« AnteriorContinuar »
12. John Locke
In a niche, at the south end, is a fine statue of Charles Seymour, Duke of Somerset, Chancellor of the University for 60 years, executed in the Roman style by Rysbrack, 1754.
Some exquisite carvings, in lime wood, by Gibbons, contribute also to the embellishment of this admirable
Among the portraits in the Library, whose merit entitles them to notice, are whole-lengths, by Valentine Ritts, of Dr. Isaac Barrow; Dr. Nevile; Sir Henry Puckering; and Monk, Duke of Albemarle, in his robes, as Knight of the Garter ;-John Still, D.D. Master of this College, and Bishop of Bath and Wells; Roger Gale; Thomas Gale, Dean of York; Charles Montague, Earl of Halifax, by Sir Godfrey Kneller, and Dr. Hacket, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry. Here is also a very fine head-size copy of Shakspeare, by Mark Garrard. The Books are both valuable and numerous; the collection having been frequently augmented by the gifts of different benefactors, and particularly by the recent bequests of 1000 volumes made by the Rev. P. P. Dobree, the late Regius Professor of Greek in this
* Of whom Sir Isaac Newton said, “ If he had lived, we might have known something."
University, and by another made by the late Rev. Daniel Pettiward, Rector of Great Finborough, Suffolk. Many curious and valuable manuscripts are also deposited here, including the Arabic collection of Dr. Gale, and others of various descriptions. A thin folio, enriched with a variety of pieces in the hand-writing of Milton, is particularly worthy of notice. They consist of the original of the Masque of Comus; two draughts of a letter to a friend who had importuned him to enter into Holy Orders; several plans of Paradise Lost, composed at the period when he intended to have made that subject the ground-work of a tragedy; sketches of several other tragedies from Scripture, and English and Scottish history; the poems of Lycidas and Arcades, and several smaller pieces, all written with the poet's own hand.
A great number of very interesting and valuable curiosities are preserved in this Library; of which the following are enumerated as the principal. In the physical class, at the south end, is a curious antique statue of Æsculapius, found at Samce, near the river called Speculum Dianæ, about fourteen miles from Rome, and given to the Society by Sir Charles Wintringham, Bart. M.D. Here are also the globe, universal ring dial, quadrant, and compass, which formerly belonged to Sir Isaac Newton, and a lock of his hair; a quiver of arrows, employed by Richard III. against Henry VII. at the battle of Bosworth Field; a Chinese Pagod; a beautiful
skeleton of a man in miniature, cut by a shepherd's boy; the largest lizard ever seen in England, with many other curious animals, in spirits; a Calculus * taken from the intestines of a locksmith's wife at Bury St. Edmund's; it originally weighed 33 ounces, 3 dwts., but was broken in two to gratify the curiosity of Charles II. when at Newmarket; an Egyptian mummy, in very fine preservation, the outside being curiously gilt and painted ; an ibis; and the dried body of one of the aboriginal inhabitants of the Madeira islands, in appearance like dried seal-skin.t These, with the ibis, the mummy, and other curiosities brought from the South-Sea Islands, by Captain Cook, were presented to the College by the late Earl of Sandwich.
There is also preserved here, a Babylonian Brick, presented by General Sir John Malcolm, and mounted on a marble pedestal, and inclosed in a revolving glass case; a copy of Magna Charta ; an Indulgence granted by Pope Clement XII. to one Nathan Hickman, an Englishman, for himself, all his kindred for two generations, and twenty-five other persons; plans of the Pantheon and St. Peter's at Rome, St. Sophia at Constantinople, the Cathedral at Florence,
* This singular curiosity is described by the celebrated Dr. Heberden in the Philosophiical Transactions, vol. xlvi.
| See the Annual Register for 1773, page 66. | Engraved and described in " Hansard's Typographia,"
and St. Paul's at London; these are all represented on one small plate, and shew the comparative sizes of these celebrated edifices. We take our leave of this grand repository with observing, that it displays throughout such taste, elegance, and chasteness of decoration, as entitle it to rank with the first galleries in Europe. The library at Dublin is said to exceed it as to its exterior; but within it is divided into two rooms, which considerably diminishes the beauty of the effect.
The Master's Lodge is an extensive building. The sovereign resides here whenever he visits Cambridge. The Judges also take up their residence here, when on their circuit. The apartments in this building were fitted up a few years ago in a superb style, under the direction of Dr. Mansel, Bishop of Bristol, the late Master. They contain a numerous collection of portraits ; of which the following may be considered as the most eminent: Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex, half-length, by Mark Garrard; Queen Elizabeth, in a ruff, immense sleeves, and a flowered petticoat, the whole dress richly ornamented with lace; Edward III, a curious old painting ; Sir Walter Raleigh, a small head; Robert Cecil, Earl of Salisbury; Henry VIII, a large picture, by Lucas de Heere; the figure of the King is between nine and ten feet high, and the limbs proportionably gigantic; it is highly finished and in good preservation; Edward VI. on board, well executed; Thomas Nevile, Dean of Canterbury,
half-length; Scaliger, by Paul Veronese, given to the College by Dr. Bentley; Queen Mary, on board ; Sir Isaac Newton, half-length, by Vanderbank ; Stephen' Whisson, the University Librarian, by Vander Myn; Dr. Mansel, Bishop of Bristol, the late Master; and Prince William, Duke of Gloucester, by Romney. Here is also a bust of Galileo, by Carcini ; and in the centre of the hall is a beautiful statue of Edward VI. in plaster-of-paris ; both presented to the Society by Dr. Robert Smith, while Master of the College.
From the piazza of the Library, or through the western gateway of King's Court, we enter the beautiful and justly admired walks of the College, which are about one-third of a mile in circumference. At the front of the Library runs the Cam, over which is an elegant cycloidal stone bridge of three arches, designed and executed by the late Mr. James Essex, F.S.A. This leads to the walks, which are skirted with chesnut and lime trees, surrounding meadows.
Robert Devereux, Earl of Essex, the great favourite of Queen
Elizabeth, beheaded 1601.