Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

3. Columbia River, from the mouth of Willamette River to the upper limits of the city of Vancourer, Washington, with a view of establishing a ship channel.The improvement proposed contemplates diverting the current which passes behind Hayden Island into the main channel of Columbia River, so as to scour away the shoal now existing along the northern side of the island, which obstructs navigation by deep-sea going vessels.

The work recommended to be done to accomplish this object consists in closing the chute behind Hayden Island by a dam having a height of 4 feet above low water, a width of 6 feet at top and 25 to 30 feet at base in the deepest water, and a length of 3,000 feet, the banks at the two ends of the dam to be protected for a distance of 250 feet against erosion at high water. The cost of this work is estimated at $33,000.

Printed as House Ex. Doc. No. 36. (See also Appendix U U 10.)

SUPERVISION OF THE HARBOR OF NEW YORK.

Supervisor, Capt. Frederick Rodgers, United States Navy.

The office and functions of the supervisor of the harbor of New York were established by act of Congress approved June 29, 1888, entitled “An act to prevent obstructive and injurious deposits within the harbor and adjacent waters of New York City by dumping or otherwise, and to punish and prevent such offenses."

Under the provisions of section 5 of the act a line officer of the Navy is designated to discharge the duties created by the act, under the direction of the Secretary of War. On May 23, 1889, the Secretary of War directed that all communications in connection with these duties should be addressed to him through this office, and on February 1, 1890, he further directed that the powers conferred upon him by the act should be exercised through the Chief of Engineers.

The report of the supervisor of the harbor describing the operations in his charge for the tiscal year ending June 30, 1892, is submitted as Appendix Y V.

The estimate of funds required for this service for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1894, is given in the above-mentioned report as follows:

ESTIMATE OF FUNDS REQUIRED FOR SUPERVISION OF THE HARBOR OF NEW YORK

FOR THE FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 1894.

For pay of inspectors, deputy inspectors, office force, and expenses of office.. $20,000
For pay of crew and maintenance of steamer Nimrod.
For pay of crew and maintenance of steamer Argus ..

10,000

10,000 For purchase or construction of two steam tugs

90,000 For pay of crew and maintenance of two steam tugs to be purchased or

constructed.

24,000

Total...

154, 000 The attention of this office has been called (see correspondence in the matter appended to the report of the supervisor) to what is believed to be a common practice by vessels entering New York Harbor of dumping ballast in the approaches to the harbor and bay off Sandy Hook, sometimes within and sometimes without the 3-mile limit to which the jurisdiction of the United States and of the supervisor of the harbor extends. In this way it appears that attempts are purposely inade to avoid the jurisdiction of this Government. It is believed that in the course of time the continual deposit of large quantities of this material near the entrance of the harbor will be a source of danger and inconvenience to navigation, and measures should be taken

to prevent such deleterious deposits within 15 miles of the Sandy Hook Light-ship, or in less than 16 fathoms of water. To prevent such dumping, especially beyond the 3-mile limit, the following act, which will, it is believed, accomplish the object desired in a legitimate manner,

is proposed and recommended for passage by Congress:

AN ACT to prevent the dumping of ballast or other bulky material in the approaches to New York

Harbor and Bay off Sandy Hook. Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That any vessel or vessels from which may be dumped or discharged ballast or other bulky material in the approaches to New York Harbor and Bay within fifteen miles of the Sandy Hook Light-ship, or in less than sixteen fathoms of water, shall not be allowed by the collectors of customs to receive passengers or cargo or clear from New York or any port adjacent to New York Harbor and Bay for the period of six months from the time of the commission of such dumping or discharging of ballast or other bulky material.

SEC. 2. That it shall be the duty of the supervisor of the harbor of New York, appointed and acting under the provisions of an act entitled "An act to prevent obstructive and injurious deposits within the harbor and adjacent waters of New York City by dumping or otherwise, and to punish and prevent such offenses,” approved June twenty-ninth, eighteen hundred and eighty-eight, to detect by proper measures any vessel or vessels which may dump or discharge ballast or other bulky material within the limits specified in the foregoing section of this act, and upon being satisfied of the commission of such act or acts to report the same to the collectors of customs at ports adjacent to New York Harbor and Bay for action by them in pursuance of the provisions in the said foregoing section; and the provisions of the said act approved June twenty-ninth, eighteen hundred and eighty-eight, and the jurisdiction of the said supervisor of the harbor of New York, are hereby extended, so far as they are applicable and consistent with the provisions of this act, to embrace the waters included within the limits specified in section one of this act.

SEC. 3. That the collectors of customs at any or all the ports adjacent to New York Harbor and Bay, upon receipt of information from the said supervisor of the harbor of New York that any vessel or vessels have dumped or discharged ballast or other bulky material within the limits specified in section one of this act, are hereby authorized and directed not to allow said vessel or vessels to receive passengers or cargo or clear from the respective ports within six months from the time of commission of such dumping or discharging of ballast or other bulky material, as provided in section one of this act.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER COMMISSION.

The Mississippi River Commission was organized under the provisions of the act of Congress of June 28, 1879.

Commissioners, Col. C. B. Comstock, Corps of Engineers, president; Lieut. Col. Chas. R. Suter, Corps of Engineers; Major O. H. Ernst, Corps of Engineers; Henry L. Whiting, Assistant Ü. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey; B. M. Harrod, Robert S. Taylor, and Henry Flad.

The report of the Commission for the fiscal year up to May 31, 1892, relating to surveys of the entire river, and works of construction and improvement, etc., in Mississippi River between the mouth of Ohio River and the head of the passes, is submitted as Appendix W W.

Estimates of funds for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1894.-The Mississippi River Commission submits.the following estimate of the amount required for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, for carrying on continuously the work of improving Mississippi River in accordance with the provision in the river and harbor act approved July 13, 1892, which authorizes the Secretary of War to enter into additional contracts, or to purchase material and do the work otherwise than by contract, for the continuous prosecution of the improvement, to be paid for as appropriations may be made from time to time: For improving Mississippi River between head of the passes and the mouth of Ohio River, including salaries, clerical, office, traveling, and miscellaneous expenses of the Mississippi River Cominission.... $2,665,000

The following statement of amounts that can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30, 1894, for improvement at various localities on the Mississippi River, is submitted by the Comunission in compliance with requirements of sections 2 of the river and harbor acts of 1866 and 1867 : At New Madrid, Mo....

$45,000 At Memphis, Tenn.

75,000 At Greenville, Miss

200,000 At Vicksburg, Miss.

100, 000 At Natchex, Miss., and Vidalia, La.

400, 000 At New Orleans, La

100, 000 For rectification of Red and Atchafalaya rivers..

300, 000 Total.....

1, 220,000 MISSOURI RIVER COMMISSION. The Missouri River Commission was organized under the provisions of the act of July 5, 1884.

Cominissioners, Lieut. Col. Chas. R. Suter, Corps of Engineers, presi. dent; Maj. A. Mackenzie, Corps of Engineers; Maj. O. H. Ernst, Corps of Engineers; Garland C. Broadhead, and Richard S. Berlin.

The report of the Commission for the fiscal year ending June 30, 1892, relating to surveys, works of construction and improvement, removal of obstructions, etc., in Missouri River below Sioux City, Iowa, is submitted as Appendix X X.

Estimate of amounts that can be profitably expended during fiscal year ending June 30, 1891.—The Missouri River Commission submits the following estimate of the amounts that can be profitably expended during the fiscal year ending June 30, 1894, upon the improvement of Missouri River below Sioux City, Iowa: Office and traveling expenses and salaries of Commission

$20,000 Surveys and observations

25, 000 Gauges, physical data, and publications.

25,000 Operating snag boat

35, 000 Systematic improvement in first reach.

645,000 Total

750,000

HARBOR LINES.

The section in the river and harbor act of 1888 authorizing the establishment of harbor lines was amended and reënacted by the river and harbor act approved September 19, 1890, as follows:

SEC. 12. That section 12 of the river and harbor act of August 11, 1888, be amended and reënacted so as to read as follows:

Where it is made manifest to the Secretary of War that the establishment of harbor lines is essential to the preservation and protection of harbors, he may, and is hereby authorized to, cause such lines to be established, beyond which no piers, wharves, bulkheads, or other works shall be extended or deposits made, except under sach regulations as may be prescribed from time to time by him; and any person who shall willfully violate the provisions of this section, or any rule or regusation made by the Secretary of War in pursuance of this section, shall be deemed guilty of a misdemeanor, and, on conviction thereof, shall be punished by a fine not exceerling $1,000, or imprisonment not exceeding one year, at the discretion of the court for each offense.

In cases where it had been made manifest to the Secretary of War that the establishment of certain harbor lines is essential to the preservation and protection of the harbors, the cases were referred to officers in local charge of the district in which the barbors are located or to boards of engineers specially appointed for the purpose, for consideration and report. The necessary examinations having been made,

reports with maps were rendered, which were submitted to the Secre. tary of War by the Chief of Engineers, with recommendation that the lines as indicated be approved, and that the approval be placed upon the maps showing the harbor lines.

Under the requirements of law as cited, and in the manner described, harbor lines have been established as follows:

HARBOR LINES AT FIVE-MILE RIVER HARBOR, CONNECTICUT.

Col. D. C. Houston, Corps of Engineers, in compliance with instructions from this office, made report dated January 22, 1892; report submitted to the Secretary of War January 25, 1892; approved January 26, 1892. (See Appendix D 27.)

HARBOR LINES IN NEW YORK HARBOR AND ITS ADJACENT WATERS.

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for New York Harbor and its adjacent waters, consisting of Cols. Henry L. Abbot, William P. Craighill, C. B. Comstock, and D. C. Houston, and Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, Corps of Engineers, was constituted by Special Orders No. 11, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, January 30, 1889.

a. (1) Great Mill and Little Mill rocks, East River; (2) eastern shore of Gravesend Bay, from Fort Hamilton to Coney Island; and (3) southern shore of Raritan and Sandy Hook bays, from Cheesequake Creek to the highway bridge across Shrewsbury River at Navesink Highlands.—Report dated February 8, 1892; submitted to the Secretary of War February 13, 1892; approved March 9, 1892.

b. Modification of harbor lines in Jersey flats, in front of Bayonne, Nero Jersey, to permit solid filling and constructions by Mr. R. G. Packard outside the established harbor lines.-An application by Mr. R. G. Packard for permission to build certain dikes, etc., and make solid filling outside the established harbor lines in Jersey Flats in front of Bayonne, N. J., was reported on by the Board October 13, 1891. The permission desired was granted by the Acting Secretary of War December 26, 1891, upon certain conditions and upon the filing by Mr. Packard of a bond to secure the construction and maintenance by him of a tidal prism behind the approved bulkhead line equal in volume to the displacement caused by the constructions exterior to the bulkhead line.

c. Modification of harbor lines established January 9, 1891 (see Annual Report, Chief of Engineers, 1891, page 963), on the north shore of East River, between Oak Point and Hunts Point.-Report dated May 20, 1892; submitted to the Secretary of War June 7, 1892; approved June 11, 1892.

d. Modification of pierhead line established March 4, 1890 (see Annual Report, Chief of Engineers, 1890, page 796), on the Arthur Kill, in front of Perth Amboy, New Jersey.-Report dated May 20, 1892; submitted to the Secretary of War July 15, 1802; approved August 9, 1892.

(See Appendix E 14.)

HARBOR LINES IN ANACOSTIA RIVER (EASTERN BRANCH OF THE

POTOMAC) AT WASHINGTON, DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA.

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for Anacostia River, consisting of Col. William P. Craighill, Lieut. Col. George II. Elliot, and Maj. Charles E. L. B. Davis, Corps of Engineers, constituted by Special Orders No. 10, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, February 20, 1892, made report dated May 16, 1892; report submitted to the Secretary of War May 19, 1892; approved May 21, 1892. (See Appendix J 16.)

MODIFICATION OF HARBOR LINES IN SOUTH BRANCII OF ELIZABETH

RIVER AT THE NAVY-YARD, NORFOLK, VIRGINIA. The Navy Department, June 21, 1892, requested that the harbor lines established in south branch of Elizabeth River at the Norfolk navyyard by the Secretary of War May 9, 1890 (see Annual Report, Chief of Engineers, 1890, page 1032), be modified so as to permit extension of the quay wall south of the entrance to the timber basin at the navyyard. This modification was, upon the recommendation of the Chief of Engineers, approved by the Secretary of War June 30, 1892. (See Appendix K 9.) HARBOR LINES AT SAN PEDRO, WILMINGTON HARBOR, CALIFORNIA.

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for San Pedro, Wilmington Harbor, California, consisting of Col. G. H. Mendell, Lieut. Col. W. H. H. Benyaurd, and Maj. W. H. Heuer, Corps of Engineers, constituted by Special Orders No. 20, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, March 25, 1891, made report dated July 8, 1892, recommending establishment of harbor lines additional to those established by the Secretary of War at this locality July 28, 1891 (see Annual Report, Chief of Engineers, 1891, page 2976); report submitted to the Secretary of War August 9, 1892; approved August 10, 1892. (See Appendix R R 7.)

HARBOR LINES IN SAN DIEGO HARBOR AND ADJACENT WATERS, CAL

IFORNIA-AT NATIONAL CITY, SAN DIEGO, ROSEVILLE, LA PLAYA, CORONADO, SPANISH BIGHT, AND CORONADO NORTH ISLAND,

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for San Diego Harbor and adjacent waters, California, consisting of Col. G. H. Mendell, Lieut. Col. W. H. H. Benyaurd, and Maj. W. H. Heuer, Corps of Engineers, constituted by Special Orders No. 51, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, October 11, 1888, made report dated June 13, 1892; report submitted to the Secretary of War June 21, 1892; approved June 21, 1892.

These lines include the harbor lines established at San Diego and Coronado by the Secretary of War, April 2, 1890 (see Annual Report, Chief of Engineers, 1890, page 2904).

(See Appendix RR 8.) HARBOR LINES IN OLYMPIA HARBOR, VANCOUVER HARBOR (COLUM

BIA RIVER AT VANCOUVER), AND BELLINGHAM BAY (AT NEW WHATCOM AND FAIRHAVEN), WASHINGTON.

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for these localities, consisting of Col. G. H. Mendell, Maj. Thomas H, Handbury, and Capt. Thomas W. Symons, Corps of Engineers, constituted by Special Orders No. 16, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, March 12, 1892, made report dated May 23, 1892; report submitted to the Secretary of War May 31, 1892; approved June 3, 1892. (See Appendix TT 16.)

HARBOR LINES IN WILLAMETTE RIVER AT PORTLAND, OREGON.

The Board of Engineers on harbor lines for Willamette River at Portland, Oregon, consisting of Col. G. II. Mendell, Maj. Thomas H. Handbury, and Capt. Thomas W. Symons, Corps of Engineers, constituted by Special Orders No. 88, Headquarters, Corps of Engineers, December 24, 1890, made a majority report, dated May 23, 1892; report submitted to the Secretary of War July 16, 1892; approved August 9, 1892. (See Appendix U U 11.)

« AnteriorContinuar »