« AnteriorContinuar »
SAWSTON, a large village, six miles south of Cambridge, is the residence of the Huddleston family. The mansion-house, a fine ancient building, was erected in 1557, partly with the materials of Cambridge Castle, given to Sir John Huddleston, by Queen Mary, who had been entertained by him immediately after the death of her brother Edward VI., and conveyed safely to Framlingham Castle.
LITTLE SHELFORD. On the north side of the chancel of the church, under an ogee arch, richly ornamented with crockets, is the monument of Sir John de Freville, a Crusader, who died in 1312; it is an altar-tomb, with the effigies of a crosslegged knight, carved in stone, with a lion at his feet.
LONG STANTON, a village seven miles northwest of Cambridge, where the Hatton family have been seated from the end of the sixteenth century to within a few years of the present time. The ancient manor-house was a venerable building, erected about the year 1560; but has partly been taken down, and a smaller mansion of elegant construction built, which is now inhabited by the Rev. Algernon Peyton. The Bishops of Ely had formerly a palace here. Queen Elizabeth was entertained here by Bishop Cox, in August 1564. This village has two churches; one of which is very rude and ancient; the inhabitants are about 560 in number.
SOHAM is a large irregular town, seven miles
north of Newmarket. In the time of the AngloSaxons it was a place of some importance. The church is a spacious edifice, and of great beauty, built in the form of a cross, and having a lofty. tower
the west end. The amount of the population is about 3700.
SPINNEY ABBEY, in the parish of Wicken, near Soham, was the seat of Henry, the fourth son of Oliver Cromwell. After the restoration, he retired to this place. In his retirement he was discovered by Charles the Second, who, on returning from Newmarket in September, 1671, expressed a wish for refreshment, and being informed by a courtier that a very honest gentleman resided in the neighbourhood, who would think it an honour to entertain his majesty, desired to be conducted to his mansion. On entering the farm-yard, which led to the house, one of the king's attendants took up a pitch-fork, and throwing it across his shoulder, walked in a stately manner before Mr. Cromwell, who was then in the yard, wondering at the number of his visitors, and still more so at this ceremony, which even surprised the laughter-loving Charles, who inquiring its meaning: “Sire," said the pitchfork bearer, with more however of insolence than generosity, “the gentleman before whom I now carry this implement of husbandry, is Mr. Henry Cromwell, to whom I had the honour of being mace-bearer when in Ireland.” The monarch smiled: but Mr. Cromwell was greatly confused.
This, however, was soon removed by the ease and gaiety of his royal guest. Mr. Cromwell died the 23rd of March, 1673-4, and lies buried in Wicken church, where there are memorials of him, and some others of the Cromwell family.
SWAFFHAM BULBEC, ten miles north-east of Cambridge, was anciently possessed by the family of Bolebec, one of whom founded a Benedictine Nunnery here as early as the reign of King John, some small remains of which still exist; but the site is occupied principally by a modern house. The parochial, formerly the Nuns' Church, was re-built, about the year 1350, and consecrated by the Bishop of Ely. The village stands in three parishes.—The other two, which are called Priors, or Little Swaffham, and St. Cyric, have their churches standing on a high hill, in one church-yard, and hence have obtained the name of Swaffham Two-Churches. The structures are built in different styles of architecture, and, from their situation, which renders them conspicuous at a great distance, they form beautiful ornaments to the adjacent country.
TRUMPINGTON, a small village adjoining Cambridge, on the London road, was once the residence of Christopher Anstey, Esq. the celebrated author of " The New Bath Guide.” In this village is a spacious mansion-house, belonging to the Pemberton family. The church has a very elegant interior: in the north aisle is the monument of Sir Roger de Trumpington, a crusader, who died in 1288.
WIMPOLE, ten miles south-west of Cambridge, the seat of the Right Hon. the Earl of Hardwicke, Lord Lieutenant of the County, is by far the most splendid private residence in Cambridgeshire. The mansion-house is a spacious brick structure, with extensive wings ; which have been erected since the centre part of the building. The east wing is connected with the offices, and the west with a large green-house. The entrance to the hall is by a double flight of steps. The interior of this fabric combines neatness with elegance, and has been lately improved. Several of the chambers have been thrown into one, which is splendidly fitted up as a state drawing-room. The various apartments contain a magnificent assemblage of paintings,-many of them are by the first masters: the following is a list of those which appear the most valuable.
IN THE GALLERY.
Ben Jonson; Cornelius Jansen; the countenance of the poet is thoughtful and penetrating. He is delineated seated at a table, with a pen in his hand, apparently in the act of study. The whole expression is dignified and noble.
FRANK Hals, by himself. This is a very curious head. The painter has pourtrayed himself with rough hair and huge whiskers. An air of eccentricity and wildness pervades the countenance.
A Venetian NOBLEMAN; Titian. Extremely fine. IGNATIUS LOYOLA; Titian. The features of this extra
ordinary man, who was the founder of the society of the Jesuits, are expressive of much thought.
SPINOLA, the famous Spanish General; Rubens.
A half-length of a lady, delineated looking over a balcony. This was brought from Italy by Lord Hardwicke. The colouring is extremely rich and brilliant.
The Library is a noble apartment, and the collection of books extremely select and valuable. It contains the best editions of both English and foreign authors, in every branch of literature; volumes of curious engravings. The room is plain, but handsomely fitted up, and ornamented with the portraits of the most eminent writers; among these are heads of Lord Somers, Bishop Warburton, Dr. S. Clarke, Ben Jonson, Pope, Sir Isaac Newton, and Dr. Barrow; a whole-length of Bishop Burnet, by Sir Godfrey Kneller; and a half-length of Matthew Prior, a very spirited resemblance. In this apartment is a very fine carving, in ivory, of our Saviour on the cross, brought from Italy by the late Lord Hardwicke: the agony of the countenance, and the appearance of the body drawn up by extreme pain, are exceedingly well represented. Besides the books contained in this library, Lord Hardwicke has a large and valuable collection of state papers and manuscripts, preserved in an apartment secured from fire.
The following pictures are also to be found in the different apartments :