« AnteriorContinuar »
WICKFORD HARBOR.—The work of dredging was carried on during the mouths of September, October and Novenaber, and two bowlders removed from near the entrance to the harbor in December. 30,265 cubic yards of mud, clay, etc., were removed, by which a channel of 9 feet depth at mean low water and width of 60 feet, with enlargements at the bends, was excavated from the entrance to the harbor up to the wharves of the town of Wickford.
NEWPORT HARBOR.--The work of removing “Spindle Rock” off the southern end of Rose Island, was completed in September. There is now a depth of 8.5 feet over the rock. Dredging under the appropriation of June 3, 1896, was commenced around the southern end of Goat Island in November, and was in progress at the close of the year. Up to that time 12,716 cubic yards of material had been excavated.
MOUNT HOPE BAY.--A survey of Mount Hope Bay, extending from a short distance below “Common Fence Point," north end of Island of Rhode Island, to Fall River, has been made with a view to improvements in that locality.
State of Rhode Island and Lrovidence Plantations.
TWENTY-SECOND ANNUAL REPORT
MADE TO THE
JANUARY SESSION, 1898.
E, L. FREEMAN & SONS, PRINTERS TO THE STATE,