« AnteriorContinuar »
Sir Robert Bruce Cotton, the celebrated Antiquary and
Collector of MSS,-died 1631. George Herbert, Author of “The Temple," and "Priest to
the Temple,"-died 1632. Dr. Philemon Holland, Translator of Livy, Camden's Britan
nia, &c.,-died 1636. Sir Henry Spelman, Author of “ The Archæological Glos
sary, &c.,-died 1641. John Hacket, Bishop of Lichfield and Coventry, 1661. Abraham Cowley, the Poet,- died 1667. Richard Sterne, Archbishop of York, 1664. Francis Willughby, the celebrated Naturalist; friend and
companion of Ray,-died 1672. Dr. Isaac Barrow, the profoundly learned Divine; Master
1673. Andrew Marvell, the Poet and Statesman,-died 1678. Nathaniel Lee, the Dramatist, -died 1692. John Dryden, the Poet -died 1700. Dr. Thomas Gale, Dean of York, the eminent Antiquary,–
died 1702. John Ray, the distinguished Naturalist,—died 1705. Robert Nelson, the pious and learned Author of "The Festi
vals and Fasts,” &c.,—died 1715. Roger Cotes, the eminent Mathematician, and friend of
Newton,-died 1716.. SIR ISAAC NEWTON, born Dec. 25, 1642,-died March 20,
1727. Roger Gale, the learned Antiquary, and son of the celebrated
Dr. Thomas Gale,-died 1744. ! Dr. Conyers Middleton, Author of the “Life of Ciecro," &c.
-died 1750. Zachary Pearce, Bishop of Rochester, 1756.
John Hinchliffe, Master; Bishop of Peterborough, 1769.
and was buried at Athens, 1799. Peter Paul Dobree, Greek Professor, 1823. George Gordon Byron, Lord Byron, the celebrated Poet,
died at Missolonghi in Greece, April 19th, 1824. This Royal Foundation consists of a Master; sixty Fellows, four Conducts or Chaplains, a Librarian, and sixty-nine Scholars. The Fellowships are perfectly open.
Fifty-nine Benefices,* and three Grammar Schools, are in the patronage of the College.t Visitor, the Queen.
Was erected on the site of a Dominican Friary, founded about the year 1280, by some private persons, and afterwards augmented by the Lady Alice, wife of Robert de Vere, fifth Earl of Oxford. On the dissolution of monasteries it was granted to Edward Ebrington, and Humphrey Metcalfe; of whose heirs it was purchased by Sir Walter Mildmay. This gentleman was Chancellor of the Exchequer,
* And to a sixtieth the College has the third turn of presentation.
+ To the Mastership of Westminster School, the Dean of Christ's Church and the Master of this College present alternately.
The Porter's Lodge is in the old stone Court.
and Privy Counsellor to Queen Elizabeth ; of whom he obtained a charter of incorporation for this College, in the year 1584, and endowed it for the maintenance of a Master, three Fellows, and four Scholars. Since that period the revenues have been considerably enlarged by various donations.
This College is pleasantly situated at the southeast entrance of the town. A great part of it suffered much by a destructive fire in 1812, but was soon after re-built. The front next the street is of considerable extent, consisting of a body and two wings, elegantly built with stone, with a pediment in the centre, supported by four columns of the Ionic order, under which we pass, through a piazza, into the principal Court; which is 128 feet long, by 107 broad, and consists of the Cloisters and Gallery, the Hall, the Combination-room, the Master's Lodge, and a modern and uniform structure of stone, ornamented with a balustrade and parapet,* the Chapel and the Cloisters forming the east side of the quadrangle. That part of the original building which was on the north-west, was re-built about the year 1829, and with an additional
* There is a small red lion rampant on the pediment on the western front, holding a Chaplet, - the crest of the founder. This occasioned two Greek lines from the learned Joshua Barnes,-thus rendered by Dyer,
Thy emblems fair, and lion bold,
Well pleased, Emmanuel's House I see;-
What mighty things thy men must be!
new building on the north, completes a small square, the south side of which is formed by the Hall, and the east, by the Library. These later buildings are in the Tudor style of Architecture.
The Chapel, which is entered from the eastern piazza of the court, was built from the designs of Sir Christopher Wren, and was finished in 1677. It is a handsome stone building, 84 feet long, 30 broad, and 27 high ; the interior is extremely elegant, and is floored with marble; the cieling is ornamented with stucco ; and it is wainscotted with oak. The altar-piece is adorned with a painting of the Prodigal Son, by Amiconi, and at the west end is a handsome gallery, containing a neat organ.
The Hall, which stands on the site of the Chapel of the Black Friars, is a very fine room.
It is furnished with a music gallery, and has a handsomely stuccoed cieling, with two lofty oriel windows, opposite each other, at the upper end. Here is a good painting of Sir Wolstan Dixie, Knt. (the founder of two Bye-fellowships and two Scholarships), and another of Sir Walter Mildmay, the founder. The Combination-room, which joins the Hall, is handsomely fitted up; and contains a good portrait of Mr. Hubbard, late Fellow of the College, and Registrar of the University.
The Library, which was the old College chapel, is situated in a small back court. It contains several valuable MSS. and a large collection of choice books, chiefly Classics and Divinity. There are also
many which are scarce and valuable, particularly a copy of Tully's Offices, printed by Faust, in 1465: it formerly belonged to Prince Arthur, brother of Henry VIII. and has his arms portrayed in the title-page. It is extremely curious, and is in fine preservation.
The Master's Lodge is commodious, and has an extensive picture-gallery; which, with the other apartments, contains several portraits. The following appear to be the most curious :—Sir Walter Mildmay, the founder, with these words on it, “By Vansomer, ætat. suæ 66, anno Dom. 1558, Virtute non Vi.” Sir Anthony Mildmay, Knt.,--the dress is very singular; a full-length of Thomas Holbeach, D.D. in a surplice and hood, with his arms; Sir Francis Walsingham; Archbishop Sancroft, sitting at a writing-table, with his arms and motto, Rapido contrarius Orbi, by P. P. Lens ; Mr. Francis Ashe, a benefactor, half-length, by Dobson ; Rodolph Symonds, half-length, a curious painting; John Fane, Earl of Westmoreland, by Romney; the celebrated Dr. Richard Farmer, formerly Master, by Romney; the late Dr. Parr, a copy, but well executed; Charles Jackson, Bishop of Kildare, by Gainsborough ; Sir William Temple, said to be by Sir Peter Lely; and Mr. Hubbard, by Gainsborough.
The Gardens are pleasant and extensive, containing a neat bowling-green and a cold bath. In the Fellows' garden is a beautiful cedar of Lebanon.