Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

Sewerage system.-Twenty-five thousand dollars was appropriated by the act of March 2, 1889, for a complete system of sewerage inside and outside of the fort. Bids received for this work showed that the appropriation was insufficient for the purpose. October 29, 1891, the Secretary of War decided that two separate systems must be constructed, one by the United States and the other by the botel proprietors and others enjoying the privilege of residing on the reservation. Estimates in accordance with this decision of the Secretary of War were submitted March 12, 1892, amounting to $15,000, and it was recommended that an appropriation of that sum be made for the sewerage system, in lieu of the amount appropriated by the act of March 2, 1889. The numerous reports of the local officer in charge and of the commanding officers and post surgeons show the great and urgent need of this improvement. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended..

$24, 902.10 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.

24,902. 10 (See Appendix 3 C.)

REPAIR AND PRESERVATION OF FORT MARION, FLORIDA.

Officers in charge, Capt. W. M. Black, Corps of Engineers, to No. vember 20, 1891, and Maj. John C. Mallery, Corps of Engineers, since that date, with Lieut. David DuB. Gaillard, Corps of Engineers, under the immediate orders of the former until November 6, 1891; Division Engineer, Col. William P. Craighill, Corps of Engineers.

The work of restoration of Fort Marion and the improvement of its grounds were begun with an appropriation of $5,000, made in the act approved July 5, 1884. A further appropriation of $15,000 for the restoration of this fort was made in the act approved August 18, 1890. Work under this last appropriation was begun October 20, 1890, and was continued to the close of the fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, as set forth in detail in the Annual Report of the Chief of Engineers for that year.

During the past fiscal year the entire terreplein was coated with a mixture of paraffin and petroleum; drawings for the restoration of the chapel door were made; a covered drain laid for a distance of 260 feet; 60 feet of pavement that had settled was brought up to its proper level, and a number of trees and plants were put out.

Additional and final work of restoration and improvement of fort and grounds remains, as set forth in the report of the officer in charge of the work, which it is estimated will cost $6,500. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended......

$1,218.00 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year

1, 171. 47 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.. July 1, 1892, ontstanding liabilities.

28. 15 July 1, 1892, balance available

(See Appendix No. 4.)

46. 53

18.08

ESTIMATES OF APPROPRIATIONS REQUIRED FOR 1893-'91.

For construction of gin and mortar batteries..
For purchase of land for fortitications.
For protection, preservation, and repair of fortifications
For preparation of plans for fortifications
For protection of site of Fort Niagara, New York.

$1,782, 000

500,000 80,000 5, 000 3,000

$35,000

100,000

For sea walls and embankments.
For purchase of subinarine mines and necessary appliances to operate

them for closing the channels leading to our principal seaports..
For needful casemates, cable galleries, etc., from which to operate sub-

marine mines For continuing torpedo experiments..

150,000 10,000

2,665, 000

THE BOARD OF ENGINEERS.

The Board, as at present constituted, consists of the following officers of the Corps of Engineers: Col. Henry L. Abbot, Col. C. B. Comstock, Col. D. C. Houston, and Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie.

Col. G. H. Mendell, Corps of Engineers, is also a member of the Board when it is acting upon matters pertaining to the defensive works on the Pacific coast.

The Board has considered the various subjects referred to it during the past year by the Chief of Engineers, and the following is a brief summary of the reports rendered thereon:

1891, July 9. On project of Lieut. Col. P. C. Hains, Corps of Engineers, for gun emplacement at Fort Washington, Md.

September 1. On project of Mr. C. Farrington for a turret for shore purposes.

September 29. On an application for permission to level off an unfinished battery at Governors Island, N. Y.

October 14. On project of Maj. T. H. Handbury, Corps of Engineers, for obtaining a navigable channel in the lower Willamette and Columbia rivers.

October 16. On project of Maj. C. W. Raymond, Corps of Engineers, for a mining casemate and cable gallery at fort opposite Fort Delaware.

October 26. On plan of Mr. Patrick McCann for a land fortress.
October 26. On plan of Mr. Owen Foley for a chevaux-de-frise.

November 30. On pamphlet of Lieut. Honeycutt on the “Relative average effect of parallel and independent fire.”

December 9. On plan of Mr. John Dougherty for a revolving fort. December 9. On project of Lieut. Col. S. M. Mansfield, Corps of Engineers, for gun emplacement at Fort Warren, Mass.

December 14. On modified plans of the North River Bridge Company for a bridge across the Hudson River at New York City.

December 16. On Senate 455, Fifty-second Congress, first session, " To authorize the New York and New Jersey Bridge Company to construct and maintain a bridge across the Hudson River between New York City and the State of New Jersey."

December 21. On Senate 816, Fifty-second Congress, first session, “ To authorize and regulate the construction of bridges across the Hudson and East rivers, at the city of New York and prescribe the dimensions of the same."

December 26. On purchase from the Highland Beach Association of land adjacent to Sandy Hook, N. J.

December 28. On defenses of Long Island Sound-eastern entrance. 1892, January 12. On purchase of armored cable.

January 15. On House of Representatives 289, Fifty-second Congress, first session, “ To incorporate the New York Bridge Company, for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, and operating a bridge over East River, between the cities of New York and Brooklyn, in the State of New York.”

January 26. On plan of Mr. John Hegeman for a folding boat for ponton bridges.

January 26. On project of Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, Corps of Engi. neers, for the defense of the gorge of a gun-lift battery at Sandy Hook.

January 29. On suggestions of Mr. Burwell Blair for locating hostile vessels entering a harbor.

January 30. On memorial of Port Townsend Board of Trade for the defense of Puget Sound.

February 1. On project of Maj. W. A. Jones, Corps of Engineers, for the improvement of the Red River of the North and Big Stone Lake.

February 8. On plan of Mr. John Nader for a movable spar torpedo for harbor defense.

February 8. On plan of Mr. H. G. Lane for a steel fort.

February 8. On plan of Mr. Edwin Bell for formation of artificial bars to exclude hostile vessels.

February 12. On plan of Mr. Charles Boeckh for deepening and navigating channels.

March 3. On device of Mr. C. K. Corliss for directing the movements of torpedoes.

March 3. On Senate 2295, Fifty-second Congress, first session, " To provide for the appointment of an Ohio River Commission for the improvement of said river from Pittsburg to Cairo."

March 10. On specitications for submarine-mining cable proposed by Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers. The report of the Board was accompanied by a memorandum on the subject by Col. H. L. Abbot, Corps of Engineers, dated March 9, 1892.

March 28. On electrical defense scheme of Gen. G. W. Serrell.

March 28. On Senate 2626, Fifty-second Congress, first session, “ To authorize the New York and New Jersey Bridge Companies to construct and maintain a bridge across the Hudson River between New York City and the State of New Jersey."

March 28. On plan of Mr. Charles H. Buckalew for submarine tunnels.

April 2. On request of the Mount Morris, N. Y., bank directors for authority to partially fill in the Harlem River; and on their application that War Department orders relative to the height of the New York Central Railroad Company's bridge across the Harlem River be rescinded.

April 6. On House of Representatives 7819, Fifty-second Congress, first session, “to authorize the construction of bridges over the North or Hudson River between the States of New York and New Jersey."

April 7. On plan of Mr. C. F. Shedd for wire foot nets for obstructing an enemy's men and horses.

April 28. On plan of Mr. George Cowing for the auxiliary defense of harbors and coasts.

April 28. On House of Representatives 8312, Fifty-second Congress, first session, “to authorize the New York and New Jersey Bridge Companies to construct and maintain a bridge across the Hudson River between New York city and the State of New Jersey."

May 26. On the defense of the eastern entrance to New York Harbor at and near Throgs Neck.

May 26. On plan of Maj. M. B. Adams, Corps of Engineers, for strengthening the superstructure of the Buffalo Breakwater.

In the performance of the duties of the Board, the following personal examinations were made: Under instructions of the Chief of Engineers, dated July 28, 1891,

ENG 92_2

the Board, in connection with its report on the defenses of the eastern entrance of Long Island Sound, made an inspection of the locality covered by the report on August 28, 1891.

Under instructions of the Chief of Engineers, dated March 18, 1892, the Board made an inspection of the defenses of Savannah, Ga., on April 12 and 13, and of Charleston, S. C., on April 14, 15, and 16, 1892.

Under instructions of the Chief of Engineers, dated June 6, 1892, the Board, on June 13, 1892, made an inspection of the barges contain: ing powder and other explosives, anchored near Ellis and Bedloes islands, New York Harbor. This matter was investigated at the request of the Treasury Department in view of complaints that the lives and property of people on the New Jersey shore were menaced by these barges.

In addition to their duties with The Board of Engineers, the individual members of the Board have been otherwise engaged as follows:

1. Col. Henry L. Abbot, the president of the Board, has continued in charge of certain experiments with torpedoes; as a member of the Board of Ordnance and Fortification; as president of the Board to fix the harbor lines for the barbor of New York and its adjacent waters; and as division engineer of the Northeast division. He has also served as president of Boards for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to promotion, and as president of the Board to fix the harbor lines of the port of Boston. He has recently been detailed on a Board to consider and report upon the subject of harbor lines for Oswego, N.Y.

2. Col. C. B. Comstock has served as division engineer of the Southwest division; as member of the Board of Visitors to the U.S. Engineer School; as president of the Mississippi River Commission; as member of the Board to fix the harbor lines of New York Harbor and its adjacent waters; as member of the Board to fix the harbor lines of Philadelphia; as member of a Board for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to their promotion; and is under orders to represent the War Department at the Fifth Congress of Internal Navigation at Paris, France.

3. Col. D. C. Houston has been the disbursing officer of The Board of Engineers. He has conducted the various works of river and harbor improvement and of fortifications under his charge, and he has served as a member of the Board of Visitors to the U.S. Engineer School; as a member of the Board to fix the harbor lines for the harbor of New York and its adjacent waters; as a member of Boards to establish harbor lines in the harbors of Stamford and Bridgeport, Conn.; as member of Board for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to promotion; and is a member of the Board to consider harbor lines for Norwalk, Conn.

4. Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, in addition to conducting the various works of river and harbor improvement and of harbor defense with which he was charged during the year, has continued to serve as a member of the Board of Visitors to the U.S. Engineer School; on barbor-line Boards for the harbors of New York, Stamford, and Bridgeport; on the Board on the subject of obstructions to navigation in the Hudson River; and on the Board to consider a deep-water harbor on the Pacific Coast between Points Duma and Capistrano. He also served on the harbor-line Board for the port of Boston, and is a member of the Board to consider harbor lines for Norwalk, Conn.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, NEW YORK-UNITED STATES ENGINEER

SCHOOL-BATTALION OF ENGINEERS-ENGINEER DEPOT.

Officer in command, Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, NEW YORK. At the close of the fiscal year the garrison consisted of 24 commissioned officers and 353 enlisted men, including officers and noncommissioned officers of the general staff, student officers, and enlisted men of the Hospital Corps. This is a loss of 3 officers and a gain of 20 men in strength over last year's report.

Repairs and improvements have been made during the year to roads, sidewalks, and buildings, and two new brick barracks and a guard house have been begun by the Quartermaster's Department. A brick house for the fire engines and appliances has been completed and extensive repairs to the quartermaster's wharf have been commenced. The new guard-house is nearly ready for use.

One more barrack, a building for the post mess for enlisted men, and a storehouse near the wharf for quartermaster's and commissary stores, as heretofore reported, are very much needed for the comfort of the garrison as well as for the proper handling and storage of public property.

The drill, discipline, instruction, and sanitary condition of the garrison have been satisfactory and compare favorably with the attainments of former years, as shown by the comparative statement in appendix.

UNITED STATES ENGINEER SCHOOL.

During the year 6 engineer officers, 2 cavalry, 1 artillery, and 5 infantry officers completed the course, and 7 infantry officers who have completed the laboratory duty are still engaged in the practice work of planting and operating torpedoes, which it is expected will be completed October 1, 1892.

All have manifested intelligence and interest in the work and are entitled to certificates of proficiency in one or more of the branches they have been studying and practicing.

BATTALION OF ENGINEERS.

The legal strength of the Battalion of Engineers is five companies, of 150 men each, with a sergeant-major, and quartermaster sergeant, and is officered by details from the commissioned officers of the corps.

The present strength is 18 officers and 437 enlisted men.

The authorized strength of companies A, B, and C, which are stationed at Willets Point, is 133 men each, and of Company E, stationed at West Point, 100 men.

The total losses from all causes during the year have been 149, and the total gain 169, making a net gain of 20 men.

The battalion has been employed during the year at engineer, pon. toon and torpedo drills, infantry drill, rifle practice, photography; and company E, at West Point, has assisted in the instruction of cadets in military engineering and pontoon drill.

ENGINEER DEPOT.

The fireproof storehouse referred to in last report is nearly completeil, and the work of arranging the pontoon, siege, and torpedo materials

« AnteriorContinuar »