« AnteriorContinuar »
exemplary Simon Patrick, Bishop of Ely. In the ante-chapel is a handsome marble monument, erected by Sir William Dawes, Archbishop of York, to the memory of his lady. Here is also the tomb of Dr. John Addenbrooke, a Fellow of the College, and founder of the Hospital in this town, which bears his name.
The Hall, which joins the Chapel, is a noble and well-proportioned room, 42 feet long, 24 broad, and as many high; it is elegantly stuccoed, and has a fine painting of Robert Woodlark, the founder. In the Combination-room are portraits of Thomas Sherlock, D.D., Bishop of London, by Vanloe, and John Gostlyn, M.D., a benefactor to the College. Here is also a fine painting of St. Catharine, which was brought from Venice by Charles Bunbury.
The Library is over the Hall and Combinationroom; it is a handsome apartment, fitted up at the expense of Bishop Sherlock, who bequeathed his own valuable collection of books to the College, with a stipend for a Librarian.
The Master's Lodge is a lofty and spacious edifice, elegantly fitted up, and containing several pictures; among which are four portraits, by Sir Godfrey Kneller.
John Bradford, the Martyr.
Sir William Dawes, Bart., Master, Archbishop of York, 1713. Dr. John Addenbrooke, Fellow, and founder of the Hospital
in Cambridge,-died 1719. John Leng, Editor of the “Cambridge Terence,” Bishop of
Norwich, 1723. Benjamin Hoadly, Bishop of Winchester, 1734. John Strype, the famous Antiquary,—died 1737. Thomas Sherlock, Master, Bishop of London, 1748. Joseph Milner, Author of the “ History of the Church of
Christ,"-died 1797. This Society consists of a Master, who is always ex officio a Prebendary of Norwich, fourteen Fellows, and twenty-six Scholars. Four Benefices and one Grammar School are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Queen.
Was erected on the site of an ancient Benedictine Nunnery, endowed by Malcolm the Fourth, King of Scotland, in the reign of Henry II., and dedicated to St. Rhadegund. This establishment flourished for about three centuries; but at length falling into decay, it was dissolved by Henry VII. Its possessions were granted to John Alcock, Bishop of Ely, and Lord Chancellor of England, who, in the year 1496, founded this College, for a Master, six Fellows, and six Scholars; but the endowments have since been so largely increased by various benefactors,
* The Porter's Lodge is under the Gateway on the left.
that they now supply maintenance for sixteen Fellows, and nearly fifty Scholars.
This College is pleasantly situated at the eastern part of the town. The south or principal front is 180 feet in length, with a handsome tower gateway at the entrance. The first Court, which was erected between the years 1637 and 1643, is regularly built on three sides, and is about 141 feet by 120 : the west side being open to the meadow, and divided therefrom by iron palisades, by which the view is left uninterrupted. The second Court is small and very ancient, surrounded by a cloister. In this cloister are the entrances to the Chapel, Hall, and Master's Lodge. A neat brick and stone edifice has lately been erected in the Court near the Hall.
The Chapel, which was the ancient conventual Church, is built in the form of a cross, having a transept and a large square tower, rising from arches at the intersection of the nave. The tower has a very beautiful lantern story, once open to the nave, but now shut out by a modern cieling. The arches and pillars that support the tower have a bold effect. The ante-chapel has sustained much injury, and the tracery of the windows has not hitherto been renewed. It is still, however, a very interesting specimen of the architecture of the 12th century. In the south transept is the tomb of the good Berta Rosata, a Nun, bearing this inscription, “ MORIBUS ORNATA, JACET
BONA BERTA Rosata.” Here also is another inscription, sup
posed to have been brought from a neighbouring House of Franciscans,* Hic JACET JOHANNES DE PYKENHAM, THEOLOGIÆ, PRIOR HUJUS LOCI, CUJUS ANIMÆ PROPITIETUR Deus.” In the north transept is a tablet, with a medallion to the memory of Tobias Rustat, Esq., Yeoman of the Robes to Charles II., who was
a very considerable benefactor to the College. Many of the Masters, and the celebrated traveller Dr. E. D. Clarke, lie buried in this edifice. The eastern arch of the tower is walled up, above the gallery and entrance of the choir, which is adorned with Ionic pillars. The cieling t of the Chapel is plain and flat;-on each side are three flat-arched windows of three mullions, but beyond these a very beautiful series of lancet windows, and on the south side in the chancel, elegant pillared niches in the walls, under them. The wainscot of the seats is plain, but the chancel has an air of great elegance and beauty, being finished by a large eastern window flat-arched, divided into two tiers of compartments, and filled with beautiful glass, displaying portraits and armorial bearings,—the gift of the late William Hustler, Esq., Fellow of this College, and University Registrar. Below this window is a small, but fine painting of “The Pre
* Probably where Sidney Sussex College now stands.
† There is an oak roof above the plaster cieling, but which is hid from view by the latter. See Storer's Views of Cambridge:- Interior of Jesus College Chapel.
sentation in the Temple,” by Jouvenet, a French Painter, presented in 1796, by Dr. Pearce, the late Master of the College.
The Hall is a noble room, 54 feet long, 27 broad, and 30 high. The ascent is by a flight of steps both from the north and from the south Courts. The screen is in the Corinthian order, but the general effect is highly satisfactory. The roof is beautifully and boldly composed of open and perforated woodwork, and every alternate arch rises out of a cock as its corbel-head, this being the rebus of the founder. The oriel window in the bay-recess on the north side is under a most delicate roof of fanwork, and is adorned like its opposite with cocks and armorial bearings. At the east end are three portraits: Tobias Rustat, Esq. a fine original portrait by Sir Peter Lely; Archbishop Sterne, who was a great assistant to Walton in the Polyglot, and Master of this College ; and on the side next the bay-recess, a copy of a portrait of Archbishop Cranmer, copied by Sir Joshua Reynolds, and presented by Lord Carysfort. Under Archbishop Sterne's portrait a door leads to the CombinationRoom. On the south side or the right hand as you enter it, is the portrait of Thomas Willoughby, admitted of this College, December 6th, 1745 :
fine one of the celebrated William Harvey, M.D.; and another of Frederic Keller, 1737, given by his widow in 1808. Beneath them, in mezzotinto,
also a very