« AnteriorContinuar »
armour, with a rich shawl, finely worked. Mary, Countess of Shrewsbury: this portrait is more curious from its singularity, than its goodness of execution ; she is represented in a vast fardingale, with a high ruff, and her dress ornamented with an abundance of jewels. Peter Gunning, Bishop of Ely, delineated with a pleasing and venerable countenance. The Massacre of the Innocents, apparently copied from Rubens : this is a very long picture, the drawing is correct and spirited, and the composition displays much judgment. John Lake, Bishop of Chichester. Lawrence Fogg, Dean of Chester, half-length, very spirited. Lucius Cary, Lord Viscount Falkland, half-length. Thomas, Earl of Strafford, in armour, from the original, by Vandyke. Richard Neile, Bishop of Durham, small, on board. Edward Stillingfleet, Bishop of Worcester, three-quarter length, by Mrs. Beale. Matthew Prior, the poet and statesman, dressed in his ambassador's robes, richly decorated. A small Kitchen Scene, with the story of Martha and Mary in the distance: this is a highly-finished picture, with rich and appropriate colouring. Robert Heath, Lord Chief Justice of the Common Pleas; very expressive, and finely coloured. Thomas Baker, the celebrated antiquarian, represented in his gown and band, with a thin, studious face. William Platt, Esq. a small piece, of considerable merit, on board.
Most of these pictures, with many others of inferior merit, are disposed in a noble and spacious gallery, extending the whole length of the north side of the second court. In an apartment of the Lodge, a curious set of chairs, said to have been presented to the Society by Charles II. is preserved; one of them is a large elbow chair, ornamented with beautiful carvings of cherubs, lions' heads, and other fanciful embellishments.
The walks and gardens of this College are particularly beautiful. The walks consist of a fine vista, and several pleasant retired paths, encompassing the meadows, and are planted with a number of fine trees; amongst which are some stately elms, ranking among the largest and tallest in the kingdom. Beyond these, at the extremity of the vista leading from the College, is the Fellows' garden ; a large piece of ground, laid out in a tasteful and agreeable style, and containing a bowling-green.
Sir John Cheke, Professor of Greek, 1541, and an eminent
Statesman. He was a native of Cambridge. Edwin Sandys, Archbishop of York, 1576. Roger Ascham, Preceptor to Queen Elizabeth. James Pilkington, Bishop of Durham, 1560. Robert Horne, Bishop of Winchester, 1560. William Cecil, Lord Burleigh, Earl of Exeter, Prime Minis
ter to Queen Elizabeth, and Chancellor of the University. Thomas Sackville, Lord Buckhurst, and Earl of Dorset,
died 1608. Robert Cecil, Earl of Salisbury, Lord High Treasurer to
Thomas Sutton, founder of the Charterhouse,-died 1611.
College, 1700. Dr. Martin Lister, the eminent Naturalist and Physician,
died 1712. William Beveridge, Bishop of St. Asaph, 1704. Dr. William Cave, the Ecclesiastical Historian,-died 1713. Matthew Prior, Poet and Statesman,--died 1721. Thomas Baker, the learned Antiquary,—died 1740. He left
behind him 39 volumes of curious MSS., chiefly relating
to the University.
This Society consists of a Master, sixty Fellows, and one hundred and seven Scholars. One Fellowship is in the appointment of the Bishop of Ely; the major part of the rest are perfectly open and unrestricted. Forty-six Benefices and six Grammar Schools are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Bishop of Ely.
MAGDALENE COLLEGE *
Occupies a portion of the site of an ancient Benedictine priory, established about 1300. Some part of the buildings in which they resided is still supposed to remain, in the southern angle of the College. In the reign of Henry VIII. the monks disposed of their possessions to Edward Stafford, Duke of Buckingham, who erected part of the present fabric, in 1519, and intended to endow it, and name it from his own title ; but being soon afterwards condemned to the scaffold, by the artifices of Cardinal Wolsey, his designs were frustrated, and his possessions fell to the Crown. In 1542, Thomas, Baron Audley of Walden, K.G., Chancellor of England, obtained a grant of it from the King, and a charter of incorporation, wherein it was named St. Mary Magdalene College.
At the same time he endowed it for a Master and eight Fellows. The endowment was, however, found to be sufficient for only four Fellows, and to that number they were soon after re
* The Porter's Lodge is under the entrance on the left.
duced. But the Fellowships have been since increased to seventeen, and several Scholarships have been added. The Mastership is in the gift of the possessor of Audley End.
This is the only entire College on the north side of the river, being situated in that part of the town called Castle Street. It consists of two Courts : the first, next the street, which is the largest, is 110 feet long, and 78 broad; it is very neatly stuccoed and sashed, and contains the Hall and Chapel, besides other apartments; and from the walls having been lately surmounted by an open parapet, the whole presents an air of great neatness and elegance. The second Court is entered through a gate that has this inscription : “ Garde ta Foi.” Here is a handsome building of stone, containing the Bibliotheca Pepysiana and the Fellows' apartments, with a piazza in front.
The Chapel is about 50 feet long and 18 broad; it is fitted up in an exceedingly neat and pleasing manner, and has a curious altar-piece of plaster-ofparis, representing the two Marys at the Sepulchre after the Resurrection, in alto-relievo, by the ingenious Mr. Collins.
The Hall is a handsome room, 45 feet long, 18 broad, and 21 high ; it is neatly wainscotted and ornamented, with a music-gallery at the south end, leading to the Combination-room. The Hall contains tolerably good paintings, by Freeman, of Lord Audley ; Edward Stafford, Duke of Buckingham;