Imágenes de páginas

educated; each Annual Subscription of one guinea gives a right of nominating four children, or ten guineas paid at one time entitles the donor to recommend four children annually.

Subscriptions are received by the Rev. William Carus, the Treasurer ; by the Governors; by Messrs. Deightons, booksellers; or by any of the Bankers in Cambridge.


Of this kind of charity, which though humble in its pretensions, is not the less useful, the Town of Cambridge happily affords many examples. In these institutions the aged and infirm often find a comfortable refuge, and are enabled to pass their latter days in a state, which whilst it provides some of the conveniencies and the comforts to which they may have been accustomed in the time of their prosperity, possesses the more satisfactory benefit of a quiet repose for declining years.

Of these Foundations there are nine in the Town; a brief statement relative to which is presented in the following list:

Jakenett's, founded in 1469 by Thomas Jakenett,

a Burgess of this Town, for four inmates, to be elected by the Churchwardens and others of St. Mary the Great. By the appropriation of a part of the original building, which before the Reformation was charged with the

A new

payment of its rents for certain Obit and
Chantry services, the accommodation came
at length to be extended to eight poor
persons, at which it now remains.
erection of a Tenement for these persons
took place in 1790, at the expense of the
University, the Commissioners for paving
and lighting, the Parishioners, and others ;
and in 1805, Mr. Joseph Merrill bequeathed
the sum of six pounds per annum payable to
each inmate, by the trustees of Storey's
Charity, hereafter mentioned. The late Mr.
Joseph Gee also gave, in 1832, 121. 10s. for
their benefit, to which the Parishioners at
the same time contributed the like amount.
They receive besides various other payments
and bequests, amounting to about 41. 10s. per
annum each. The building is at the lower

end of King-street. Queens' College. These Alms Houses founded in

1484, by Dr. Andrew Dokett, President of Queens' College, and situate in Queens' Lane, are appropriated to eight poor widows, appointed by the President of Queens. Each person receives 28. and a pound of meat a week, and a chaldron of coals every year. They have also an additional gratuity of 11. the 25th of September, and 2s. 6d. the 24th

of December. University Alms Houses, founded in 1505, by

Matthew Stokys, M.A. of Caius College, for six poor women, who are appointed by the Vice-Chancellor for the time being. The stipend payable to these persons was increased by a Grace of the Senate in 1796, from 101. to 50l. per annum, at which latter sum it now remains. The houses stand in King

street. Perse's, founded in 1615, by Dr. Perse, of Caius

College, for six poor single women (widows or maidens) of the parishes of St. Edward and St. Michael, and in failure of such being found there, then of St. Benedict. The stipend to each person is 261. per annum. These houses, which are remarkably neat in their appearance, are situate at the corner of

Free School lane. Wray's, founded in 1620, by Mr. Henry Wray, sta

tioner, in Cambridge; for 4 poor widowers and 4 poor widows of the parish of the Holy Trinity

They receive from the rents of certain estates, and from the interest of money placed out for their benefit, about 221. per annum each.

These houses, which have been lately repaired and neatly ornamented,

are situate on the east side of King-street. Knight's, founded in 1647, by Elizabeth Knight, of

Denny Abbey, for two poor widows and four poor spinsters, whereof one of these

last is to be of the parish of St. Benedict. The appointment is in the hands of trustees acting under the authority of the Lord Chancellor. The annual payment to each inmate was originally 3l. per annum.

The whole present income is 931. 10s. per annum. These buildings, which are also remarkably neat and comfortable, are situate opposite Midsummer Common. They were re-built in 1818, at the expense of William Mortlock,

Esq. Corporation, which has accommodation for six poor

persons. The appointment lies with the trustees last mentioned. The stipend to each inmate is ls. 6d. per week; besides which the Corporation distributes 21. per annum to each of them. They have also perquisites in clothing, bequeathed by Mr. Thomas Day, of the parish of St. Mary the Great, in 1681.

These Alms Houses are situated near

Addenbrooke's Hospital. Storey's, founded in 1692, by Edward Storey, Gent. for four clergymen's widows, — for two

widows and one spinster of the parish of St. Giles, and for three spinsters of the parish of the Holy Trinity,—with an annuity of 101. to each. The clergymen's widows received an augmentation of their annuities, about the year 1780, by a bequest of Dr.

Goddard, Master of Clare Hall. And the general fund was further benefited in 1805, by a bequest from Mr. J. Merrill, of a sum of money producing 50l. per annum, distributable among the whole of those persons. They have besides, various other perquisites.

The buildings appropriated to these purposes are in Northampton street, in the parish

of St. Giles, and in Bridge-street. King's College.—These houses, adjoining the col

lege, are for four poor women, who daily receive from the college the remains of the

In the absence of the scholars during the long vacation, they have a joint of meat in turn. They also receive 10l. per annum each.


« AnteriorContinuar »