« AnteriorContinuar »
The management of the Press is committed, by the Senate, to the Vice-Chancellor and a Syndicate, appointed for that purpose. An annuity of 5001. per annum, received from Government, in lieu of the privilege of printing Almanacks, is disposed of, by the Syndicate, in assisting meritorious authors in the publication of their works. This Press is also entitled, by Act of Parliament, to the drawback of the duty on all the paper used by the Syndicate for their printing
THE BOTANIC GARDEN
Is situate adjoining Downing-street, having the grounds of Downing College on the south. It contains nearly four acres, and is well supplied with water by a canal in the middle. This piece of ground belonged originally to the Augustine Friars, and was purchased for its present use by Dr. Richard Walker, formerly Vice-Master of Trinity College, about the year 1730, for 16001. He, with the assistance of Mr. Miller, of Chelsea, first formed a regular establishment.
An elegant and commodious green-house, above 100 feet long, has been erected, chiefly by subscription, and is stored with a great variety of curious and valuable exotics.
Adjoining it is a hot-house. Among the exotics are several plants from America and New Holland; some tea and coffee trees; and many others of
curiosity and value. And especially we might notice a magnificent plant of the Araucaria excelsa, or Norfolk Island Pine. The whole garden is extremely well managed by Mr. Biggs, the Curator, and the plants are accurately arranged according to the system of Linnæus.* The garden is under the government of the Vice-Chancellor, the Provost of King's, the Masters of Trinity and St. John's, and the Regius Professor of Physic; and is superintended by a Lecturer and Curator. On the eastern side of the garden is a spacious Building, which is appropriated to the holding of lectures, annually delivered by the Jacksonian, Chemical, and Botanical Professors. It is peculiarly convenient for the purpose, and is besides furnished with a laboratory and a collection of dried botanical specimens. Notwithstanding, however, the great advantages which this establishment derives from its present appendages, it has been determined to remove it to a more airy and open situation, where its valuable productions will be less subject to those injurious effects which have been caused by the great increase of buildings in the immediate neighbourhood.
ST. PETER'S COLLEGE Originally consisted of two Hostels, one of which belonged to the Friars of Penance, purchased by
* A Catalogue of the Plants has been published by Mr. Donn, the late Curator.
+ The Porter's Lodge is on the left, under the second gate,
Hugh de Balsham, Sub-Prior of Ely. When advanced to the See of Ely, he obtained, in 1284, a Royal Charter of Incorporation, and endowed this College for the support of a Master, fourteen Fellows, and eight Scholars. After his death, the present College, which derives its name from its vicinity to the church of St. Peter, situated where the church of St. Mary the Less now stands, was built on the site of the Hostels, the Bishop having bequeathed 300 marks, by his will, for that purpose.
This College is situated on the west side of Trumpington-street, near the south entrance of the town, and consists of three courts. The first Court, which fronts the street, is separated from the second by the cloister and Chapel, and has the Library on the south, and a modern stone building on the north, containing the Fellows' apartments. In the centre of this Court stands the Chapel.
The second Court, west of the cloister, is about 145 feet long and 85 broad. It was one of the first cased with Ketton stone, after the modern style, about the year 1760, and now forms a neat and regular quadrangle.
The Chapel partakes of the Gothico-Italian style of the 16th and 17th centuries, and measures about 55 feet long, 27 broad, and as many high. It was erected by subscription, and consecrated by Dr. Francis White, Bishop of Ely, in the year 1632. It was highly embellished, but deprived of many of its ornaments in the civil wars.
In the report of
the commissioners are these words: “We pulled down two mighty angels with wings, and divers other angels, the four evangelists, and Peter with his keys on the chapel-door, together with about 100 cherubims, and many superstitious letters in gold. Moreover we found six angels on the windows; all of which we defaced.” The painted glass, now replaced in the east window, was, previous to this visitation, removed and concealed in boxes. The coved cieling is richly carved and gilt, and the canopied stalls and dim solemnity of the edifice give it something of a cathedral air. On the north wall is a Monument to the Memory of Dr. Beaumont, Master of the College, who died in 1699.
At the west end is a gallery, containing an organ, given by Sir Horatio Mann. The altar-piece is of Norway oak: over it is a fine window of painted glass, deeply coloured, representing the Crucifixion. The principal figures, which are nearly as large as life, are copied from the famous picture of Rubens on the same subject in the Recollects' Church, at Antwerp; the groups at the sides are said to be from a design by L. Lombard.-Choral Service is performed here on Saturday and Sunday Evenings, and on the Eves and Evenings of Saints' Days.
The Library, which runs parallel with the south side of the Chapel, is spacious, and contains a collection of about 6000 printed books, many of an early date. Bishop Cosin, formerly Master, gave
to the value of 1000l. in books, and was, otherwise, a considerable benefactor to the College. There are also several MSS., some of them
valuable : among them are transcripts of the works of Aristotle and Albertus Magnus; many of the writings of the Fathers, particularly those of St. Augustine; Horace, Terence, Virgil's Georgics, Cicero's Tusculan Questions, and a beautiful Latin Bible, given 28th Nov. 1300, by Thomas De Insula, afterwards Bishop of Ely. The room contains several antique Portraits of Masters and Fellows, and others connected with this house, from 1418 to 1578. Amongst them are Dr. J. Holbroke, Master in 1436; Dr. H. Hornby, Master in 1516, and one of the Executors of Lady Margaret, Countess of Richmond; and Henry Wilshawe, B.D. 1578. Archbishop Wittlesey left MSS. and Books to this Library.
The Hall is a plain room, 48 feet long, and 24 broad. On the screen, are portraits of Charles Beaumont, Fellow, 1726, Robert Wade, 1616, and Dr. Beaumont, Master, 1663. On the north side of the wall, are those of the Founder, of Archbishop Whitgift, and of Bishop Cosin ; on the east, those of the present Master, Dr. Barnes, Dr. Law, Bishop of Carlisle, and Lord Ellenborough, Lord Chief Justice ; on the south, those of Dr. Perse, 1589, John Blithe, Fellow, 1617, and Bernard Hale, 1660.
The third, or Gisborne Court, has lately been added from part of the munificent donation of the