« AnteriorContinuar »
Lower Division. St. Paul and St. Barnabas St. Paul stoned.-Acts xiv. about to be reverenced as 19. gods.-Acts xiv. 11.
Right side. St. Paul casting out a spirit St. Paul before King Agripof divination from a woman.
pa.-Acts xxvi. Acts xvi. 16.
Lower Division. St. Paul's friends dissuading St. Paul before the Roman him from his intended voy- governor Felix.-Acts xxiv. age to Jerusalem. beautiful figure of a ship, representing the vessel in which he sailed from Ptolemais to Cæsarea in Palestine.- Acts xxi.
TWENTY-FOURTH AND TWENTY-FIFTH WINDOWS.
SUBJECTS NOT KNOWN.
The arches of all these windows are divided into small compartments, illuminated with the arms and other devices of the monarchs who contributed towards the building. It is uncertain who were the persons who gave the original designs of the paintings. They have sometimes been ascribed to Julio Romano, who flourished when the windows were
executed; others have imagined that the drawings of Raphael were resorted to for the subjects ; as one of the finest paintings is evidently “the story of Ananias and Sapphira, as depicted by Raphael in the Cartoons.” They were probably the work of various artists.
It has frequently been reported, but erroneously, that all the windows of the chapel were taken down and concealed, at the time when the fanaticism of the Long Parliament induced them to employ Commissioners to destroy all superstitious ornaments. By what influence these paintings were preserved is uncertain, as visitors were certainly sent down to Cambridge, who ordered the organ to be removed, and sold its pipes: but it is supposed the windows were spared by the entreaties of Dr. Whichcote, who had been appointed Provost by the long Parliament.
On each side of this building are nine small chapels (each 20 feet by 10), that were probably erected as chantries : four of them have been undoubtedly so appropriated. These chapels are built between the buttresses; and, mostly, communicate with each other. Those on the north side have till of late been used as burial places : those on the south side formerly contained the College Library. The second chapel from the west, on this side, was consecrated to religious uses by Provost Hacombleyn, by whom it was adorned, and afterwards, by his own desire, made his burial place. In the
window is a portrait on glass of Henry VI.; and in the centre is a large table monument of marble, on the top of which is a flaming urn; on the east and west sides cherubs, supporting the family arms; and on the north is a Latin inscription, in memory of John Churchill, Marquis of Blandford, son of the Duke of Marlborough, who was a student of this College about the year 1702. In August 1801, was erected against the east wall of this Chapel, a white marble tablet, to the memory of the celebrated Dr. Glynn, who was buried in the large vault, near the north door of the Chapel. He was sixty-three years Fellow of the College, and bequeathed to it 90001. towards the erection of new buildings.
Choral service is performed in this Chapel every afternoon at three o'clock, and on the mornings and afternoons of all Saints' days, Sundays, and other Festivals, with the exception of the vacations, during which it is performed only on Sundays.
Nicholas Cloos, or Close, son of the Architect of the College,
Bishop of Lichfield, 1452. Thomas Rotheram, Lord Chancellor, Archbishop of York,
Queen Elizabeth, 1573.
Walter Haddon,-died 1572.
Bible, and of the Compilers of the Common Prayer,
died 1581. Lawrence Saunders, Martyr, 1555. Robert Glover, Martyr. John Hullier, Martyr, burnt on Jesus Green, Cambridge. Phineas Fletcher, Author of the “Purple Island.” Dr. Giles Fletcher, Envoy to Russia from Queen Elizabeth,
-died 1610. Dr. John Cowell, Author of “ The Interpreter," - died 1611. Sir William Temple, Provost of Trinity College, Dublin,
died 1626. William Oughtred, the celebrated Mathematician, - died
1660. John Pearson, Bishop of Chester, 1672, and Author of the
celebrated "Exposition of the Creed.” James Fleetwood, Provost; Bishop of Worcester, 1675. Edmund Waller, the Poet,--died 1687. Dr. Thomas Hyde, the Orientalist,—died 1703. Dr. George Stanhope, Dean of Canterbury, 1703. Francis Hare, Bishop of Chichester, 1731. Jacob Bryant, the famous Mythologist and Critic. Fellow,
1740. Sir Robert Walpole, Earl of Orford, K.G., and Prime Minis
ter to George I. and George II.-died 1745. Sir William Draper, K.G., captured the island of Manilla,
1763, and gave the colours taken there. He engaged in
controversy with Junius. Frederick, Earl of Carlisle, who gave the Altar-piece. William Cole, the Antiquary,--died 1782. The Rev. Charles Simeon, Author of the "Horæ Homileticæ."
This Society consists of a Provost, seventy Fellows and Scholars, and a Chaplain. Thirty-two Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Bishop of Lincoln.
Was founded in the year 1446, and endowed with revenues to the amount of 2001. per annum, for the support of a President and four Fellows, by Margaret of Anjou, consort of Henry VI. The first stone of the Chapel was laid, for the Queen, by Sir John Wenlock (afterwards slain at Tewkesbury,) who caused the following inscription to be engraved on it :-“ Erit Dominæ nostre Regina Margarette Dominus in Refugium, et Lapis iste in Signum.”— “ The Lord will be a refuge to our Lady, Queen Margaret, and this Stone shall be a token thereof." The civil wars soon after interrupted the work; but Andrew Dokett, the President, obtained, besides several other considerable benefactions, the patronage of Elizabeth Widville, Queen of Edward IV.; and the number of Fellows was advanced to nineteen, and forty-five Scholarships t were founded. The Lady Elizabeth has since been annually celebrated as a co-foundress. The endowments were
* The Porter's Lodge is under the Tower Gateway on the left.
+ Recently consolidated into twenty-six, and augmented by College grants.