« AnteriorContinuar »
striking with the east. The north side presents an unfinished appearance.
This College suffered very severely during the civil wars, being pillaged of many valuable articles, particularly of a rich and extensive collection of silver coins and medals. The communion plate was also carried away, and the outer court converted into a prison for the Royalists.
The Chapel has been lately repaired and faced with stucco, in imitation of stone; a new roof has also been added. The interior is fitted up in a chaste and appropriate style, and is separated into two parts by the organ-gallery. It is 120 feet long, and 27 broad. In the ante-chapel, on the north side, are monuments to the memory of Archdeacon Ashton and Dr. Whitaker. The former is much mutilated : it represents this benefactor to the College, first in his robes, and underneath as a skeleton. The tomb is remarkable also for the rebus-An Ash upon a Tun. The excellent and celebrated Antiquarian, Thomas Baker, who was a Fellow on Archdeacon Ashton's foundation, also lies buried under a flat stone near him. There are also the monuments of the Rev. W. Wilson,* and Sir Isaac Pennington, M.D., late Fellows of the College, together with a beautiful bust, by Chantrey, of the Hon.
Author of a scarce and very valuable work, entitled “ Illustrations of the New Testament,”-proving the consent of the first three centuries in the worship of Christ.
Fox Townshend, who died while a student of this College.
The Chapel formerly had attached to it four Chantries. The only remaining one is Bishop Fisher's, north of the Communion-table, which still bears in the spandrils of the arches the arms of the see of Rochester. The three arches of this Chantry are beautifully moulded :-probably his tomb formerly had a place under one of them. The Stalls of the Chapel are grotesquely adorned, and appear very ancient. The Communion-plate is magnificent, as is also the cloth of gold used for the Communiontable on those days when the Holy Sacrament is administered. The east window is a very elegant design, and is filled with fragments of richly painted glass. The Altar is adorned with a painting of St. John preaching in the wilderness, by Sir Robert Ker Porter. The figure of the Saint is commanding and beautiful, and the deep attention pourtrayed in the looks of his hearers, is extremely well depicted. Choral service is performed here on Saturday and Sunday evenings, and on the mornings of those Sundays when the holy Eucharist is administered.
The Hall is a lofty and well-proportioned room, 60 feet by 30. The windows are of a light and elegant design ; the wainscotting of the upper end is rich in carved work and gilding, and over the Master and Fellows' table are three excellent portraits, of Lady Margaret, the foundress, in the habit of a nun,
Archbishop Williams, and Sir Ralph Hare, by M. Garrard. Over the Master's seat is a curious halflength of Bishop Fisher, and over the door leading into the Combination-room is a full-length of Dr. Thomas Morton, Bishop of Durham.
Over the Hall entrance, in the first Court, is placed, in a niche, the statute of the Foundress. The entrance itself is finished with a beautiful ogee arch, (foliated with prominent crockets and a finiale) having two slender turrets and pinnacles inserted into the wall and running up from the corbels of the arch. In the spaces between, which correspond
. to the spandrils, are the insignia of the Society, the rose and the portcullis.
The Library occupies the whole upper part of the north side of the third Court, and is about 150 feet long. Over the entrance is another portrait of the Foundress, and also one of Dr. Gower, Master; and at the west end, a fulllength portrait of Dr. Foster, of Norwich. The general effect of this room is imposing from its venerable appearance. It is of a noble height, and is lighted by ten lofty pointed windows, each divided by a single mullion and headed by simple tracery. The wood-work of the roof is light and handsome, and is divided into various plain compartments between flat arches, with pendants from their centres, corresponding to the number of the windows. The room terminates in a bold recess, lighted by three lofty pointed windows, and divided into two series of compartments.
The rich 'armorial bearings of Archbishop Williams decorate the roof. This Library possesses a very valuable collection of Bibles, Psalters, the Fathers, works upon the Reformation, and early Classics, and some of the rarest specimens of printing before the year 1500 to be found at home or abroad. Among them is-Augustinus De Arcona de potestate Ecclesiasticâ, Cologne, 1475; a beautiful copy of Peter Lombards Sentences, by Vin. de Spira, Venice, 1477 ; Summa Destructorium Viciorum, 1485; Repertorium Joh: Milis in Jure Canonico, Louvain, 1475; Jacobi Magni Sophologium, Paris, 1475; Justin, Milan, 1476; Plinius, Parma, 1476; Theophylactus in Sancti Pauli Epistolas, 1477; Caxton's Dicts and Sayings of Philosophers, 1477 ; Terentius, Venice, 1479; Gregorii Magni Opus Moralium, Venice, 1480; Higden's Polychronicon, 1482. These, and
very valuable books, in all 1068, were left to the College by the learned Thomas Baker, formerly Fellow. Dr. Gisborne, F.R.S. left a valuable collection of books of general literature, particularly French; as also did Matthew Prior, the Poet, a very choice collection of Historical and Topographical works. Here are also the complete libraries of those celebrated prelates, Archbishop Williams and Bishop Gunning. Bishop Morton gave 400l. towards the library ; Dr. Thomas Thurlin, formerly Fellow, 3007.; and 10001. to the College. Dr. Gower, Master, and Lady Margaret's Professor of Divinity, Dr. Newcome, Master, and
Dean of Rochester, Fra. Dee, Bishop of Peterborough, Robert Grove, University Registrar, Dr. H. Paman, Public Orator, and various other benefactors have augmented this noble Library. Archbishop Williams, when Bishop of Lincoln, and Sir Ralph Hare contributed greatly to its building. The College expended upon it nearly 800l. and Archbishop Williams 20001., in 1623 and 1624. In this library are kept, amongst other curiosities, two half balls of lead taken from the scull of a body in Newport Pagnell Church, A.D. 1619.
The Master's Lodge is extensive and commodious; and contains a numerous assemblage of portraits and a few other pieces. The following may be considered as the principal :-John Fisher, Bishop of Rochester, half-length, by Hans Holbein. The Bishop is represented in a gown and furs, in one hand is a staff, in the other a glove: a ring on his finger is marked H.H.— Margareta Mater Henrici VII. a small three-quarter length, on board; which, together with another of this distinguished lady, preserved here, is extremely curious. Both pieces represent her kneeling, with her hands clasped, and a book before her; one of these appears to be an original, the other is supposed to be by Holbein. Robert Shorton, the second Master, represented in a fur cloak. Queen Elizabeth, on board. Cecil, Lord Burleigh, half-length, on board. Mary, Queen of Scots, Æt. 20, dated 1561, half-length, on board. Henry Wriothesley, Earl of Southampton, dressed in