« AnteriorContinuar »
Rev. Francis Gisborne, formerly Fellow of this Society. It measures 95 feet in length and 87 in breadth, and contains 18 new sets of apartments for Fellows and Students, with the stables and other offices. The first stone of the new building was laid by Mr. Brookes, the architect, on August 30th, 1825. The style of this court being Gothic, differs from the other parts of the College, which were modernized at the date before mentioned; but as part of the original walls, which formed a principal feature in the intended new quadrangle, were still remaining, it was deemed more convenient by the architect to adopt the same style of building, as it enabled him to adapt his design more readily to the irregularity of the old front.
The Master's Lodge opposite the College, on the east side of the street, is a large modern building of brick and stone, surrounded by a pleasant garden. In the Lodge are several paintings: amongst them is one of St. Jerome in the desert, after Rembrandt, and one of the Duke of Savoy. South of the College is a pleasant grove of limes, which leads to an extensive garden, bounded on the river side by the ancient College wall.
WHO HAVE BEEN MEMBERS OF THIS FOUNDATION.
The famous Cardinal Beaufort, Lord Chancellor, and Bishop
of Winchester, 1404. Dr. Roger Marshall, an eminent mathematician, and physician
to Edward IV.
George Joye, one of the early Reformers. He superintended
Tyndale's translation of the Bible-died 1553. Fines Moryson, a celebrated Traveller, died 1614. Matthew Wren, Master, Bishop of Ely, 1638. Colonel Hutchinson, a Commander in the Parliamentarian
Army. Bryan Walton, the learned Editor of the London Polyglot
Bible, Bishop of Chester, 1660. Dr. Joseph Beaumont, Master, 1664. Builder and donor
of the Lodge. Sir Samuel Garth, M.D. 1691, author of the “Dispensary." Dr. William Sherlock, Dean of St. Paul's, 1691. Sir William Browne, Founder of three of the Classical Prizes,
M.D. 1721. Thomas Gray, the celebrated Poet, Professor of Modern
History, 1768. Dr. Samuel Jebb, an eminent physician and antiquarian
died 1772. Jeremiah Markland, Fellow, the learned Critic. He twice
refused the Greek Professorship-died 1776, Edward Law, Lord Ellenborough, and Chief Justice of
This Society consists of a Master, fourteen Fellows on the foundation, Ten Bye-Fellows, and Fifty-nine Scholars. Two of the Bye-Fellowships, and Four of the Scholarships, were lately founded from the donation of the Rev. Francis Gisborne, above-mentioned. Of the foundation-Fellows, Seven must be from the northern, and Seven from the southern part of the kingdom. The Bye-Fellowships are perfectly open. Eleven Benefices, and One Grammar School, are in the patronage of the College.* The Bishop of Ely is the Visitor.
CLARE HALL Was founded in 1336, by Dr. Richard Badew, Chancellor of the University, who purchased two tenements in Mill Street,f on the site of which he built a small College, called University Hall, and by Chaucer, Solere Hall. This edifice was, in 1342, destroyed by fire; Dr. Badew then solicited the patronage of Elizabeth, third sister and coheiress of Gilbert, last Earl of Clare. By her bounty, the College was rebuilt, and in 1347, endowed with lands for the maintenance of a Master, ten Fellows, and the same number of Scholars; and from thence it obtained the name of Clare Hall. Richard III. augmented the endowments; which have also been increased by the donations of Thomas Cecil, Earl of Exeter, 1612; John Freeman, Esq. 1622; William Butler; Dr. Samuel Blythe; and Joseph Diggons, Esq., besides numerous smaller benefactions.
The particulars of the patronage of the whole of the Colleges and Halls in Benefices and Schools, may be found in the University Calendar, and the members of each College in p. 17 of this work.
+ The Porter's Lodge is under the first Portico on the left.
I A street then so called, between the ground now occupied by Queens' College, and that upon which Clare Hall now stands.
Clare Hall is delightfully situated on the eastern banks of the Cam, and consists of one spacious Court, (exclusive of the Chapel,) which is entered, on the east and west sides, by two noble porticoes, or rather lofty arched passages. This Court is 150 feet long, and 111 broad, and is uniformly and handsomely built with stone, having been erected in its present form in 1638: on the north side are the Library, Hall, and Combination-room ; on the west, north of the portico, the Master's Lodge; and in the rest of the area, are the apartments of the Fellows and Students.
The front next the walks and fields is built with Ketton stone, and presents two ranges of pilasters, the lower one of the Tuscan, the upper
of the Ionic order. The upper and lower tiers of windows are adorned with architraves, the middle tier with pediments and other ornaments. The whole is finished with an entablature and balustrade, broken about the centre by a depressed pediment.
The Chapel is situated without the Court, at the eastern front of the College, in a small court-yard inclosed with iron palisades. This structure was begun in 1763, from a classical and elegant design of Sir James Burrough, and finished in 1769, at the expense of above 70001. The exterior is ornamented with Corinthian pilasters, rising from a rustic base, and supporting a handsome cornice, crowned with a balustrade. The ante-chapel is entered from the north-east corner of the Court;
it is an octagon, lighted by a graceful dome. The interior of the Chapel is adorned with a handsome coved cieling of stucco-work, seats and wainscotting of Norway oak, neatly carved, and a floor of black and white marble. Over the altar, in a beautiful alcove, with fluted columns of the Corinthian order, is a fine painting of the Salutation, by Cipriani. The communion-plate belonging to this College, is of pure gold, richly embossed. This chapel is allowed, for chasteness of design and elegance of decoration, to excel any building of its kind in the University.
The Hall is a fine room, 69 feet long, 21 broad, and about 25 high; and has a gallery at the west end, leading to the Combination-room, which is about 33 feet square and 15 high, handsomely wainscotted with oak, and contains portraits of Thomas Cecil, Earl of Exeter, by Mirevelt ; Archbishop Tillotson ; Bishop Moore; a whole-length of the late Duke of Newcastle, Chancellor of the University; and a copy, by Freeman, of Lady Elizabeth Clare, the foundress.
The Library opens into the Combination-room at one end, and the Master's Lodge at the other. It is nearly of the same dimensions as the former, and is elegantly fitted up and ornamented with columns and carvings of Norway oak. The books are extensive and well selected, and among them is a good collection of the best Italian and Spanish authors, with the Italian Comedy of “ Baptista Porta," con