« AnteriorContinuar »
Law. Opposite the Library is a range of Students' rooms, recently erected in the Tudor-gothic style.
The Master's Lodge, which adjoins the Hall, has recently been enlarged and beautified. It contains the portraits of Stephen Gardiner, Bishop of Winchester; Philip Dormer Stanhope, Earl of Chesterfield, by Hoare; and several others.—The Garden, at the back of the College, is extremely pleasant, enjoying the same view as Clare Hall, its neighbour, with a terrace on the bank of the river. *
The second Court, adjoining Clare Hall, is a convenient pile of brick and stone.
John Andrew, D.C.L. late Fellow of this College, bequeathed 20,0001. for the erection of new buildings.
Stephen Gardiner, Master, Bishop of Winchester, 1531. Thomas Thirlby, Bishop of Ely, 1554. He was one of the
Compilers of the Liturgy. Thomas Bilney, Fellow, Martyr.
* Between this and Trinity College has lately been erected, by the Corporation, on the site of an old wooden Bridge, one of cast-iron, in a light and elegant gothic style, and of a single arch,—at an expense of 10001. The contributions were raised in 1834. One half was contributed by the Corporation, and by various members of its body, and other inhabitants of the Town; and the other half by the Societies of Trinity Hall, and Trinity and Caius Colleges, and individual members of the University. The Society of Trinity Hall in particular, gave very liberally on this occasion.
Sir Robert Naunton, Secretary of State to James I.
of Lincoln, 1608. Philip Dormer Stanhope, Earl of Chesterfield, 1726. Sir James Marriott, Knt. late Judge of the Admiralty, Master,
1764. John Eardley Wilmot, Lord Chief Justice,-died 1792. Samuel Horsley, Bishop of St. Asaph, 1802.
This Society consists of a Master, twelve Fellows,
. and eighteen Scholars. The Fellowships are open. Nine Benefices are in the patronage of the College. Visitor, the Lord Chancellor.
CORPUS CHRISTI COLLEGE.*
This College, which differs in its origin from that of any other in the University, was founded by the union and benevolence of two Societies or Guilds in Cambridge, termed “Gilda Corporis Christi," and “Gilda Beatæ Mariæ Virginis.' Guilds were of very early institution, and consisted of a company of persons associated sometimes for particular, and at others for mixed purposes. These Societies were of the latter class, and at once embraced various objects, religious, charitable, and commercial. Through the instrumentality of Henry Plantagenet, Duke of Lancaster, their Alderman, these Guilds obtained, in 1351, a licence from Edward III. to
* The Porter's Lodge is under the gateway on the left.
convert their Societies into a College, and they endowed it for a Master and two Fellows. By the munificence of Sir John Cambridge, the number of Fellows was soon after increased to eight. The endowments have since been much augmented by succeeding benefactors; and particularly by Archbishop Parker, who added two Fellowships, appropriated to the city of Norwich, and eleven Scholarships. He procured also a new body of Statutes, gave many very considerable benefactions, and made a large addition to the Library, by a collection of printed books and rare and valuable MSS. which will be mentioned hereafter.
This College formerly consisted principally of the old Court and Chapel; the latter built in 1578, at the expence of Sir Nicholas Bacon, Lord Keeper in the reign of Elizabeth, and father of the illustrious statesman and philosopher of that name. quadrangle, lodge, and chapel were designed by William Wilkins, Esq. M.A. of Caius College, funds having accumulated, for the purpose of their erection, from the munificent bequests of Archbishop Herring, and Bishops Mawson and Greene, formerly Masters of the College. The first stone of the new buildings was laid by the Right Hon. the Earl of Hardwicke, K.G., High Steward of the University, on the 2nd of July, 1823.
The grand west front faces Trumpington-street, and has a very imposing appearance, being 222 feet in length, and presenting a noble elevation of three
stories. In the centre is a superb entrance gateway, flanked by lofty towers ; on each side are noble apartments, and the northern and southern tremities are finished with projecting windows most elaborately wrought, and terminated by towers to correspond with those at the portal. The whole exterior is built with Ketton stone, and is richly ornamented with niches and other chaste devices. Passing under the gateway, the spacious quadrangle, 158 feet long by 129 feet broad, attracts our attention. It contains the Chapel and Library, the Hall and Master's Lodge, and 47 sets of apartments for the Fellows and Students.
The Chapel, which occupies the centre of the east side of this grand Court, is an elegant structure, in the ecclesiastical style of architecture. The turrets are highly ornamented with tracery, and terminated by spires and finials of exquisite workmanship, in imitation of the two main turrets at the west end of Winchester Cathedral. The western doorway is remarkably handsome: the deep recess of the reveal, and the perforated parapet above it, produce a richness of effect which renders it the principal object of attraction in the quadrangle. The roof is vaulted with groins in several compartments, and the great window over the altar is glazed with some ancient stained glass of brilliant colours, which was purchased by the College, at a great expense, of the late Mr. Hampp, a Dutch merchant residing at Norwich, who collected it in the course of his
travels on the continent. In this window are represented the Holy Family and the Nativity. Over the Communion-table is a painting of the Holy Family, by Elizabeth Sarrani, the gift of Lord Godolphin. In the next window, on the south side, are represented the death and assumption of the Blessed Virgin; together with heads of St. Joseph and two other Saints. This window was given by Mr. Wilkins, the architect. The window opposite represents the scourging of Christ; below are Saints Paul, Peter, and Catharine. Over the west door of the Chapel are painted on glass, the Blessed Virgin and Child, and the four Evangelists. This window was contributed by various members of the College, in 1831. The dimensions of the chapel are 75 feet long (including the ante-chapel), 25 feet wide, and 33 feet high.
The right wing forms a part of the Master's Lodge, and is a spacious and handsome residence. It has the principal front towards the south, in a walled garden of some extent. The left wing is divided into Fellows' and Students' rooms.
The Library occupies the south side of the Court, and is an elegant room, 87 feet long, 22 wide, and 25 high, fitted up with bookcases of carved oak, and a handsome gothic screen to separate the collection of manuscripts from the remainder of the Library. The windows are very grand and lofty. The transoms are highly ornamented with cusps and battlements. The labels over the windows are