« AnteriorContinuar »
taining the MS. notes of Ruggle, who founded the celebrated Latin Comedy of “ Ignoramus" upon it. Here also is one of the few of Pope Sixtus Vth's folio Bibles.
The Master's Lodge, which fronts the fields, has a pleasant and tasteful garden at the front, sloping to the river. But the principal attractions of this College are its beautiful walks and lawn. The western portico of the court opens on a broad walk, bounded on each side by the Master's and Fellows' gardens, and connected with a fine vista, planted with limes, by a stone bridge of three arches. At the extremity of the vista, through a handsome iron gateway, is Clare Hall Piece-a deservedly favourite promenade. Hence are seen at one view, King's College and Chapel, Clare Hall, St. Mary's Church, Trinity Hall, &c.
Geoffrey Chaucer, the father of English Poetry. He died
in 1400. Hugh Latimer, Bishop of Worcester, the Martyr. Christopher Wandesforde, Viscount Castlecon the friend
of Strafford. The eminently pious Nicholas Ferrar, who died in 1637. Barnabas Oley, the friend and biographer of Herbert. Thomas Phillpot, Historian of Kent, 1659. Peter Gunning, Master of St. John's College, Bishop of Ely,
1674. John Tillotson, Archbishop of Canterbury, 1691. Josiah Hort, Archbishop of Tuam.
The celebrated William Whiston, Fellow, 1693.
versity, 1748. William Whitehead, Poet Laureate, a native of Cambridge,
1757. John Parkhurst, M.A. author of the Hebrew and Greek
Lexicons. He died 1797. Edward King, F.R. and A.S., the celebrated Antiquary and
Critic. He died 1807.
This Society consists of a Master, ten Senior, nine Junior, and three Bye-Fellows; besides about fifty Scholars and Exhibitioners. The major part of these endowments is perfectly open. Seventeen Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Chancellor of the University.
Was founded in 1347, by Mary de St. Paul, third wife of Aymer de Valence, Earl of Pembroke, who was murdered in France, in the year 1324. This calamity induced his widow to renounce the world, and devote her property to religious uses. suance of this design, having already founded Denny Abbey between Cambridge and Ely, she obtained a charter of incorporation from Edward the Third, and endowed this College for a Master, six Fellows,
The Porter's Lodge is on the right of the gateway.
and two Scholars, giving it the appellation of the College or Hall of Valence-Mary, in memory of her husband and herself. However, it commonly passed by the name of her title, even before her decease, which took place in 1376. The original establishment has been greatly increased by succeeding benefactors, particularly by Henry the Sixth. In his charter it is termed, “the most noble, renowned, and precious College, which, among all others in the University, was ever wonderfully resplendent."
Pembroke College is situate on the east side of Trumpington-street, nearly opposite to St. Peter's College, and consists chiefly of two Courts. The first court is 93 feet long, and 54 broad, and has the Library on the north, and the Hall, which separates the two Courts, on the east. The second court is about 122 feet long, and 92 broad. The venerable appearance of this College, caused Queen Elizabeth, when she visited Cambridge, to salute it with these words :—“ Oh! domus, antiqua et religiosa !” This sentiment may, however, have been partly suggested by the remembrance of Rogers, Bradford, and Ridley, who suffered martyrdom in the preceding reign, and were all of this College, the last-mentioned having been Master.
The Chapel, which, with the Lodge and Cloister, forms a third small Court, was built at a cost of nearly 4000l. by Bishop Wren, from a design by his nephew, Sir Christopher Wren, and is an elegant building of the Palladian style, perhaps the best proportioned in the University ; it is within about 54 feet long, 24 broad, and upwards of 30 high, and is fitted up and decorated in a pleasing and appropriate manner. It was dedicated in 1665; and Bishop Wren gave the manor of Hardwick in this county, to keep it in repair. Over the altar is a painting of the Burial of Christ,” by Baroccio. The decoration of the cieling, organ-gallery, and stalls, is at once bold and beautiful. The organ is disused.
The Library, which occupies almost the whole of the north side of the first court, is a very spacious room, containing a good collection of well-classed and choice books. It was formerly the College Chapel, and is remarkable for the beauty of its cieling.
The Hall is a very neat room, with ancient carved wainscot, and is about 42 feet long, and 27 broad. Here are portraits of Sir Benjamin Keene, painted at Madrid ; Bishop Ridley and John Bradford, martyrs, copied from prints in Holland's Heroologia; Nicholas Felton, Bishop of Ely; and Mary de St. Paul, the foundress, a good copy by Marchi. The Combination-room is at the end of the Hall, and contains the following portraits : - Edmund
Spenser, half-length, said to be copied by Wilson, from an original ; Edmund Grindall, Master, and afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury, on wood; Benjamin Laney, who was ejected from the Mastership during the Commonwealth, but replaced at the
Restoration, and subsequently appointed to the see of Ely; Roger Long, Master, by B. Wilson; and a full-length, by Harlow, of the late Right Honourable William Pitt, who was educated at this College; a small half-length of Mr. Gray, the poet, who removed hither when the mischievous pranks of the students had caused him to desert St. Peter's; and another of Mr. Mason, the poet, formerly Fellow, by Sir Joshua Reynolds.
At the north-east corner of the inner court is a detached brick building, erected for the purpose of containing an astronomical machine, or hollow sphere, invented by Dr. Roger Long, Lowndean Professor of Astronomy, and constructed by himself and Mr. Jonathan Munns, an ingenious tinplate worker of Cambridge. The sphere is 18 feet in diameter, and is entered by steps over the south pole. On the interior are painted the figures of the Constellations, &c. and thirty persons may conveniently sit around it. Although its whole weight is above 1000 pounds, it may be readily turned round by a small winch,' with as little labour as it takes to wind up a common kitchen-jack; and, when in motion, it presents to the spectator the actual appearance, the relative situation, and the successive revolutions of the heavenly bodies.
The College garden is large, pleasant, and well stocked with fruit-trees; and there is a good bowling-green in it.
Amongst the College plate is preserved a curious