Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB

much increased by Richard III. and various benefactors.

Queens' College is situated between Trumpingtonstreet and the river, behind Catharine Hall; it consists principally of three courts. The first is of brick, 96 feet long, and 84 broad, and is entered by a lofty tower gateway. The inner Court, which extends to the banks of the river, has a range of cloisters on three sides, each about 80 feet in length; the President's Lodge is on the north. The river front presents a neat oriel, and was partly erected in the last century. Walnut-tree Court has buildings on two sides only. The north is open, looking towards King's College.

The Chapel, situated in the first court, is a plain building, 54 feet long and 21 broad.

The Hall, which is in the first court, is large, handsome, and well-proportioned, appropriately fitted up, and furnished with a music-gallery over the entrance. At the upper end are the following portraits, by Hudson : -Sir Thomas Smith, half-length, dressed in a fur cloak, and leaning on a globe; Elizabeth Widville, Queen of Edward IV.Za very fine painting ; the learned Erasmus,* seated at a table, writing, and dressed in a fur cloak. These

When this erudite and ingenious scholar visited England, at the invitation of his friend, Bishop Fisher, then Chancellor of the University, he chose this College as his place of residence, having his study, says Fuller, at the top of the south-west tower of the old court,

three pictures are in very elegant frames, and were presented to the College by the three sons of Harry, fourth Earl of Stamford. On the west side is a full-length portrait of Joshua King, Esq. M.A., President.

The large oriel window has recently been ornamented with the arms of the foundresses, presidents, and other distinguished personages, beautifully blazoned and stained in glass by the late Charles Muss, enamel painter to the King. On the four side windows are the arms of the Earl of Hardwicke, the Earl of Stamford, Sir Henry Russell, and of the College.

The Combination-room adjoins the Hall, and is adorned by a fine portrait of Dr. Milner, formerly President, and Dean of Carlisle, by Harlow. The Library contains a collection of

very valuable books, to the number of about 30,000 volumes. Amongst them are all the Greek and Latin books of that famous benefactor to the University, Sir Thomas Smith;

of the Antwerp Polyglot Bible in eight folios, given by Bishop Chaderton ;-above 100 volumes given by Henry Hastings, Earl of Huntingdon ;-nearly 60 folios given by Dr. Tindal, Dean of Ely ;-about 600 volumes bequeathed by the learned John Smith, about A.D. 1650;--13 Persian and Turkish MSS. given by the Rev. Mr. Thompson; - and 2000 volumes left by the Rev. David Hughes, Vice-President of the College ; and it has been within the last few years augmented by a collection of about 3000 valuable works left by the late Dean Milner.*

copy

-a fine

The President's Lodge is commodious and extensive ; and contains many valuable pictures, of which the following may be esteemed the most worthy of remark:—the two royal Foundresses, Bishop Fisher, Henry, Earl of Huntingdon, 1601; John Davenant, Bishop of Sarum; Anthony Sparrow, Bishop of Norwich; Daniel Wray, by Dance; Admiral Caleb Barnes, 1665; Gen. Monk; Sir George Saville, Bart. ; Richard Hopkins, Esq., a fine portrait, by Reynolds; Erasmus, by Holbein; Henry Plumptre, President in 1743; and his son and successor in the Presidentship, Dr. Robert Plumptre; and a valuable and curious altar - piece from the chapel, on three panels; the subjects are, Judas betraying Christ; the Resurrection; and Christ appearing to the Apostles after the Resurrection : these are in the highest preservation, and are esteemed a great curiosity. They are conjectured to have been presented to the College by Margaret of Anjou, the first foundress.

The gardens and grounds of this College, on both sides of the river, and connected by a wooden bridge of one arch, resting on abutments of rustic stone-work, are truly collegiate: the walks are

* A Classical Catalogue of the whole has been published by the Rev. Thomas Hartwell Horne, the well-known Bibliographer, in 2 vols, royal 8vo.

shaded with elms overhanging a beautiful terrace on the banks of the river.

EMINENT MEN.

John Poynet, Bishop of Winchester.
John Aylmer, Bishop of London.
Sir Thomas Smith, the eminent Greek Scholar, Secretary

of State to Edward VI. and Queen Elizabeth.
John Davenant, President, Bishop of Salisbury, 1621.
John Weever, the Antiquary,—died 1632.
Dr. Thomas Fuller, Author of the “Church History," &c.,-

died 1661. Anthony Sparrow, President, Bishop of Norwich, 1676. Simon Patrick, President, Bishop of Ely, 1691. Pomfret, the Poet, died 1703. Simon Ockley, Arabic Professor, 1711. Rev. Owen Manning, the Historian of Surrey. Dr. Isaac Milner, President, Lucasian Professor of Mathe

matics, 1798.

a

This Society consists of a President, twenty Fellows, and twenty-six Scholars. * Eleven Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Queen.

* It is worthy of remark, that the President, Fellows, and Scholars, were, in 1642, without onc exception, ejected for refusing to subscribe the covenant.

CATHARINE HALL*

Was founded in the year 1475, by Robert Woodlark, D.D., Provost of King's College, and Chancellor of the University ; who obtained a charter from Edward IV. and appointed a Master and three Fellows, dedicating it to St. Catharine. The number of Fellows has been since increased to fourteen, besides which, about forty-three Scholarships and Exhibitions have been also created. This has been chiefly effected through the ample donation of Mrs. Mary Ramsden, of Norton in Yorkshire, a very considerable benefactress to the College.

This College (which was re-built about A.D. 1700,) is on the west side of Trumpington-street; it consists principally of one large Court, about 180 feet long and 120 broad, built with brick and stone on three sides ; the fourth being open towards the street, with handsome iron palisades, and a piece of ground planted with elms. The north side of this quadrangle is occupied by the Chapel, Hall, &c., and on the south is the Master's Lodge. The front of this College towards Queens', is of great length, regularly built, and adorned at the entrance with a neat portico of the Tuscan order.

The Chapel is about 75 feet long, 30 broad, and 36 high; and within, is remarkable for simplicity of ornament. It was consecrated, A. D. 1704, by the

* The Porter's Lodge is at the southļend of the grove.

« AnteriorContinuar »