« AnteriorContinuar »
supported by Ionic columns. This monument was Hemoved from the east end, when the Chapel was rebuilt, about the beginning of the last century: at which time the body was discovered whole and perfect, the beard very long, and the countenance strongly resembling the portraits of him in the College. On the monument is the following epitaph:
“ FuI CAIUS.
VIVIT POST FUNERA VIRTUS..
Ætatis suæ LXIII.
Obiit 29 Julii,
The Library, which is entered from the Combination-room, is not large, but contains many very valuable books and manuscripts, especially on heraldry and genealogy.
The Hall is a good room, at the north end of the third court, 39 feet long, and 21 broad, and is embellished with a coved cieling, and other decorations. The Combination-room is handsomely fitted up, and contains several valuable paintings, amongst others, of Bishop Warren, Dr. Parr, &c.
The Master's Lodge is a modern and spacious building of brick, with a good garden in front; and contains portraits of nearly all the Masters from the refounding of the College. The following are the most curious :an original portrait of Dr. Caius, on board; Sir Thomas Gooch, Bart. and Bishop of Ely,
* I was Caius. Virtue our death survives.
esteemed a correct likeness ; Sir James Burrough, Knt. by Heins; John Smith, D.D. by Sir Joshud Reynolds ; Richard Fisher Belward, D.D. by Opie; the illustrious Wm. Harvey, M.D.; Robert Trapps, Alderman of London, and his wife Joanna, both painted by Holbein; reckoned very fine. This Lodge may be denominated a perfect specimen of what taste can effect in a small compass. In the Hall are a great many portraits of eminent physicians.
John Skip, Bishop of Hereford, 1539, one of the Compilers
of the Liturgy. Sir Thomas Gresham, who founded the Royal Exchange in
London, 1570. Gruterus, the Author of “ Inscriptiones Orbis Romani,” &c. Jeremy Collier, Author of " Ecclesiastical History," &c.,
died 1627. William Harvey, M.D. justly celebrated as the discoverer of
the circulation of the blood, 1628. Jeremy Taylor, Bishop of Down and Connor, 1660. He was
a native of Cambridge. Dr. Brady, Master, 1660. He was Regius Professor of
Physic, and wrote a History of England, on which
Hume's is chiefly founded. John Cosin, Bishop of Durham,-died 1672. Thomas Shadwell, the Dramatic Poet,--died 1692. Henry Wharton, Author of " Anglia Sacra,"—died 1695. Sir Henry Chauncey, the Historian of Hertfordshire,—died
1719. Francis Blomefield, the Historian of Norfolk.
died 1726. Dr. Samuel Clarke, the famous Critic, Metaphysician, and
Mathematician,-died 1729. Sir James Burrough, Knt. Master, an ingenious Architect;
he drew the plan of the Senate-House, and other public
buildings. Dr. Shuckford; Author of the “Sacred and Profane History,"
-died 1764. Edward, Lord Thurlow, Lord Chancellor of England, 1778;
and a long list of eminent Physicians, amongst whom
are Dr. Francis Glisson, and Sir Charles Scarborough. It is worthy of remark, that most of the Cambridge Antiquarians have been of this College.
This Society consists of a Master, twenty-nine Fellows, and about fifty Scholars. There is a Scholarship in Chemistry of 201. per annum, founded by Mr. John Mickleburgh, formerly Professor of Chemistry in this University; and four Studentships, now above 100l. per annum each, founded by C. Tancred, Esq. for Students in Physic; tenable for eight years. Twenty-two Benefices, and one
Grammar School, are in the patronage of the College. Visitors, the Masters of Corpus and Trinity Hall, and the senior Doctor in Physic.
TRINITY HALL *
Was originally one of the Hostels for the accommodation of Students; but was purchased by John de Crauden,t Prior of Ely, in the reign of Edward III. for the monks of Ely to study in. It was afterwards enlarged by Richard de Herling, Chancellor of the University; and, in the year 1350, was sold to William Bateman, Bishop of Norwich, with the lands thereto appertaining; who, having obtained the King's licence to erect it into a College, dedicated it to the Holy Trinity. The Bishop originally intended it for a Master and twenty Fellows; but dying at Avignon, in 1355, before the completion of his design, the endowment was only found sufficient for the maintenance of a Master, three Fellows, and two Scholars, who were to be students in the Canon and Civil Law, and also one Fellow to study Divinity, and be Chaplain to the College. The foundation has, however, been greatly augmented by subsequent benefactors.
This College is more particularly appropriated to the study of the Civil Law, the Professor of that science being always a member of the society. It is situated behind Caius College, and a little to the north of Clare Hall, on the banks of the river. It consists of two Courts and other buildings. The
• The Porter's Lodge is under the small gateway on the left.
† Probably of Croydon, in Cambridgeshire.
first Court contains the Hall, Chapel, and rooms for Fellows. It is handsomely built with stone, and uniformly sashed.
The Chapel is adorned at the east end with a fine painting of the Presentation in the Temple, by Stella, the expression is very spirited, and the colouring fine. The cieling is coved, and covered with richly gilt and painted armorial bearings. In the ante-chapel are the remains of some curious brasses.
The Hall is a remarkably handsome room, 36 feet long, 24 broad, and 25 high ; and has a gallery for music at the north end. At the upper end is a fine portrait of Sir Nathaniel Lloyd, Knt., with whose bequest of 30001. towards improving the College, this apartment was principally rebuilt: here is also a well executed bust of the late celebrated Earl of Mansfield, by Nollekens, the gift of Sir James Marriott, a former Master. The figure on his Lordship’s monument in Westminster Abbey was taken from this bust. The Combination-room contains the portraits of John Andrew, D.C.L. and Dr. Samuel Johnson; also those of Bishop Corbet, Archbishop Laud, and others.
The Library, which is in a venerable range of building constituting the North Wing toward the river, is judiciously classed, and contains, besides a large collection of choice miscellaneous books, a complete study of the Canon, Civil, and Common