Imágenes de páginas
PDF
EPUB
[ocr errors]

solidated annuities was made to it by Mr. John Bowtell, late a bookbinder and stationer in Cambridge, for the purpose of enlarging the building, and of extending its benefits to such patients as were not included in its original design. In consequence of this noble bequest, the Hospital has been recently greatly enlarged, and is now feced with stone, having two extensive wings, and a handsome colonnade in front, supporting a balustraded gallery by fluted columns. It is approached through an ample lawn, enclosed by iron palisades; and on the whole presents an object of elegance united with the greatest neatness.

The Governors of this institution are the principal Officers of the University, Town, and County of Cambridge; and under their direction the whole affairs of it are managed with the greatest humanity, good order, and economy.

Benefactors of 20 guineas or upwards are governors for life; annual subscribers of two guineas or upwards are governors during payment. Each person may recommend patients according to the amount of the subscriptions.

An accurate statement of the accounts, and a list of subscribers, is printed annually, and may be had gratis by any of the contributors, at Messrs. Deightons, Booksellers, or at the Hospital.

Benefactions and annual subscriptions are received by Thomas Mortlock, Esq. the Treasurer, by Messrs. Deightons, and by the Apothecary and Matron at the Hospital.

CRANE'S CHARITY FOR THE RELIEF

OF SICK SCHOLARS.

John Crane, a very eminent apothecary in Cambridge, and M.A., died in 1652, and left by his will, money to buy an estate of 621. per annum, to be settled on the five corporations following, viz. that of the University of Cambridge, and those of Wisbech, Cambridge, Lynn, and Ipswich. The rents to be

, received in order, and to be applied by the University in their turn towards the relief of sick scholars. The present rent of the estate is above 400l. per annum: the first payment was made about the year 1660. Meetings of the distributors, to consider and determine the claims of applicants for the benefit of this charity, take place on the third Monday of May, and the third Monday of November, in every year, and all applications of Scholars must be made by the Tutors of their respective Colleges.

The gift to the town was to accumulate until it amounted to 2001., which sum was to be disposed of in loans of 20l. each, bearing no interest, to ten young men, in order to set them up in trade, they giving good security to repay the same at the end of twenty years.

As each sum is repaid, it is to be again lent out in the same manner, and the persons to whom the loans are made are to be selected by the Vice-Chancellor, the three Professors of Divinity, Law, and Physic, the chief Apothecary, the Mayor; Recorder, and three Aldermen, or the greater part of them.

After the sum of 2001. had been set apart, Mr. Crane directed that the rents of the estates should be employed in the relief of persons confined for debt, and of poor men and women of good character, at the discretion of the above-mentioned distributors, who hold half-yearly meetings in May and November to consider the claims of applicants.

THE FREE GRAMMAR SCHOOL, Behind Corpus Christi College, was founded in pursuance of the will of Stephen Perse, M.D. Senior Fellow of Caius College, who in 1615, bequeathed certain property in charge to his executors, to purchase divers grounds and tenements, to be applied, amongst other purposes, to that of erecting a convenient house capable of containing one hundred scholars, to be used for a Free Grammar School, with apartments for a Master and Usher. The scholars are to be natives of Cambridge, Barnwell, Chesterton, or Trumpington, and to be educated gratis.

The School has of late been considerably improved; it having been deemed advisable that, exclusively of a knowledge of the Greek and Latin languages, and of Greek, Latin, and English composition, (for which only the original institution had provided,) the scholars should likewise be instructed

U

in the ordinary branches of education, together with the elements of the Mathematics.

Scholars educated three years, at least, at this School, are to be admitted ceteris paribus) before all others, to the Perse Fellowships and Scholarships at Caius College.

Head-Master, Peter Mason, M.A. St. John's.
Usher, George Barber, M.A. Queens.'

NEW FREE SCHOOL.

This institution, which is situate in St. Peter's parish, was founded in 1808, and is conducted upon the plan of Dr. Bell, being united to “ the National Society for the education of the poor in the principles of the established Church.” The children of the poor of this town and the adjacent villages, are admitted between the ages of six and eleven, and instructed in reading, writing, and arithmetic, and are trained up in habits of morality and religion.

The school-room is spacious, and calculated to contain 300 boys. The whole is under the direction of Governors, who are constituted by a donation of ten guineas, or an annual subscription of one guinea.

A sermon for the benefit of the institution is preached annually in the spring, and the yearly statement published in June, may be had of Messrs. Deightons, booksellers, by whom, or by any of the Bankers in Cambridge, subscriptions are received.

OLD CHARITY SCHOOLS,

Commonly called Whiston's Charity Schools.

These were set on foot in the year 1703, and are supported by voluntary contributions. Their first establishment was chiefly owing to the activity of William Whiston, M.A., and amongst the earliest patrons are found the names of Sir Isaac Newton, Bishop Patrick, Dr. Bentley, &c. Their design was 'to educate charity children of both sexes.

The New Free School in St. Peter's Parish for the education of boys, having been united to the National Society, it was thought expedient to transfer the boys to that institution, to which this allows, in consequence, the sum of 301. annually. In the year 1816, a new school-room for the girls was built in King-street, capable of containing 300 children, and likewise a house for the mistress, and the establishment was put on the plan of the National Society, to which it was then united.

The girls are taught reading, writing, accounts, needle-work, and knitting. They learn the catechism and other religious books, and are required to attend divine service in their parishes on Sundays. The Bishop of Ely is the patron. The Ministers and Lecturers of the parishes in Cambridge are the governors. There is also a committee of ladies, who superintend the detail of the School. The governors and subscribers nominate the girls who are

« AnteriorContinuar »