« AnteriorContinuar »
Under this contract the east breakwater was extended 452} linear feet.
Dredging in the inner harbor was continued until July 15. At conclusion of the work the channel had a clear depth exceeding 16 feet.
In the spring of 1892 it was found that quite extensive repairs were needed to the breakwaters, owing to injuries by storms and ice. The amount which could be undertaken was limited by available funds. These repairs were commenced in June and were in progress at the close of the fiscal year.
The maintenance of the breakwater already completed will require a considerable annual expenditure, and the same is true of the channel entrance to the river, which is the real commercial harbor of Cleveland. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended...,
$56, 350. 15 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year..
54, 718. 40 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended...
1, 631.75 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities.
233. 87 July 1, 1892, balance available.....
1, 397.88 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892.
100, 000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893....
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project....... 344, 250.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix MM 9.)
10. Fairport Harbor, Ohio.-When the work was commenced in 1826 the mouth of the river was closed by a sand bar 1,200 feet wide, at times so hard and dry that teams could cross over it.
The present project for the improvement of this harbor consists of parallel piers, 200 feet apart, running into the lake. It was adopted in. 1825, and has been modified by prolonging the piers from time to time so as to give increased depth, the object now being to afford a channel of navigable width and not less than 16 feet in depth.
The total amount appropriated and allotted for Grand River and Fairport Harbor, commencing in 1825, is $320,873.53; amount expended to June 30, 1891, $299,469.82; amount expended in last fiscal year, $20,033.26.
At the beginning of the fiscal year work was in progress under a contract reported last year. The contract expired July 30, 1891, by limitation of time, and was amended.
Proposals were obtained and a new contract was let to Mr. J. R. Irwin, of Painesville, Ohio. Under this contract, dredging was commenced October 5, and completed November 23, 1891. As a result the channel was given a depth of 17 feet throughout.
In the spring of 1892 it was found that a bar had formed near the end of the piers at the entrance to the harbor. As its immediate removal was necessary a dredge, scows, and tug were hired from the American Transportation Company, at a rate of $75 per day for the outfit.
The plant was employed ten and one half days, and a good channel was dredged through the bar to a depth of 17 feet.
Work under contract for extension of piers was continued until August 31, when it was completed. The west pier has been extended 80 feet and the east pier 120 feet. General repairs have also been made to both piers.
The commerce of Fairport Harbor is increasing rapidly and it seems probable that additional facilities may be required in the near future. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended...
$21, 403.71 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.
20, 033. 26 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended
1, 370, 45 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892 .
35,000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893.
36, 370. 45 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project...... 79, 400.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix M M 10.)
11. Ashtabula Harbor, Ohio.-The original project for the improvement of this harbor was adopted in 1826. Rock bottom was then found at 9 feet below the surface, and there was a depth of only 2 feet of water on the bar at the entrance.
A later amended project contemplated the extension of the piers out to 16 feet depth of water, the removal of the decayed portions of both piers, and rebuilding with new material, at the same time straightening the line of the west pier so as to afford a uniform width of 160 feet in channel.
The present project, adopted in 1891, provides for a width of 205 feet between piers and a depth in channel between piers of 20 feet; the piers to be extended to the depth of 22 feet in the lake.
Dredging the shale rock and loose material was continued, under contract previously reported, until September 26, when it was completed.
As a result the channel was dredged to a depth varying from 16 to 17 feet, and from 115 to 150 feet in width. The channel through the bar was excavated to a depth of 18 feet.
The work of removing part of east pier has not yet been undertaken, for the reason that the lowest proposal for the work exceeded the amount of available funds.
In the spring of 1892, the channel over the bar was again filled. A dredge was employed 45% bours with scows and tug, and the channel was excavated to a depth of 18 feet.
The total amount appropriated for this harbor from 1826 to 1890, inclusive, was $467,401.21; amount expended to June 30, 1891, $428,310.72; amount expended in last fiscal year, including liabilities, $30,423.74,
Ashtabula is rapidly becoming one of the largest shipping points for iron ore upon Lake Erie, and the necessity for deeper water is urgent. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended
$39, 090.49 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.
30, 203. 74 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended
8, 886.75 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities
220.00 July 1, 1892, balance available
8, 666.75 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892
70,000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893.
78, 666.75 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project....... 244,392.00 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix M M 11.)
12. Removing sunken vessels or craft obstructing or endangering narigation.-Two wrecks in Port Clinton Harbor, Ohio, one of the sail boat Rescue, the other of the tug Wilcox, have been examined and found to be obstructions to navigation, and an allotment of $100 from the permanent appropriation of June 14, 1880, was inade for their removal by the Secretary of War May 17, 1892. The work was not done before the close of the fiscal year.
(See Appendix M M 12.)
EXAMINATIONS AND SURVEYS, MADE IN COMPLIANCE WITH PROVISIONS OF RIVER AND HARBOR ACT APPROVED SEPTEMBER 19, 1890.
The required preliminary examinations of the following localities were made by the local engineer in charge, Maj. Overman, and reports thereon submitted through Col. Henry L. Abbot, Corps of Engineers, Division Engineer, Northeast Division. It is the opinion of Maj. Overman and of the division engineer, based upon the facts and reasons given, that these localities are worthy of improvement. The conclusions of these officers being concurred in by me, Maj. Overman was charged with and has completed their survey and submitted reports thereon. The reports were transmitted to Congress and printed as executive documents of the Fifty-second Congress, first session.
1. Grand River, Ohio, between Richmond and the moutlc.-The improvement proposed contemplates the excavation of a channel 160 feet wide, 18 feet deep, and 7,310 feet long, at an estimated cost of $39,000. Printed as House Ex. Doc. No. 61. (See also Appendix M M 13).
2. Conncaut Harbor, Ohio.—Maj. Overman recommends the construction of new piers and dredging between them to a depth of 17 feet, the estimated cost of which is as follows: Construction of two piers, about 2,000 feet long, to the 17-foot depth in the lake.
$300,000 Dredging new channel 17 feet deep, 160 feet wide at bottom, and about 2,100 feet long, to the 17-foot depth in the lake
51, 600 Revetment of the shore inside for 500 feet on the west side and 700 feet on the east side.
12, 000 Contingencies
54, 510 Total......
... 418, 140 Printed as House Ex. Doc. No. 42. (See also Appendix M M 14.)
IMPROVEMENT OF ERIE HARBOR, PENNSYLVANIA, AND OF DUNKIRK,
BUFFALO, WILSON, OLCOTT, AND OAK ORCHARD HARBORS, AND OF TONAWANDA HARBOR AND NIAGARA RIVER, NEW YORK.
Officer in charge, Maj. Amos Stickney, Corps of Engineers, to January 25, 1892, and Maj. E. H. Ruffner, Corps of Engineers, since that date; Division Engineer, Col. Henry L. Abbot, Corps of Engineers.
1. Erie Harbor, Pennsylvania.-The original survey of this harbor was made in 1819, at which time the channel was narrow and tortuous, with a depth of only 6 feet. In 1823 a plan for the improvement was adopted, and constitutes the present work at the entrance to the harbor, excepting some changes which have been required, either on account of the age of the structures already built or other causes. The
piers have been extended from time to time and are now in pretty good order and condition. The north pier needs considerable repairs.
The present project contemplated the extension of the piers to the 16-foot curve in the lake and the maintenance of a channel of navigable width 16 feet in depth from the harbor inside to the lake outside.
Operations have been prosecuted with more or less interruption and suspension (no work was done from 1838 to 1842, from 1846 to 1853, and from 1855 to 1864), and have resulted in much benefit to the harbor and its channel entrance. The work during the year consisted in minor repairs to the piers, dredging in channel, which has put it in excellent condition, and extending the north pier 450 feet.
The total amount expended up to June 30, 1891, not including outstanding liabilities, was $761,761.10. The amount expended during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, was $37,131.23. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended
$70, 106. 13 Received from sales of material..
4, 716. 89
74, 823. 02 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year..
37, 131. 23 July 1, 1892, balance unexpended
37, 691. 79 July 1, 1892, outstanding liabilities
504.00 July 1, 1892, balance available (includes $20,000 reserved for Presque Isle). 37, 187. 79 Amount appropriated by act approved July 13, 1892..
40,000.00 Amount available for fiscal year ending June 30, 1893..
187. 79 (See Appendix N N 1.)
2. Preservation and protection of Presque Isle Peninsula, Erie Har. bor, Pennsylvania.-In a report upon the examination of Erie Harbor, made in 1885, it was recommended that the neck of the peninsula be protected by a breakwater, and the movement of sand around the eastern end of the peninsula, which threatens to close the harbor entrance, be arrested by the construction of jetties perpendicular to the shore of the peninsula, at an estimated cost of $173,044.50.
Work under this project was in progress until October, 1889, when it was abandoned, it having been found that the structures built would not stand against the violence of the storms. No further work is at present contemplated, but the sum of $20,000 has been reserved from the appropriation for the improvement of Erie Harbor, to be used in case of necessity in closing any breach which might occur.
The total amount expended up to June 30, 1890, was $60,000. Nothing was expended during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892.
(See Appendix N N 2.)
3. Dunkirk Harbor, New York. --The improvement of this harbor was cominenced in 1827, when the first appropriation therefor was made. The original project was much the same as that of the existing improvement, which comprises the formation of an artificial harbor in front of the city by means of a breakwater running nearly parallel with the shore, and a shore arm or pier to the westward, with an opening between the piers and the breakwater. By 1832 the sum of $28,489.84 had been expended on the original plan, and the breakwater was then 2,564 feet long and the pier 1,400 feet long.
Various improvements and repairs were made from time to time, and by 1838 there had been completed 2,125 feet of breakwater and ENG 92
300 feet of detached breakwater. In 1848 the breakwater was demol. ished.
Between 1848 and 1870 some portions of the work were renewed and others repaired, but in 1870 a Board of Engineers took into consideration the question of the radical improvement of the harbor. The Board recommended a plan which provided a breakwater 2,860 feet long, one part of which, 2,300 feet in length, was to be nearly parallel with the shore, the other part to be nearly parallel to the axis of the channel entrance, 560 feet long, and terminating at the position of the dumb beacon, and the formation of a channel 170 feet wide and 13 feet deep; of the 2,300 foot section, 1,341 feet has been completed; none of the 560-foot section has been built.
Work during the year consisted in repairing parts of the breakwater and west pier. The superstructures of the breakwater and pier are in very bad condition and need rebuilding. The channel requires considerable rock excavation and dredging to make it 170 feet wide as proposed.
The total amount expended up to June 30, 1891, not including outstanding liabilities, was $ 193,153.05. The amount expended during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, was $6,864.93. July 1, 1891, balance unexpended
$20, 926. 33 June 30, 1892, amount expended during fiscal year.
Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project..... 128, 116. 41 Submitted in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of river and
harbor acts of 1866 and 1867. (See Appendix N N 3.)
4. Buffalo Harbor, New York.—The original project for the improvement of this harbor was adopted in 1826, and, as modified at various times, provided for the construction of piers on the north and south sides of Butfalo Creek, a masonry sea wall running south from the inshore end of the south pier, and a breakwater less than half a mile in front of the light-house, its long arm being nearly parallel with the shore.
The present project was adopted in 1874, and provided for the construction of a breakwater of crib work 7,600 feet long, running parallel with the shore, and a shore arm of piles and crib work, 4,100 feet long, running out toward the southern end of the main or detached breakwater, leaving an opening of 150 feet between them.
In 1887 this project was amended so that in the reconstruction of superstructure concrete was substituted for timber crib work.
During the past year the principal work has consisted in rebuilding about 1,970 feet of superstructure in concrete, and in extending main breakwater 450 feet south, and in minor repairs to structures. Total amount expended up to June 30,1891, not including outstanding liabilities, was $2,222,162.99. The amount expended during the fiscal year Anding June 30, 1892, was $230,604.08.