Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

and the one at Fort Leavenworth, Kans., in 1886, but a record at the latter place has been maintained by the Missouri River Commission.

There are now 22 gauges maintained under this work, and in addition to the extensions mentioned above the service has been improved very materially of late years. In 1881 bulletins were erected at the stations on the Mississippi for the purpose of giving passing steamboats the stage of water and indicating whether the river was rising, stationary, or falling, and in 1890 these were replaced by larger bulle tins, and the old ones repaired and used in extending the service to the tributaries. Since February 1, 1887, the gauges have been read and bulletins posted twice a day to secure greater uniformity and accuracy; formerly they were read only once a day. Records of the readings have been published by the Mississippi River Commission to the end of the calendar year 1891. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended....

$247.31 Amount allotted for project for fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, approved July 17, 1891...

5, 100.00

5, 347.31 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year

5, 319.33 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.

27.98 July 1, 1892, ontstanding liabilities.

27.92 July 1, 1892, balance.

.06 (See Appendix V 17.)

18. Survey of Cypress Bayou and the lakes between Jefferson, Teras, and Shreveport, Louisiana.- This survey was ordered by river and harbor act of September 19, 1890, to ascertain whether the navigation of the bayou and lakes can be materially and permanently improved by the construction of locks and dams, and, if found practicable, the probable cost thereof.

The original estimates for the survey amounted to $12,000, but only $10,000 was appropriated, and owing to this insufficient amount and delays by high water the work was not completed. A report was sub. mitted by Captain Willard, the local engineer in charge, February 6, 1892, stating the progress made in the conduct of the survey, and the necessity for further consideration and investigation of the subject, with the recommendation that the additional sum of $2,500 be provided to complete the work. This report was transmitted to Congress and printed as House Ex. Doc. No. 126, Fifty-second Congress, first session (see also Appendix V 18). July 1, 1891, balance unexpended .

$102.01 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.

96.00 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended

6.01 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities

4. 98 July 1. 1892, balance available ......

1.03 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892.

2,000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893

2, 001,03 (See Appendix V 18.)

IMPROVEMENT OF ARKANSAS RIVER AND OF CERTAIN RIVERS IN

ARKANSAS AND MISSOURI.

Officer in charge, Capt. H. S. Taber, Corps of Engineers; Division Engineer, Col. C. B. Comstock, Corps of Engineers.

1. Removing obstructions in Arkansas River.--Prior to the first improvements in 1833, shifting sand bars, numerous driftpiles, and dangerous snags constituted the obstacles to navigation in the lower reaches, and gravel and rock shoals, with a few snags and many overhanging trees, constituted those of the upper. Except for a few special reaches, like the Fort Smith and Pine Bluff, the general plan of improvement has consisted in snagging operations, including the cutting of overhanging trees, in building wing dams to improve the shoals, and in surveys looking towards plans for its permanent improvement.

The appropriations to June 30, 1891, amount to $485,251.37. Of this sum there had been expended to June 30, 1891, $400,619.10.

During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, $10,327 was expended in snagging operations at or near low water. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended..

$12, 344.46 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.

10, 327.00 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended

2,017. 46 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities

1.25 July 1, 1892, balance available

2, 016, 21 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892.

20, 000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893...

22, 016. 21 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project annually 35,000.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and

harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix W 1.)

2. Arkansas River.-Work during the past season has been carried on under three different acts of Congress.

By the act approved August 5, 1886, $75,000 was appropriated, its distribution being indicated in the following words:

Improving Arkansas River, Arkansas: Continuing improvement, $75,000, according to the plan and recommendations in Appendix V 13, Report of Chief of Engineers, 1885, pages 1601 to 1611; of which there are to be expended $8.000 at Pine Bluff', $13,000 at Fort Smith, and $10,000 at Dardanelle, or so much thereof under these sums, respectively, as may be necessary at those points.

This appropriation, except a small sum out of the $10,000 for Dardanelle, was expended prior to June 30, 1890; at Dardanelle the $10,000 was to be expended in erecting a permeable dike above and opposite the town in such a position as to remove the sand bar in front of the wharves.

By act of August 11, 1888, the sum of $150,000 was appropriated for the improvement of this river, under plan providing for the formation of a channel at least 200 feet wide and 6 feet deep at low water from Little Rock to the Mississippi River; and the formation of a channel 2 feet deep at low water and from 200 to 300 feet wide from Fort Gibson to Arkansas City, as contemplated in the Report of the Chief of Engineers for the year ending June 30, 1885, and in House Ex. Doc. No. 90, Forty-ninth Congress, first session, and authorized in the act approved August 5, 1886.

By act approved September 19, 1890, the sum of $180,000 was appropriated. The approved projects for the expenditure of this amount may be summarized as follows:

At Van Buren, $4,000 to be expended in erecting a permeable dike at a suitable point a little above the town and upon the opposite side of the river, to contract the channel and prevent it from leaving the city wharves. From Fort Gibson, Indian Territory, to the mouth of the

ENG 92—16

[ocr errors]

river, the balance to be expended in the erection of permeable dikes and in rock excavation at worst places, so far as the amount of the appro. priation will permit, looking toward the permanent improvement of the river, to give a channel at least 6 feet deep and 200 feet wide from Little Rock to the mouth of the river, via White River Cut-off, as provided under the act of August 5, 1886, and an all-year-round depth of water of at least 2 feet from Little Rock, Ark., to Fort Gibson, Ind. T.

Before operations were begun, at Dardanelle, a bad bar had formed along the town front, cutting off all approach to either wharf at low water or at medium stage.

From Fort Gibson to the mouth of the river, the river consists of alternating bars and caving banks, with crossings more or less troublesome at low water, a few of the latter operating

to effectually close the river to navigation at extreme low water for even boats drawing but 2 feet of water. From Fort Gibson, Ind. T., to the mouth of the river, $119,630.65 has been expended, during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892.

At Moores Rocks, 926 cubic yards of rock has been excavated, leaving 801 cubic yards yet to be excavated to complete the work.

At Big Rock stone quarry, 3 miles above Little Rock, 8,376 cubic yards of rock has been quarried and of this amount 6,754 cubic yards has been barged to Pine Bluff. At Pine Bluff, two additional dikes, Nos. 5 and 6, were built, each 150 feet long and 17 feet above low-water mark. Dikes A', A, and No. 2 received much-needed repairs and Dikes 3 and 4 were repaired, No. 4 made a permanent rock dike, and No. 3 advanced towards completion in like manner. Early in October, 1891, the work below Mallorys Ditch, below Pine Bluff, according to project approved August 25, 1891, was commenced. This work consisted of weaving a continuous mattress 125 feet to 150 feet wide from Mallorys Ditch to a point one mile below, laid from low-water line along the bank to the bottom of the river, and securely weighted down with rock, and the bank graded to a 10-foot stage and riprapped with rock to a depth of one foot. This work was completed April 1, 1892. The riprapping, however, was carried down to within 700 feet of the end of the mattress only. Over 4,000 cubic yards of rock has been barged from Big Rock Quarry, near Little Rock, and stored on the high bank at Pine Bluff, to be used in further improvements at that point and below. During October, 1891, special surveys were made at and in the vicinity of Pine Bluff, and in December and January the same was done at Fort Smith and Little Rock. In addition to the above work, 10 barges 60 feet by 20 feet, one pile-driver barge 6 feet by 20 feet thoroughly equipped as a water pile driver and one quarter boat 90 feet by 20 feet, have been built, besides various additions made to the machinery of the plant; and the dikes above Baring Cross Bridge at Little Rock have been in part repaired. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended.....

$157, 100.81 Deposited to credit of Captain H. S. Taber, Corps of Engineers

.50

157, 101.31
119, 630.65

June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year
July 1, 1892, balance unexpended.
July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities.
July 1, 1892, balance available....
Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892.

37, 470. 66
14, 228.49

23, 242.17 250,000.00

Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893.

273, 242. 17

Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project.....$3, 222, 479.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and

harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix W 2.)

3. Fourche Le Fevre River, Arkansas.-The improvement of this stream was begun in 1879, under the act approved March 3, 1879. Prior to any improvement its channel was choked with snags, logs, and drift, and heavy timber overhung its banks. Several bad shoals also impeded navigation. Up to June 30, 1886, $21,000 had been expended in removing the greater part of the obstructions. By act approved August 5, 1886, $5,000 was appropriated for removing rock shoals, situated about 4 miles below Perryville. At the close of the fiscal year ending June 30, 1898, this sum had been expended, completing a channel about 500 yards long, 30 feet wide and 2 feet deep at low water through this shoal. By act approved September 19, 1890, $7,500 was appropriated. The approved project for its expenditure provides for the building and equipping of a hand-propelled snag boat at a cost not to exceed $4,000, to be operated for four months at or near extreme low water, in removing accumulated obstructions, snags, logs, drift piles, landslides, and bowlders on Piney Shoals, $450 to be expended in making a cut through May Shoal to provide for high and medium stage navigation. Up to June 30, 1891, $2,448.70 was expended in building and equipping the hand-propelled snag boat Pioneer. After the boat was completed, high water prevented its use during the balance of that year. During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, 1,923 cubic yards of rock and gravel, 1,326 snags, 4 large rack heaps, and several landslides were removed and over 25,000 overhanging trees cut and deadened, opening the river to high and medium stage navigation to Perryville Landing The present appropriation practically meets all the present demands of commerce. Additional snagging operations and improvements upon the shoals may be required as the valley settles up and commerce increases. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended...

$5, 051. 30 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.

3, 743.33 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended..

1, 307.97 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities

50.00 July 1, 1892, balance available

1, 257.97 (See Appendix W 3.)

4. Petit Jean River, Arkansas.-Before improvement this river was obstructed by snags, logs, masses of driftwood, overhanging trees, and shoals. The original project for improvement contemplated rendering it navigable during high and medium stages of water, up to Danville, Ark., by cutting the overhanging trees and cutting up the snags, logs, and drift. Three thousand five hundred dollars was expended in the execution of this project to June 30, 1888. The appropriation made by act of August 11, 1888, was $2,500, and work was limited to the river below the bridge at Rocky Crossing. The new project provides for removing portions of the shoals known as Slaty Crossing and Robinsons Ridge, and certain timber from the low-water channel.

During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1890, no work was done on account of continued high water rendering it impossible to begin the work with any certainty of completing it.

The fiscal year ending June 30, 1891, was a favorable season for this work, and many obstructions to navigation were removed.

$3,500

Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892

(See Appendix W 4.)

5. White River, Arkansas.-Before improvement the channel of this river was choked with drift piles, logs, and snags, in its lower portion and, from Batesville up, gravel bars, rocky shoals, channel bowlders, and overhanging trees, impeded navigation. The original project con-. sisted in snagging operations, blasting ledges and bowlders, and dam. building to remove gravel bars or to close chutes. The first separate appropriation for this river was made by act approved July 5, 1884. Provision for a survey of the river from Forsythe, Mo., to its mouth was added to the original project. At that date the river was in excellent navigable condition, for boats drawing not to exceed 3 feet of water, from its mouth to Newport, Ark. From Newport to Batesville there were many troublesome snags, and from Batesville to Buffalo Shoals there were numerous bad shoals, rendering navigation very uncertain. From Buffalo Shoals to Forsythe, Mo., there were many fine reaches of river, but the depth of water on Buffalo Shoals, and others, prevented any navigation at ordinary stages of water. The present plan, based on the survey, provides for the maintenance at low water of a channel 2 feet deep between Newport and Buffalo Shoals, and a channel, of not less than 5 feet deep at low water, from Newport to the mouth, and also for a limited amount of snagging operations while these improvements are in progress. The result between Newport and Buffalo Shoals is to be accomplished by the erection of solid wing dams and some rock excavation. From Newport to the mouth this result is to be accomplished by the erection of low, permeable spur dikes, to give the necessary depth of water on the shoals. Up to June 30, 1891, $93,517.24 had been expended in the work of improvement, and this completed the survey, published the maps, effectually improved the most dangerous shoals between Buffalo Shoals and Batesville, Ark., and the mouth, and completed one spur dike at Newport. During the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, $15,190.80 was expended, continuing the above work from Batesville Cut-off to the town of Newport, Ark., a distance of 50 miles. A number of dangerous shoals over this reach were improved, the dike at Newport was repaired, and good progress made upon another dike a few miles below the town of Newport. The low state of the funds compelled suspension of work. The work has been effective and the commercial facilities increased more than any previous year of the work. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended....

$15, 026. 41 Received as per letter Chief of Engineers April 11, 1892

250.00

15, 276. 41 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year

15, 190. 80 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended...

83, 61 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892.

75, 000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893...

75, 085. 61 (See Appendix W 5.) 6. Cache River, Arkansas.-The first appropriation made for this reach of river became available August 11, 1888. Prior to this time the river was choked with logs, snags, and overhanging trees, and several shoals interfered with low-water navigation. The project proposes the removal of these obstructions from the town of Riverside, Ark., to the mouth of the river. Up to June 30, 1891, $7,000 had been expended carrying out the project.

[ocr errors]
« AnteriorContinuar »