« AnteriorContinuar »
are bishops Dampier and Horsley, and Dean Pearce, the late Master.
On the west side of the room is an old and curious portrait of Henry VIII.; on the east, a cast of Dr. E. D. Clarke. On the north, over the chimney-slab, is a female head, and two original portraits of great value, one of the excellent founder kneeling, and out of his mouth a label, "Omnia mea tua sunt,"- "all mine are thine;" and another of Archbishop Cranmer, which was given by Lord Middleton, and of which an engraving may be seen in Thoroton's History of Nottinghamshire.
The Library is a venerable room, and contains about 200 MSS.
The Master's Lodge is delightfully situated, having very ample gardens before it, and the picturesque boundary of the Chapel with its neat white tower, meeting it towards the east. It contains portraits of Archbishops Cranmer and Bancroft, on board. The gardens both of the Master and Fellows are the best stocked with fruit-trees in the University. One of these is consecrated to the memory of that regretted name so frequently recurring in our account of this College; for it was planted by the hand of Edward Daniel Clarke.
This interesting edifice is seen from the north and west through a semicircular row of trees, with meadows on each side.
The retired situation of this College was honoured by the commendation of the facetious and scholastic
James I., who said "that if he lived in the University, he would pray at King's, eat at Trinity, and study and sleep at Jesus."
Thomas Cranmer, Archbishop of Canterbury, 1533; burnt at
Oxford in 1556, for his adherence to the Protestant religion.*
John Bale, the famous Antiquary, Bishop of Ossory, 1552. John Flamsteed, F.R.S., the celebrated Astronomer, M.A.,
Elijah Fenton, the Poet,-died 1730.
David Hartley, Moral Philosopher, died 1757.
Lawrence Sterne,-died 1768.
Dr. John Jortin.
Gilbert Wakefield, the Critic, Fellow, 1776.
Francis Fawkes, Translator of "Anacreon," &c.,-died 1777. Samuel Hallifax, a learned Civilian, and Bishop of St. Asaph, 1789.
Rev. Robert Tyrwhitt, founder of the Hebrew Scholarships, -died 1817.
Dr. Edward Daniel Clarke, the celebrated Traveller, Professor of Mineralogy, 1808,-died 1822.
Coleridge, the Poet.
This Society consists of a Master, sixteen Fellows, and forty-six Scholars. The election to Fellowships is perfectly open. Eleven of the Scholarships
*He took his Degree of D.D. in 1526.
founded by Tobias Rustat, Esq., and worth between 50l. to 60l. per annum each, are for the orphans of clergymen of all counties, as are also two others of less value, founded by Dr. Gatford. Sixteen Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Bishop of Ely, who appoints the Master and one Fellow.
Was built on the site of an Hostel called God's House, which had originally been settled near Clare Hall, and endowed by William Bingham, Rector of St. John Zachary, London, in 1442; but was removed hither by Henry VI. to make room for the building of King's College. He placed therein a Master and four Fellows and Scholars,† and intended to augment the number, but was prevented from effecting his purpose by the ensuing civil wars. His maternal sister, Lady Margaret, Countess of Richmond and Derby, mother of Henry VII., obtained a license from her son to complete what her half-brother had projected; and in 1505, she changed its name to Christ's College, and endowed it liberally for a Master, twelve Fellows, and fortyseven Scholars. Edward VI. added another Fellowship; and two others have since been founded by Sir John Finch and Sir Thomas Baines.
The Porter's Lodge is on the left under the Gateway.
This College is situated in St. Andrew's Street, opposite the Church of the same name. The front
is of stone, and has a good tower-gateway at the entrance. The canopy over the principal niche in this front is exquisitely worked, after the manner of the beautiful turrets and pinnacles of Gloucester Cathedral. Through this gateway we are conducted to the principal Court, which is uniformly cased with stone, and sashed. It is about 140 feet long by 120 feet in breadth, containing the Chapel, Hall, Master's Lodge, and apartments for the students.
At the south-east corner, is the entrance to the second Court. On the right is a newly-erected range of building, with a gothic elevation, appropriated to students; and on the east an elegant edifice of stone, designed by Inigo Jones. It is 150 feet in length.
The Chapel is about 85 feet long, 27 broad, and 30 high, and is paved with marble. On the north side of the altar is a beautiful monument of white marble, by Joseph Catterns, erected to record the memory and friendship of Sir John Finch and Sir Thomas Baines, who were educated together at this College. Sir John died at Constantinople, whither he had been sent on an embassy. His body was brought to England, in 1682, and interred here by his friend, who survived but a short period, and was buried in the same vault. In the east window are some well-executed whole-length portraits on glass, of Henry VII. and other relations of Lady Margaret, the foundress, whose own likeness is also preserved
in this Chapel, by an ancient painting on board. On the east wall of the Chapel has been lately erected a simple tablet of white marble to the memory of Mede, Cudworth, and More, who for the retreat of a College, refused considerable preferments, and here led a life of christian contemplation, charity, and usefulness.
The Hall is a neat room, 45 feet long, 27 broad, and 30 high; containing a good portrait of the foundress, kneeling. In the Combination-room is another portrait of the foundress, a half-length, on board, and also a fine whole-length of Doctor Paley, and a portrait of Dr. John Kaye, Bishop of Lincoln, and late Master of this College.
The Library contains several ancient MSS., and many curious and valuable works, particularly a splendid copy of the Nuremberg Chronicle in Latin, printed in 1494.
The Gardens of this College are pleasant, and tastefully disposed, containing a good bowling-green, a neat summer-house, and a cold bath, surrounded by a little wilderness. In the garden is a large mulberry-tree which was planted by MILTON, when a student here. The trunk is much decayed, but the damaged parts have been covered with sheet lead.
Richard Bancroft, Archbishop of Canterbury.
John Leland, the celebrated Antiquary,-died 1552.