« AnteriorContinuar »
turretted Gateway, which is ornamented with a statue of Henry VIII., the Royal Arms, and six armorial bearings of other members of the Royal Family. It had formerly an observatory on the summit, erected for the studies of the immortal Newton; but this was removed in the year 1797. On the north side of this court stands the Chapel, and a lofty tower with a clock in front, under which is a statue of Edward III. with the inscription, Pugna pro Patria. On the west is the Master's Lodge, the Hall, and Combination-rooms; the remainder of the court is occupied by the apartments of the Fellows and Students. On the south is a gateway, with four lofty towers at the corners, adorned with a statue of Queen Elizabeth in her robes. In the south-west corner of this court is the entrance to a small pile of building, called Bishop's Hostel, and also to King's Court. In the middle of this spacious quadrangle stands an elegant octagonal stone Conduit. The coup-ď æil of this court is remarkably fine.
Passing through the Screens, or the passage which separates the kitchen, buttery, and other offices from the Hall, we arrive at the second or inner Court, built in 1609, principally from the benefaction of Dr. Thomas Nevile, Master of the College, and Dean of Canterbury, and from him called Nevile's Court. This court is more elegant, but less spacious than the former, its measurement being 228 feet by 223 south and north, and 148 feet by 132 west and east. Since that time, a magnificent Library has been erected at the west end; and the south and north sides, which contain the Fellows' and Students' apartments, have been almost wholly rebuilt in an uniform style, upon spacious piazzas ; the east side is formed by the Hall, in the front of which is a terrace, with a handsome balustrade and flight of steps.
Passing through Nevile's Court on the south, we come to the King's Court, so called in honour of his Majesty George the Fourth, who contributed the sum of one thousand pounds towards its erection. This spacious quadrangle, intended for the better accommodation of the numerous students who resort to this celebrated College, was begun in 1823, the foundation-stone being laid on the 12th of August, by the Right Hon. Charles Manners Sutton, D.C.L., Speaker of the House of Commons, as the Representative of his Majesty. The handsome Gothic front, with its tower Gateway, faces the College walks, on a line with the Library; and the whole structure, exhibiting much beauty and variety design, displays to considerable advantage the taste and ability of the architect, Wm. Wilkins, Esq. M.A. The Court measures 162 feet in length, 150 in breadth, and contains 112 suites of apartments, part of which overlook the Cam, and the delightful pleasure grounds beyond it. The erection of the whole cost upwards of 40,0001., and was completed in three years. It is entered from Trinity Lane by
a lofty tower Gateway, and by avenues from the other courts.
The Chapel, erected by the sister Queens, Mary and Elizabeth, is a noble edifice, in the Tudor Gothic style. The interior is 204 feet in length, 33 feet 8 inches wide, and about 44 feet high; and displays very great simplicity of design. The antechapel is separated from the Choir by the organgallery, of Norway oak, supported by fluted columns of the Doric order; on which stands a noble and remarkably fine-toned organ.
In the Ante-chapel is a most admirable piece of statuary, erected at the expence of Dr. Robert Smith, late Master of the College, and executed by Roubiliac. This is the figure of the great Newton in white marble. The philosopher is represented standing on a pedestal, in a Master of Arts' gown, with a prism in his hands. On the pedestal is this inscription, “QUI GENUS HUMANUM INGENIO SUPERAVIT,” importing, that in intellectual endowments he was superior to the whole human race.
At the west end, behind the statue of Newton, is a very large and handsome tablet, to perpetuate the memory of the celebrated mathematician, Roger Cotes, who was a Fellow of this College, and Plumian Professor. He died in 1716, in the 34th year of his age. The inscription is from the pen of the learned Dr. Bentley.
On the right side of the above is a finely-executed
bust of Daniel Lock, M.A., by Roubiliac; and on the left, one of Dr. Hooper, by Rysbrack.
An elegant Tablet, and beautifully executed Bust, by Baily, has lately been erected on the west end of the Chapel, to the memory of the late Greek Professor, the Rev. Peter Paul Dobree. Here are also the monumental tablets and busts of Professor Porson, and the Rev. Thomas Jones, formerly a Tutor of this College; and two remarkably elegant specimens of sculpture, one by Flaxman, in memory of Isaac Hawkins Browne; the other of the Honorable Charles James Fox Maitland, youngest son to the Earl of Lauderdale.
The Choir is furnished on each side with stalls for the Fellows, and seats, below them, for the Scholars; on each side the entrance are the seats of the Master and Vice-Master; the stalls are beautifully carved, and ornamented with fluted Corinthian pilasters. The carved work of the stalls, and the coats of arms which surmount them, are the work of the celebrated Gibbons. The altar-piece is embellished with a fine painting of St. Michael binding Satan, by West; this is placed under a magnificent roof of Norway oak, supported by Corinthian pillars ; the pediment is richly carved, with flaming urns on the summit; and decorated with wreaths and flowers finely sculptured. On each side the altar are two antique and curious pieces of painting: one representing the figures of our Saviour and St. John the Baptist, and the other the Virgin Mary and the
mother of St. John; these are placed in niches, painted in perspective. The roof is of timber, divided by rafters into square compartments ; the main beams are very handsomely wrought with wreathed foliage. The floor is of black and white marble. Choral service is performed here on the mornings and evenings of Sundays and Saints' days, on the Eves of Saints' days, and every Saturday evening.
The Hall has a very spacious oriel on each side, and is upwards of 100 feet long, 40 broad, and about 50 high. It is ascended by a large flight of steps; and within is handsomely fitted up with carved wainscotting, and is surmounted by a lofty lantern. The roof is of open-worked timber in the debased Tudor style. Over the screens is a richly carved music-gallery. This stately room is decorated with several whole-length portraits of persons who have been connected with the College. In the centre at the north end is an original painting, by Valentine Ritts, of Sir Isaac Newton, who is portrayed in a loose gown, with one hand in his bosom, and the other on a book, which is lying before him upon a table, with the following inscription :
Nature and Nature's laws lay hid in Night,
The following portraits also well deserve attention :-Dr. Isaac Barrow; Bishop Pearson; Bishop Wilkinson ; Lord Chief Justice Coke; Dr. Robert