Imágenes de páginas

Lord Chief Justice Sir Christopher Wray, Knt. ; and Edward Rainbow, Bishop of Carlisle ; from originals : another, of Bishop Cumberland, by Romney ; a whole-length of Henry Howard, Earl of Suffolk, by Gibson ; Samuel Pepys, Esq., by Sir P. Lely; Dean Peckard; and one of Professor Farish.

The Master's Lodge, a lofty edifice of brick and stone, standing in the gardens north of the College, and completed in 1837, contains several good portraits, and amongst them are those of Nicholas Ferrar, said to be by C. Jansen ; Samuel Pepys, Esq., by Sir G. Kneller ; and the original portrait of the Duke of Buckingham, by Houbraken. This last was given to the College, by Dr. B. Willis.

This College has two Libraries, the principal of which was given by Samuel Pepys, Esq. who received his education within these walls. He was Secretary to the Admiralty in the reigns of Charles II. and James II., and dying in 1703, left the whole of his collection of books, MSS. and prints to the College, together with money to construct an edifice to receive them. Many of the books are exceedingly rare and valuable, comprising a rich selection of black letter, and splendid copies of the works of Caxton, and the principal early printers. The MSS. are also extremely valuable, particularly those on maritime affairs, which were collected and written, to a great extent, by Mr. Pepys, in order to form a Naval History of Great Britain. He was prevented by ill health from carrying this design into execution, which is to be regretted, as he was admirably qualified for the task, and has been justly considered as the founder of the present navy, which owes much of its celebrity to the plans he laid down for its regulation.

Amongst the most curious of the MSS. must be ranked the original Diary of Mr. Pepys, comprised in six volumes, closely written in short-hand, and containing, in upwards of 3,000 pages, a daily account of every remarkable public and private transaction, from 1659 to 1669; which, to use the words of Sir Walter Scott, (Quart. Rev. March 1826,) “is rich in every species of information concerning the author's century."*

Here are likewise several volumes of scarce and curious prints; among which are the twelve Cæsars and their wives, from Titian, engraved by Sadleir; these are in very fine preservation. A large folio volume, in this collection, contains a series of fragments, selected as specimens of various hand-writings from about the year 900. In some of them the writing is so exceedingly minute, that it appears like a fine hair lying across the paper, and cannot be read without a magnifier; though with the aid of the

* The whole of this interesting Journal has been deciphered by the Rev. John Smith, A.B. of St. John's College, and copious extracts from it have been published in 2 vols. royal 4to. under the title of “Memoirs of Samuel Pepys, Esq. F.R.S., &c. by Richard Lord Braybrooke."

glass the letters are as distinct and legible as fine printing In the same book are some manuscript imitations of printing, so completely deceptive as to require considerable attention to discover the difference.

In a small octavo volume are facsimiles of the signatures of many eminent personages whose letters are among the papers of Mr. Pepys; and another volume of the same size contains the original narrative of the escape of Charles II. after the fatal battle of Worcester, taken in short-hand by Mr. Pepys from the King's own words.

Besides these curiosities, there are two collections of old poetry: one of English ballads, amounting to 2000, in five volumes folio, from the earliest period of our history to the year 1700; and the other of ancient Scottish poems in two volumes. To this collection, which is perfectly unique, both Bishop Percy and Mr. Pinkerton have been deeply indebted for the chief materials of their interesting works on these subjects.

In the front of this famous Library are the family arms, beneath which is the following inscription :


The Old Library is situate in the north-east angle of the first Court, and is well stored with valuable books.



Edward Rainbow, Master, Bishop of Carlisle, 1664.
Richard Cumberland, Bishop of Peterborough, 1691.
Samuel Pepys, Esq.
Dr. Daniel Waterland, the learned Divine, Master, 1713.
Edward Waring, the great Mathematician :-Lucasian Pro-

fessor, 1760.
Dr. Bell, founder of the Bell Scholarships.

This Society consists of a Master, four Foundation and thirteen Bye Fellows, and forty-three Scholars. Seven Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Possessor of Audley End.


This noble and magnificent establishment occupies the site of several Hostels,t as well as of the three ancient Societies, St. Michael's Housė, King's Hall, and Phiswick's Hostel. The first of these was founded in 1324, by Harvey Aungier, of Stanton, in Suffolk, who was successively Chief Baron of the Exchequer, Chief Justice of the Common Pleas, and Chief Justice of the King's Bench. King's Hall |

• The Porter's Lodge is under the grand Gateway on the right.

+ These were called Gregory's, Oving's, Margaret's, Catharine's, Gerard's, and Tyler's.

I This Hall was of the greatest repute in the University, and pre-eminent as a building ; for when King Richard II.

was endowed for a Master and thirty-two Fellows, by Edward III., in 1334 ; and Phiswick's Hostel was founded by William Phiswick, Esquire Bedel of the University, in 1393. The dissolution of religious houses in the reign of Henry VIII. occasioned great confusion at Cambridge; and the students, fearing the general decay of learning, represented their fears to the King, who informed them, that so far from seeking the destruction of Colleges, it was his intention to erect a magnificent one; and, as a preparatory measure, he required the surrender of the above establishments. To the revenues of these houses, Henry VIII. made great additions, and founded the present spacious College, by charter, dated December 19th, 1546, and dedicated it to the Holy and Undivided Trinity. The endowments made by Henry, were considerably augmented by his daughter Mary; and the persons now maintained on the establishment are upwards of four hundred. The Mastership is in the appointment of the Crown.

Trinity College is situated between Trinity-street and the river, having St. John's on the north, and Trinity Hall and Caius on the south ; its buildings enclose three spacious quadrangular courts. The first Court, which is the largest, measures 334 feet by 325 west and east, and 287 by 256 north and south. It is entered from the street by a stately

(who was a benefactor) held his court at Cambridge, in 1381, it lodged all his retinue ;-and in the third year of his reign, he gave the Society a body of statutes.

« AnteriorContinuar »