« AnteriorContinuar »
William Bedell, Bishop of Kilmore, 1629.
Joseph Hall, one of King James' Commissioners at the Synod of Dort, Bishop of Norwich, 1641.
William Sancroft, Master; Archbishop of Canterbury, 1677. Matthew Poole, Author of the famous "Synopsis Criticorum," -died 1679.
Dr. Edmund Castell, the learned Orientalist, died 1685. Dr. Ralph Cudworth, Author of "The Intellectual System," -died 1688.
Richard Kidder, Bishop of Bath and Wells, 1691.
Joshua Barnes, the learned Greek Professor, 1695.
Sir William Temple, the celebrated Statesman,-died 1700. Anthony Blackwall, Author of "The Sacred Classics Defended," &c.,-died 1730.
Thomas Martyn, Professor of Botany, 1761.
Dr. Richard Farmer, an able Commentator on Shakspeare, Master, 1775.
Richard Hurd, Bishop of Worcester, 1781.
Thomas Percy, Bishop of Dromore, 1782.
Henry Homer, Editor of several of the Classics,-died 1791.
This Society consists of a Master, fifteen Fellows, and about fifty Scholars, besides several ExhibitionSeventeen Benefices, and three Grammar Schools are in the patronage of the College. Visitors are, in some cases, the Vice-Chancellor and two senior Doctors in Divinity; in others, the Master of Christ's College, and the two senior Doctors.
SIDNEY SUSSEX COLLEGE*
Was built on the site of a monastery of Franciscans, or Grey Friars; on the suppression of which, it was granted by Henry VIII. to the Master and Fellows of Trinity College, of whom it was purchased by the executors of Frances Sidney, Countess of Sussex, and widow of Thomas Radcliffe, Earl of Sussex. This lady, by will, dated December 6th, 1588, bequeathed 5,000l., and some other property, to found a College for a Master, ten Fellows, and twenty Scholars; but the bequest being insufficient to defray the cost of the buildings, and to support so great an establishment, the Fellows were reduced by her executors to seven; but have since been increased by additional endowments to more than the number originally intended. The first stone of this College was laid on the 20th of May, 1596, and the building completed in three years.
This College is situated on the east side of Sidneystreet, at the corner of Jesus-lane; its buildings enclose two small courts: both have recently undergone great alteration, under the direction of Sir Jeffrey Wyatville, in the gothic style. The north Court is embattled and gabled; the windows on the east side are transomed, without tracery, and the central portion projects beyond the rest with an
The Porter's Lodge is in the first Court, under the archway on the left.
arcade. The second or south Court is gabled and embattled on the north and south sides; the west, on which stand the library and chapel, is graced with pinnacles, an enriched porch, and a bell-turret, or rather bell-gable, in the hermitage or monastic manner observable at Skelton Church near York, and at some few village churches in Rutlandshire.
The Chapel (originally the friars' dormitory) has been elegantly re-built, and is 57 feet long, and 24 broad. This building, though small, is particularly neat, and reflects great credit on the taste and judgment of Dr. Elliston, one of the late masters, under whose direction it was erected, and who was his own architect. The altar-piece is sometimes called the Nativity; but is evidently a Repose during the Flight into Egypt: it was executed by Pittoni, a Venetian, and represents the Virgin with the infant Saviour in her arms reclining on some loose straw; on the right is Joseph sleeping; in the clouds, in the upper part, are several cherubs, one of whom bears a fillet, on which an inscription, explanatory of the subject, is supposed to have been written; but this was obliterated by the damage the painting sustained through the ship in which it was brought from Venice being leaky. Both the composition and the colouring are extremely fine. At the opposite end of the Chapel is a gallery for the Master's family.
The Hall is a very elegant room, with a musicgallery, supported by pillars, forming a vestibule at the entrance, and with a handsome bow-window at
the upper end. The cieling and walls are beautifully ornamented with fret-work. Its dimensions are 60 feet in length, 27 broad, and of proportionable height.
The Library, which is conveniently contrived as a study to the Master's Lodge, is neatly fitted up, with a well-chosen collection of books. It contains several curiosities; among which is part of an incrustation of a child's skull, found in the isle of Crete, about ten feet beneath the soil, and brought to England in the year 1627. The teeth are white and sound, and remain unchanged; but the other parts resemble a hard sand-stone. It was sent up to the celebrated Dr. Harvey, for the inspection of King Charles I. by his Majesty's desire, and was then whole; but it has been since broken, and some parts have been lost. Here is likewise a bust of Cromwell, executed by the celebrated Bernini, from a plaster impression, taken from Oliver's face after his death, and sent to Italy; the countenance bears a great resemblance to the portrait by Cooper. This bust was presented to the College by the late Rev. Thomas Martyn, Regius Professor of Botany.
The Master's Lodge consists of several convenient and handsome apartments. Among other portraits, it contains an original, in crayons, of Oliver Cromwell, by Cooper; this is esteemed a very correct likeness, and has been frequently copied; also, a full-length of Lady Sidney, the foundress; a good head of Dr. Hey; a whole-length of William Wol
laston, author of "The Religion of Nature;" and six excellent views of Venice, by Gwedyr, a pupil
The grounds belonging to this College are laid out with great taste. The Fellows' garden is retired and pleasant, and has a spacious bowling-green, a neat summer-house, and a shubbery.
James Mountague, or Montague, 1595, first Master, (brother to the first Lord Montague of Boughton, and to the first Earl of Manchester,) Bishop of Winchester, 1616. Samuel Ward, D.D. sent by King James I. to the Synod of Dort; Master, 1609, Bishop of Sarum, 1667.
Edward Montague, second Earl of Manchester, Chancellor of the University, 1648.
Oliver Cromwell; born at Huntingdon, April 25th, 1599; The time of Cromwell's admission into the College is thus noticed in the register, "Aprilis 23, 1616, 14 J. 1. Oliverus Cromwell Huntingdoniensis admissus ad commensum Sociorum Aprilis vicesimo tertio, 1616, Tutore Mr. Ricardo Howlet."
John Bramhall, Archbishop of Armagh, 1661.
Seth Ward, Bishop of Salisbury, 1667.
Dr. Thomas Comber, Dean of Durham, 1691.
Thomas Rymer, Collector of the Fœdera,-died 1713. William Wollaston, Author of "The Religion of Nature delineated,"-died 1724.
Thomas Twining, translator of "Aristotle's Poetics,"-died
Archdeacon Wollaston, Jacksonian Professor, 1792.