central entrance table is mean and uncovered. the arms of his present Majesty have The pulpit and desk, placed at a short recently been erected, with the date distance from the altar-rails, are alike 1830, and the names of the Church in design and dimensions; they are wardens subscribed ; the remaining hexagonal, and sustained on a single seven divisions are within the body. pillar, which expands to the size of The first at each extremity is parted the pulpit. Each angle is worked into from the rest by two parallel arches, a triple reeded column, with Doric crossing the body of the Church in a .caps. *
* A Correspondent, A.W. speaking of this Chapel, says, “ the usual positions of the reading-desk and pulpit are reversed. Prayers are certainly not there read at the north side of the communion-table, but at the south ; it is impossible to discover the reason of this anomaly. The pulpit and reading-desk are precisely similar in construction, and it is to be Tegretted that the present exemplary Bishop of London, who prevented the Church being dedicated to St. George, because his name was not to be found in the Scriptures, should not also have interfered to prevent the deviation from established practice, and I believe even from the Rubric, in this respect also.”—In the numerous Churches in the metropoJis, no certain rule seems to have been observed in the choice of the situation of the pulpit and desk. At St. Mary-le-Bow, a high authority as I should conceive, the whole are grouped on the south side. At St. Saviour's, Southwark, before the alterations, they were
(Feb. The interior, as we remarked in metrical ratio. Judging from the the outset, is far superior to the outside census taken in the year 1801, 1811, of the building; and it is but just and and 1821, at intervals of ten years, fair to the architect to observe, that this estimation does not appear to acthe same praise is due to the struc- cord with the fact. In 1801 the poture which we awarded to Wal- pulation amounted to 10,942,646 ; in worth Church, for the essential qua- 1811, to 12,596,803 ; and in 1821, to lities of light and distinctness of hear- 14,391,631. The difference between ing, both of which it enjoys to a de- the two first is 1,654,157; and the difgree beyond many Churches of recent ference between the census of 1821 construction. A large proportion of and 1811, is 1,794,828 ; and by addthe centre of the Church is appropriated ing these, and taking the half, the to the poor, and it is pleasing to add average increase is 1,724,497.5, a result that a numerous attendance of this militating quite against the philosoclass of the congregation forms the pher's hypothesis. It is also confistrongest evidence of the necessity, as dently asserted, that food increases well as the utility of the erection of only in an arithmetical ratio, while additional Churches. No surer anti- there can be no accurate data for ardote to the depravity which is too ap- riving at such a conclusion, as the parent in this parish, can be afforded, quantum of food must depend on agrithan the celebration of divine wor- cultural exertion, animal produce, and ship, according to the doctrines and importation of corn. The increase of forms of our esteemed Establishment. numbers is still greater in Ireland, and Every new Church that is opened, af- must prove a serious source of distress, fords an additional proof that a strong if not met, ere long, by some adequate attachment to the Establishment exists remedy. On reflection, the cultivaamong all classes, and that if Churches tion of the waste lands, amounting to are provided they will be attended, seventeen millions of acres, would by notwithstanding the abuse of the nu- spade husbandry by paupers, occasion merous enemies of the Church, who, a great outlay of money, without being feeling conscious that their own eleva- adequately productive, for a considertion can only be built on the ruin of able period. It would be much more the Church, strain every nerve, and eligible to sell these lands, as the wealthy use every expedient to effect this, the purchasers would necessarily employ ultimate and only object of dissent and a great part of the labourers out of schism.
employment in their cultivation. The This Chapel contains 800 in pews, capital procured by such sale would and 1200 in free seats. The contract furnish a lasting fund for defraying amounted to 17,638l. 188. including the expense of sending to Canada, incidental expenses and architect's with their own free will and assent, at commission. The first stone was laid proper periods, certain portions of the on the 26th June, 1826 ; and the chapel excess of the population, who might was consecrated, as before observed, be required to bind themselves and on the 16th Oct. 1828. E. I. C. their heirs to repay to the native
country, at least a part of the expen
diture in locating them in a British Mr. URBAN, Exeter, Feb. 1.
colony. Voluntarily, or parochially, IT has been for some time laid down for obvious reasons, the requisite funds by a far famed writer on political cannot be raised. As all are concerneconomy, that the human race in Bri- ed, all must contribute, by means of tain doubles itself in every twenty- the most equitable mode, a moderate five years and as it were, by a geo- property-tax; to compensate for which,
on the north side. The Rubric seems only to refer to the communion service. The Bishop of London would, I hope, have given a better reason for adopting St. John for the Chapel than A. W. assigas, for that would go to exclude St. Chrysostom and St. Athanasius from the Liturgy, and show that the installation service of the Order of the Garter was not only unscriptural, but that his brethren of Winchester and Salisbury were inconsistent in allowing this unscriptural Saint to be there styled “the blessed Martyr and Soldier in Christ." I should conceive that the Prelate's objection was rather against naming the Church after the reigning monarch, than to its having for its patron the tutelar saiat of the kingdom of England, “ our champion thrice renowned, St. George."