« AnteriorContinuar »
ST. EDWARD'S CHURCH,
Entered by a passage opposite King's College, has a good altar-piece, representing our Saviour with his disciples at Emmaus. It was the gift of Wm. Mortlock, Esq. In the register of this parish is the following singular entry :—
Elinor Gaskin said
She lived four-score years a maid,
And twenty and two years a married wife,
And ten years a widow, and then she left this life.
"This was Elinor Bowman, commonly called the widow Bowman, who died August 17th, and was buried decently in St. Edward's church-yard, Aug. 18th; her age 112 years."
In this Church, Bishop Latimer preached his Sermon of Cards from John i. 19: "Who art thou?"
IN ST. BOTOLPH'S CHURCH,
Adjoining Corpus Christi College, is a monument of the learned Dr. Thomas Playfere, Margaret Professor of Divinity, who died in 1609, with a halflength effigy of the deceased under an arched canopy. The altar-piece is a fine painting of the Crucifixion, brought from Antwerp by Mr. John Smith, late Printer to the University, and presented by him to the Parish.
LITTLE ST. MARY'S CHURCH,
Adjoining St. Peter's College, is a very beautiful, though a rather decayed edifice. The great East Window is more exquisitely enriched with flowing tracery than most in this kingdom. It may rank with the Western Window of York Cathedral, or with the East Window of Carlisle, though not for size, yet certainly for beauty. This Church was built A.D. 1327, on the site of an old church dedicated to St. Peter, which gave name to the adjoining College. It is probable that Alan de Walsingham, under whom the Lady-chapel at Ely was built, was the architect. It was used till 1632 as a Chapel to St. Peter's College. It contains a Font worthy of notice. In short, the architectural student should not fail to remark this Church.
IN GREAT ST. ANDREW'S CHURCH,
Opposite Christ's College, is a Cenotaph in memory of Captain James Cook, the celebrated circumnavigator, who was killed by the natives of Hawaii, in 1779. The re-building of this Church on an enlarged scale has been recently determined upon.
At the south end of Bridge-street, is a handsome Gothic structure, built in the form of a cross, with a lofty spire. The chancel has been recently rebuilt, and the whole church repaired with considerable
taste. It is a very favourable specimen of the manner of the 15th century. The transept windows are very noble specimens of that period. The mouldings and tracery of the great arches at the point of intersection are very light and elegant; and the enriched buttresses that support the tower, but are open to the nave, constitute a peculiar feature of great beauty and effect. Sir Robert Tabor, an eminent Physician, who first introduced the Jesuit's bark in cases of fever, and died in 1681, is interred here, and a monument with a Latin inscription is erected to his memory.
Or the Parish of St. Andrew the Less, now connected by its buildings with Cambridge, and having a population of nearly 8000 inhabitants, was, about a century ago, a detached hamlet, with little more than 50 houses. The village stood in the vicinity of a Priory, founded A.D. 1112, by Payne Peverel, to which were translated the canons of St. Giles of the Augustinian order, who had been settled, A.D. 1092, by Picot, Lord of Bourne, in this county, at their house near the Castle of Cambridge. Little remains of the monastic edifices, which were of great extent, and all either in the Norman or in the early English style. The monastery was dissolved in 1539, and the site granted to Anthony Browne. Its annual revenues were, according to Dugdale,
256l. 11s. 10d.; according to Speed, 3511. 15s. 4d. The old Chapel of Corpus Christi College was built partly with the remains of this Abbey.
The parish Church is 70 feet long and 18 broad. The east window is an excellent specimen of the lancet style.
This Church being much too small for the wants of the rapidly increasing population, another, capable of accommodating about 1500 persons, is about to be built by voluntary subscription. It will be a plain and spacious edifice in the Tudor style, will consist of a nave with a clerestory and side-aisles, and will be flanked at the angles with turrets capped in the form of an imperial crown, but without any enrichment. The exterior length is to be about 96 feet, the interior length about 88 feet, the exterior width 66 feet, the interior width 58 feet. A National School has lately been erected in this parish by voluntary contribution. There are at present between 400 and 500 scholars. Its support is derived also from subscriptions which are received by the Rev. Professor Scholefield; by the Rev. W. Carus, Trinity College; or by the Rev. T. Boodle, incumbent of this parish.
The principal Dissenting Meeting-houses in Cambridge are, the Baptists', in St. Andrew's Street; the Independents', in Downing Street; the Wesleyan Methodists', in Green Street; the Primitive Methodists', at Castle-end; and the Quakers', in Jesus Lane.
Which is situated nearly in the centre of the town, consists of two spacious oblong squares, united together, and forming the Greek г. At the south end stands the Shire-Hall, which was built at the expence of the county, in 1747. The interior is divided into two courts, in one of which the Assizes are held, and in the other the Quarter-sessions.
Behind this fabric is the Town Hall, rebuilt for the use of the Corporation, in the year 1782. It is a modern building of brick, consisting of a spacious court room, 70 feet long, 28 broad, and 23 high; besides two large parlours, for the Aldermen and Councillors. In the large room concerts are generally held. It is adorned by five magnificent chandeliers of ormolu, the gift of his Grace the Duke of Rutland, and the then Members of Parliament for the borough, about twenty years since.
In the front of the Shire-Hall stands the Conduit; erected chiefly from the bequest made by Thomas Hobson, the celebrated carrier, on whose death Milton wrote a whimsical epitaph ;* it is built with
* Here lies old Hobson; Death hath broke his girt,