« AnteriorContinuar »
supported by a row of heads of very beautiful sculpture, and the pelican (the crest of the College arms) is to be seen among the bosses which compose the ornaments of the cornice. The cieling is a gothic arched vault, springing from a rich cornice of foliage, and is divided into compartments by ribs crossing it at every pier; the spaces between are filled with panelling of a lighter relief.
The Manuscripts contained in this Library are considered amongst the most valuable in the kingdom. They are very ancient, some of them being as old as the eighth century, but are chiefly remarkable as comprising a large and very rare collection of papers relating to ecclesiastical affairs, which had been collected on the dissolution of monasteries by Henry VIII., and amongst them are found interesting documents relative to the Reformation, and the original copy of the Thirty-nine Articles.*
• A learned work on this subject has recently been published by DR. LAMB, the present Master: it is entitled "AN HISTORICAL ACCOUNT OF THE XXXIX ARTICLES, from their first Promulgation, in 1553, to their final Establishment, in 1571; with a of the Articles as put forth by King Edward in 1553; Exact Copies of the Latin and English Manuscripts, and Facsimiles of the Signatures of the Archbishops and Bishops, &c. from the ‘Synodalia’ in the Library of Corpus Christi College ; a Facsimile of the 'Little Imprinted Book,' referred to by the Act of 13 Eliza
and Reprints of the Latin and English Editions, published under the direction of Bishop Jewel, in 1571, from the copies formerly belonging to Archbishop Parker."
This matchless collection of MSS. was left to the College by Archbishop Parker, formerly Master, and is held under the following particular restrictions :—“Every year on the 6th of August, it is to be visited by the Masters or locum-tenentes of Trinity Hall and Caius College, with two scholars on the Archbishop's foundation ; and if on examination of the Library, twenty-five books are missing, or cannot be found within six months, the whole collection devolves to Caius. In that case, the Masters or locum-tenentes of Trinity Hall and Corpus Christi College, with two scholars on the same foundation, are the visitors; and if Caius College be guilty of the like neglect, the books are to be delivered up to Trinity Hall; the then Masters or locum-tenentes of Caius and Corpus Christi, with two such scholars, become the inspectors; and in case of default on the part of Trinity Hall, the whole collection reverts to its former order.” The books are so carefully kept, that even a Fellow of the College is not permitted to enter the Library, unless accompanied by another Fellow or Scholar, who must attend him during his stay, according to the Archbishop's will. Here is a portrait of Archbishop Parker, supposed to be an original.
The Hall and Combination Room, opposite the Library, compose the north side of the quadrangle. The Hall measures about 62 feet in length, 27 in width, and 35 in height, and is entered by a flight of stone steps from the north-east angle of the court. The roof, which is beautifully ornamented with pendants and tracery, is divided into five compartments by seven principal ribs springing from corbels. The walls are panelled with carved oak to the height of 11 feet from the floor. The windows on the north side are filled with beautifully coloured glass in patterns, admirably corresponding with ancient specimens. They represent the armorial bearings of various corporations,—Thetford, Norwich, Canterbury, &c., and those of former Masters and Fellows. In the oriel window are those of Sir Nicholas Bacon, Archbishop Parker, and others,— magnificently pourtrayed. This is one of the most beautiful refectories in the University, and one of the best works of the architect. The CombinationRoom contains a fine copy of Raphael's School of Athens, by Nicholas Poussin, presented to the College by Mr. Wilkins; also Portraits of Archbishop Tenison, Dr. Edward Tenison, Bishop of Ossory, by Kneller, Dean Colet, and others.
The Old Court, situated behind the Hall, is a part of the old College, and adjoins Bene't Church. It is about 115 feet by 90, and has an entrance into the new quadrangle. It is chiefly appropriated to the accommodation of the Undergraduates. The old Hall is now the College kitchen.
The Master's Lodge contains many fine pictures, among which are the following :-Erasmus, on board; Cardinal Wolsey; Thomas Lord Cromwell; Sir Thos. More; Robert, Earl of Leicester; Richard
Love, by D. Mytens ; Matthias Mawson, Bishop of Ely, by Heins; John Fox, the Martyrologist; Archbishop Parker; Bishop Bradford, by Enoch Zeeman; Dr. Colman, by Romney; John Spencer, and John Barnardiston, by Vandermyn; and the portraits of many other distinguished persons.
Among the plate of this College is a curious antique drinking-horn, figured and described in the third volume of the Archæologia, by the late Rev. Michael Tyson, B.D., F.S.A., formerly Fellow of this College.
George Wishart, the Martyr, 1546.
Hebræorum,” Master, 1667. Thomas Tenison, Archbishop of Canterbury, 1694. Thomas Greene, Master, Bishop of Ely, 1728. Nathaniel Salmon, Historian of Hertfordshire and Essex,
died 1742. Thomas Herring, Archbishop of Canterbury, 1747. Matthias Mawson, Master, Bishop of Ely, 1754. Philip, second Earl of Hardwicke, High-Steward of the
University, 1764. William Stukeley, eminent as a Physician, Divine, and His
torian,-died 1765. Robert Masters, F.A.S. the Historian of the College,-died
1798. Richard Gough, the eminent Antiquary,– died 1809.
This Society consists of a Master, Twelve Fellows, and Sixty Scholars. Eleven Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitors, the ViceChancellor and two Senior Doctors in Divinity : in extraordinary cases, the Queen.
This royal and most magnificent foundation arose from the munificence of Henry VI. who instituted a small seminary on this spot for a Rector and twelve Fellows, in the year 1441; but in 1443, he entirely changed its form, and endowed it for a Provost, seventy Fellows and Scholars, (to be supplied in regular succession from Eton, founded and endowed about the same time,) three Chaplains, six Clerks, sixteen Choristers, and a Music-master, (who now possesses also the office of Organist,) sixteen Officers of the foundation, twelve Servitors for the senior Fellows, and six poor Scholars.t Some peculiar privileges appertain to King's.-— The Pro
* The Porter's Lodge is under the grand entrance.
+ Cardinal Beaufort was a benefactor to this College. “In a second codicil to his will, dated 9th of April, 1447, the Cardinal, calling to mind the noble Colleges of St. Mary at Eton, and St. Nicholas at Cambridge, and desirous' of partaking of the prayers and all other suffrages and acts of piety to be offered therein, bequeathed to each of the Colleges £1000.”-Bentley's Excerpta Historica, Part I. p. 44. In the reigns of Edward IV. and Richard III., Thomas Rotheram, Archbishop of York, contributed largely to it.