Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

therefor. In February, 1891, the owners of private property on the res. erration, as directed by the Secretary of War, submitted plans for a sewerage system for their buildings; with this system it is proposed to connect a system of sewerage for Government buildings for which the appropriation will suffice. These plans were returned for slight modification March 6, 1891, and have not been again submitted.

(See Appendix 3 C.)

REPAIR AND PRESERVATION OF FORT MARION, FLORIDA.

Officer in charge, Capt. W. M. Black, Corps of Engineers, with Lieut. David DuB. Gaillard, Corps of Engineers, under his immediate orders; Division Engineer, Col. William P. Craighill, Corps of Engineers.

By act of August 18, 1890, $15,000 was appropriated for the repair and preservation of this work, and for the construction of sea wall to preserve the site. Work was begun October 20, 1890, and continued to the close of the fiscal year; 342.5 feet of sea wall was built, the terreplein was paved and drained, communications were restored and renewed, window frames and sashes were replaced by iron gratings, door and window facings repaired, the ditch cleaned out and graded, glacis planes were restored, and all low places on the reservation filled and grasled, fences were built, concrete paths laid, and many trees and plants put out. Additional and final work of restoration and improvement of fort and grounds remains, for which an estimate of $6,500 is submitted. Amount appropriated by act approved August 18, 1890......

$15,000.00 June 30, 1891, amonnt expended during fiscal year

13,782,00 July 1, 1291, balance unexpended..

1, 218.00 July 1, 1891, outstanding liabilities..

575.84 July 1, 1891, balance available

642. 16 Amount (estimated) required for completion of existing project...... 6,500.00 Amount that can be profitably expended in fiscal year ending June 30, 1893 6,500.00

(See Appendix No. 4.)

ESTIMATES OF APPROPRIATIONS REQUIRED FOR 1892–93. For construction of gun and mortar batteries...

$2,647,000 For purchase of land for fortifications... For protection, preservation, and repair of fortifications

500,000

80,000 For preparation of plans for fortifications...

5,000 For repair and preservation of Fort Marion, Florida, and for construction

of sea wall to preserve the site... For artesian well at Fort Monroe, Virginia.

6,500

4,000 For sea wall at Governors Island, New York Harbor For sea wall at Davids Island, New York Harbor

17,000

30,000 For needful casemates, cable galleries, etc., from which to operate submarine mines

200,000

3,489,500

THE BOARD OF ENGINEERS.

The Board, as at present constituted, consists of the following officers of the Corps of Engineers: Col. Henry L. Abbot, Col. C. B. Comstock, Col. D. C. Houston, Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie.

Col. G. H. Mendell, Corps of Engineers, is also a member of the Board when it is acting upon matters pertaining to the defensive works on the Pacific coast.

The Board has considered the various subjects referred to it during the past year by the Chief of Engineers, and the following is a briet Summary of the reports rendered thereon:

1890, July 7. On House Representatives 10,905, Fifty-first Congress first session, a bill to authorize the construction of a bridge across the Hudson River between New York City and New Jersey.

July 23. On the necessary defenses of our entire Atlantic and Gul coasts.

August 28. On expenses for the office of the Board for the year end ing June 30, 1891.

August 28. On suggestions of Capt. J. G. D. Knight, Corps of Engi neers, concerning the gun-lift designed by Colonel Abbot.

August 28. On the necessary defenses of the Pacific coast line, ex cepting Alaska.

September 8. On project for a gun-lift battery at Sandy Hook.

September 20. On land to be acquired for defensive purposes o Coney Island.

September 22. On the expenditure of funds appropriated by the ac of August 18, 1890, for torpedo purposes.

October 6. On locations for mortar batteries for the defense of thi eastern entrance to New York llarbor.

October 13. Relative to project of Lieut. Col. J. A. Smith, Corps ? Engineers, of October 7, 1890, for a mining casemate and search-ligh room at Portland, Me.

October 14. On changes recommended by Lieut. Col. W. R. King Corps of Engineers, in torpedo matériel.

November 24. On device of Boyd W. Desart for a portable pontoo bridge.

November 24. On project of Lient. Col. P. C. Ilains, Corps of Eng neers, of November 13, 1890, for mining casemate and cable gallery : Fort Monroe, Va.

November 24. On project of Lieut. Col. J. A. Smith, Corps of Eng neers, of October 18, 1890, for expenditure of $65,000 for improvin Saco River, Maine.

December 1. Project for the expenditure of a balance of $60,000, ad of March 2, 1889, “ for needful casemates and cable galleries.”

December 1. Views as to the rapid firing guns which will be nece sary for the seacoast defense of the United States.

December 17. General report on the defense of the port of San Frai cisco. The estimates for the works projected for the defense of th harbor were transmitted to the Chief of Engineers on April 25, 189 and the final drawings on June 2, 1891.

December 22. On changes recommended by Lieut. Col. W. R. King Corps of Engineers, in torpedo matériel.

December 12. Relative to bridge across Newark Bay to be constructe by the Jersey City, Newark and Western Railway Company.

December 22. On changes proposed by Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespi Corps of Engineers, in gun-lift battery at Sandy Hook.

December 31. On report of Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, Corps of Ei gineers, relative to purchase of land at Fort Hamilton for defensive pu poscs.

1891. January 24. On torpedo invented by Lieutenant Borresen, Roy: Norwegian Navy.

January 21. On plan of Messrs. Churchill and Mullen, for operatin torpedoes from the shore.

January 27. Ou Senaté 5,027, Fifty-first Congress, second sessioi “A bill in relation to the Departments of the Army of the Unite States."

March 2. On emplacements for guns provided for in the fortification act of February 24, 1891.

March 2. On communication of Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers, recommending Harts Island as a site for fortification, instead of Cryders Point.

March 6. On expenses for the office of the Board for the year ending June 30, 1892.

March 11. On project of First Lieut. O. M. Carter, Corps of Engi. peers, of October 8, 1890, for expenditute of funds appropriated by act of September 19, 1890, for improving Cumberland Sound.

March 16. On project of Lieut. Col. J. A. Smith, Corps of Engineers, of January 5, 1891, for casemate and cable gallery at Portland Head, Me.

March 17. On modification proposed by Lieut. Col. S. M. Mansfield, Corps of Engineers, November 12, 1890, for emplacement for high-power gun at Fort Warren, Mass.

March 19. Project for expenditure of funds appropriated by act of February 24, 1891, for submarine mining defenses.

March 21. On bridge across Newark Bay to be constructed by the Jersey City, Newark and Western Railway Company.

April 4. On project of Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers, of January —, 1891, for mortar battery on Davids Island.

April 7. On project of Lieut. Col. S. M. Mansfield, Corps of Engineers, of March 31, 1891, for mortar batteries on Grovers Cliff, Mass.

April 8. On revised project of Lieut. Col. J. A. Smith, Corps of Engineers, of April 2, 1891, for casemate and cable gallery at Portland Head, Me.

April 22. On project of Capt. F. V. Abbot, Corps of Engineers, of February 11, 1891, for casemate and cable gallery at Fort Sumter, S.C.

April 23. On bridge to be constructed by the North River Bridge Company across the Hudson River at New York under the act of July 11, 1890.

May 4. On projects of Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers, of February 28 and March 30, 1891, for gun emplacement at Willets Point, N. Y.

May 16. On project of Lieut. Col. J. A. Smith, Corps of Engineers, of April 25, 1891, for improving Penobscot River, Maine.

May 16. On letter of the Chief of Ordnance of May 5, 1891, relative to emplacement for 12-inch B. L. rifle.

June 5. On project of Maj. C. W. Raymond, Corps of Engineers, of May 19, 1891, for casemate and cable gallery on Pea Patch Island, Delaware River.

June 6. On project of Lieut. Col. P. C. Hains, Corps of Engineers, of May 27, 1891, for emplacements for high-power guns at Fort Monroe,

Va.

June 12. On construction of an additional casemate and cable gallery with balance of funds appropriated by act of February 24, 1891. June 22. Project for the defense of Portland Harbor, Maine.

June 26. On application of Iludson Tunnel Railway Company to de. posit a layer of clay on the bottom of the Hudson River on the line of its tunnel near the left bank.

In the performance of the duties of the Board, the following personal examinations were made:

To carry out the instructions of the Chief of Engineers contained in an iodorsement dated February 4, 1890, the Board on August 28 and 29, and September 26, 1890, conducted experiments with circuit closers at Willets Point, New York, to determine the working of the system of torpedo obstruction.

Under instructions of the Chief of Engineers, dated December 18, 1890, the Board visited St. Johns River, Florida, and Cumberland Sound, on February 2, 1891, and Savannah, Ga., on February 5, 1891, in connection with its report on the project of Lieut. O. M. Carter, Corps of Engineers, of October 8, 1890, for expenditure of funds for improving Cumberland Sound.

Under instructions of the Chief of Engineers, dated April 6, 1891, the Board, on May 26, 1891, inspected the sites for fortifications in the barbor of Portland, Me.

In addition to their duties with The Board of Engineers, the indi. vidual members of the Board have been otherwise engaged, as follows:

1. Col. Henry L. Abbot, the president of the Board, has continued in charge of certain experiments with torpedoes; as a member of the Board of Ordnance and Fortification; as president of the board to fix the harbor lines for the harbor of New York and its adjacent waters; as president of the board to fix the harbor lines for the port of Boston, and as division engineer of the Northeast Division. He has also served as president of boards for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to promotion.

2. Col. C. B. Comstock has served as division engineer of the Southwest Division; as member of the board of visitors to the United States Engineer School; as president of the Mississippi River Commission; as member of the board to fix the harbor lines of New York Harbor and its adjacent waters; as member of the board to fix the harbor lines of Philadelphia; as member of commission of engineer officers to report on the value of the channel constructed by the Buffalo Bayou Ship Channel Company; as member of boards for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to their promotion; as member of board to select a site for a naval dry-dock on the Gulf of Mexico; and as member of board to report on a project for improving harbor at Sabine Pass, Texas.

3. Col. D. C. Houston has been the disbursing officer of The Board of Engineers. He has conducted the various works of river and harbor improvement and of fortifications under his charge, and has served as a member of the board of visitors to the United States Engineer School; as a member of the board to fix the harbor lines for the harbor of New York and its adjacent waters; as a member of boards to establish harbor lines in the harbors of Stamford and Bridgeport, Conn.; as member of commission to consider and report on the improvement of Wilmington Harbor, Del.; and as member of boards for examination of officers of the Corps of Engineers with a view to their promotion.

4. Lieut. Col. G. L. Gillespie, in addition to conducting the various works of river and larbor improvement and of fortification with which he was charged during the year, has served as a member of the board of visitors to the United States Engineer School; of the boards on barbor lines of New York Harbor and adjacent waters, of Stamford and Bridgeport Harbors, Conu., and of the port of Boston, Mass.; of boards on obstructions to navigation in the Hudson River, and on deep-water harbor on the Pacific coast between Points Dúma and Capistrano; and as a member of board for examination of an officer of the Corps of Engineers with a view to his promotion.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, NEW YORK-UNITED STATES ENGINEER

SCHOOL-BATTALION OF ENGINEERS- ENGINEER DEPOT.

Officer in command, Lieut. Col. W. R. King, Corps of Engineers.

POST OF WILLETS POINT, NEW YORK.

At the close of the fiscal year the garrison consisted of 27 commissioned officers and 333 enlisted men, including officers and non-commis. sioned officers of the general staff, student officers, and enlisted men of the Hospital Corps. This is a net loss of 51 men in enlisted strength over last year's report.

Some repairs and improvements have been made during the year to the roads and buildings.

The fire-proof building for engineer models is completed and partly occupied, and the coal shed, built by the Quartermaster's Department, has been in use during the year.

Most of this work was done by enlisted men detailed for the purpose. Plans and estimates for lighting the public buildings and grounds by electricity were made last year; if these are not approved, the erection of a small plant for lighting the post by gas is recommended.

An allotment has been made for the construction of a new guard honse and for a building to contain fire engines, etc.; these will be built during the year.

The necessity for new barracks, mess building and quartermaster and commissary storehouse has been so often reported that no further statement of the case seems necessary.

It is urged that the needs of this post and its garrison may be considered in the allotment of appropriation for barracks and quarters.

UNITED STATES ENGINEER SCHOOL.

During the year 3 engineer officers, 1 artillery officer, and 7 infantry officers completed the course, and 2 cavalry, 1 artillery, and 5 infantry officers who have completed the laboratory duty are still engaged in the practice work of planting and operating torpedoes, which it is expected will be completed October 1, 1891.

One infantry officer was, upon his own application, relieved from duty at the U.S. Engineer School on June 15, 1891, as per special orders No. 124, Headquarters Army, A. G.O., Washington, June 7, 1891.

It is believed that officers of fair intelligence and industrious habits, although lacking the benefit of a scientific education, can acquire a sufficient knowledge of electricity and high explosives to be useful not ouly in the torpedo service, but also in its simpler applications to military and civil engineering.

BATTALION OF THE CORPS OF ENGINEERS.

The legal strength of the Battalion of Engineers is five companies of 150 men each, with a sergeant-major and quartermaster-sergeant, and is oficered by details from the commissioned officers of the corps.

The present strength is 20 officers and 417 enlisted men. The author ized strength of Companies A, B, and C, which are stationed at Willets Point, is 133 men each, and of Company E, stationed at West Point,

100 men,

« AnteriorContinuar »