« AnteriorContinuar »
tember; and from eleven in the morning till three in the afternoon, during the remainder of the year.
Any member of the Senate may introduce two Bachelors of Arts or Undergraduates at one time, or any strangers or friends who do not belong to the University, without limitation in regard to number. The Curator is not allowed to receive any pecuniary compensation.
A Catalogue of the Fitzwilliam Collection may be had at the Museum, of the Curator.
THE ASTRONOMICAL OBSERVATORY.
The erection of the Observatory commenced in 1822, and was completed in about three years, from the designs, and under the superintendence, of the architect, Mr. J. C. Mead, of London.*
It is situated on an eminence on the road to Madingley, and is about a mile from the College walks. The approach is by a handsome gateway; and the building, which crowns the summit of the rising-ground, presents a noble appearance. It is constructed of Bath stone upon a plinth of granite, and is erected int he Grecian Doric style, the centre being appropriated for astronomical purposes, and the wings for the residence of the observers. The length of the building is about 160 feet, and the breadth about 58 feet. The centre of the edifice is
* The expense was defrayed by subscriptions of 60001. and by a grant of a sum exceeding 12,000%. from the University Chest.
surmounted by a dome, 10 feet high, and 14 feet in diameter, which is so constructed, from its revolving on wheels, as to be easily moved round by a single hand, although upwards of three tons weight.*
The only capital Instruments, at present, in the Observatory are two clocks, one by Molyneux and Cope, the other by Hardy; a transit instrument by Dollond, of which an account has been given by the late Professor Woodhouse, in the second part of the Philosophical Transactions for 1825; a mural circle of 8 feet diameter, by Troughton and Sims, which was graduated on its pier; and an equatorial of 5 feet focal length, with declination circle of 3 feet diameter, and hour circle of 2 feet diameter, by Jones.
In the spring of 1835, a magnificent telescope, with an object-glass of 11 inches effective aperture, to be equatorially mounted, and 20 feet focal length, made by M. Cauchoix of Paris, was presented to the Observatory by his grace the Duke of Northumberland. A building has accordingly been erected near the Observatory, with a revolving dome 27 feet in diameter, for the reception and mounting of this noble gift. In addition to these, and several other valuable instruments, which are used by the observers, there are others of less size and value, appropriated to the use of the Students of the University.
* A very fine view of the Observatory (18 inches by 12) has been published by Messrs. Deighton.
The superintendence and management of the Observatory are vested in the Plumian Professor; under whose direction two assistant observers are placed, with a salary of 80%. per annum each. The duties enjoined on the observers, principally consist in making regular meridional observations of the sun, moon, and fixed stars: and, in addition to these, other observations, required or suggested by circumstances and the state of astronomical science; such, for instance, as may determine with greater precision the laws of refraction and the existence of parallax. The observations so made are, each year, under the care of the observer and his assistants, printed and published at the expense of the University; and copies of the same presented to the principal Observatories of Europe, viz. Greenwich, Oxford, Dublin, Paris, and Palermo.
The Observatory is open to members of the University and their friends every day, except Sunday, between the hours of Twelve and One. No stranger can be admitted except in company with a member of the University; and no person can be allowed to enter the observing rooms, except with the Plumian Professor, or the assistant observer.
THE CAMBRIDGE PHILOSOPHICAL
Was instituted November 15th, 1819, for the
of promoting scientific inquiries, and of facilitating
the communication of facts connected with the advancement of Philosophy and Natural History.
The Society (which was incorporated by Charter, in 1832,) consists of Fellows and Honorary Members. The former are elected from such persons only as are graduates of the University. The latter must be such as are unconnected with the University, and are chiefly members of other learned bodies, domestic and foreign. It is needless to add to this statement, that the Society numbers amongst its members, men whose names stand foremost in the ranks of literary and scientific acquirements. The Transactions are from time to time published.
Attached to the Society is a Reading-room, which is supplied with the principal literary and scientific journals and the daily papers.
The Society's Rooms, Library, &c. are situated near All-Saints' Church.
THE ANATOMICAL MUSEUM
Is situated in Downing Street. It contains a large collection of rare and valuable preparations, including the Museum of the late Professor, Sir B. Harwood, and a set of models most beautifully wrought in wax, imported at a great expense from Naples. The building itself is conveniently fitted up, with a Theatre for the lectures on Anatomy and Medicine, which are delivered here in the Michaelmas and Lent Terms.
THE UNIVERSITY, OR PITT PRESS,
Is situated in Trumpington Street, between St. Peter's College and Catharine Hall. This quadrangle was completed in 1832. The east front is in the enriched style of the 15th century, and is a highly creditable specimen of the abilities of Mr. Blore, well known by his restoration of the choir of Peterborough Cathedral to the dignity and splendor that became that noble pile. This edifice is embattled; the windows, mostly of one light each, are pointed beneath square-headed mouldings. The effect is relieved by buttresses and pinnacles, and about the centre of the front stands the great tower, with its highly-enriched and transomed oriel. The room above the entrance presents a very chaste and admirable interior.
For the erection of this edifice, the Committee in London appointed to erect a Statue of the late Right Honorable William Pitt, in Cambridge, liberally contributed the surplus of their fund.
The first book known to have been printed at Cambridge, was "Erasmus de Conscribendis Epistolis," A.D. 1521, by Sibert. The first royal license which the University received for printing books, was granted by Henry VIII. in the 26th year of his reign, A.D. 1535. Like that of the sister University, this Press prints every description of Bibles and Common Prayer-books; together with a variety of theological, classical, and scientific works.